We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at Best”

Country Ham N' Eggs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One block from the beach
Dearborn, MI
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I love eating breakfast, and I love local spots rather than chains. As others have stated, this looks like a local favorite, as everyone seemed to know each other, and greeted most people by name when they walked in. However, I wasn't impressed by the food. I always have omelets at breakfast, and rated on a scale of 1-10, I'd give this one a 5 or 6. Small, didn't taste all that great. The grits were OK, but nothing special, and the coffee had an odd taste to it.

A good place to go if you want to avoid the chains are near the sea, but go into town a bit and I'm sure a better place can be found.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drapes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    197
    58
    12
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We both had the country fried steak, eggs and potatoes. It was excellent! It was the best breakfast we had in the 2 weeks we were gone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

execellent breakfast but was a little expensive for just regular breakfast! The service was excellent and the waitresses very friendly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CtLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great cafe for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is obviously a local favorite - it's very crowded but they move you through quickly. They have indoor and outdoor seating. This appears to be a family owned business for many years - I think 4th generation. Owned by country loving patriots who love to serve great food! If you are in Lauderdale by the sea- add this to your list of must stop here for breakfast !

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gorbysva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, Panama
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“busy place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

not delicious like Mom's Kitchen but then again, I cannot walk to Mom's Kitchen. Basically it is good choice for breakfast. WAY better than diner by the sea = do not even think about going there!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tikismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Ham N' Eggs also viewed

Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 

Been to Country Ham N' Eggs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing