We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Revisiting the Grille”
Review of Village Grille

Village Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Revisiting the Grille”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is our second time in Lauderdale by the Sea and we couldn’t skip the Village Grill (and, although the surroundings were under heavy remodeling and, as a consequence, the magic of that corner was absent, we even chose it for a Thank You dinner for some friends). The service is always good and so is the food (We all liked the Boston baked cod we ordered). This time they made a discount for a bottle of wine. All in all, It is a must, especially when you don’t want to worry for a parking space.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Achapatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    206
    55
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best steamed mussels anywhere”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Although I live nearby, I went to the Village Grille for the first time this week for a light dinner and to meet a friend. Our waitress was as nice as can be and took care of us perfectly.

I ordered one of my favorite dishes, steamed mussels. The wine and garlic sauce was absolutely perfect. The generous order of mussels (Appetizer, $10) was enough for a meal and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Ever since I left the restaurant I have been constantly thinking about the next chance I will have to return. My friend had a chicken sandwich, which he also said was delicious.

The overall menu looked quite varied, and reasonably priced, with a lot of seafood and land items. It would be a super place for a casual lunch or dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TourProDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
“Great service great food”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

On our recent trip to Lauderdale we enjoyed 2 dinners, one lunch and one breakfast at the Grill... All meals were consistently good and service great.... The dinners were exceptionally good...had raw oysters and the fruita del mar ...which was out of this world...so much seafood! Just the right amount of pasta..perfect! And our incredibly friendly and knowledgable server, Falon, recommended the stuffed crepes dessert which was the perfect light finish to an incredible meal! Prices are so reasonable, service so good, this will be our first stop when we return to Lauderdale by the Sea!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dominique F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“First and Last Time”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had dinner there last night for the first time. The service was pleasant and the manager friendly and accommodating. However, my husband and I both had our fish prepared blackened style rather than grilled. We've had blackened fish many, many times over the years. While it is generally tasty and somewhat salty, this fish was so extremely salty that it was like a eating pure salt. I had a sandwich so the over salting was somewhat neutralized by lettuce tomato and tartar sauce. My husband had a platter and the piece of fish he was served was extremely thin, making the seasoning overpowering. We both ordered cole slaw and it was really yummy. Too bad about our dishes. Nice atmosphere but the meal was disappointing. Didn't want to take the time to send it back, the people were nice and they probably would have exchanged it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saverguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coffee bath”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We come to the Grill once a month or so for Sunday brunch, we have enjoyed our past visit but today was our last. Sitting at the bar we decided to have coffee and brunch. The wait for our food was noticeably longer than in the past so I had time to remove the dead ants floating in my coffee. Food comes, we eat, ask the bartender for the check. She accidentally knocks a 3/4 full cup of coffee on my girlfriends lap. Bad day for her to wear white cotton pants. She is SOAKED. Accidents happen. The bartender apologizes, cleaned up the spill on the bar, placed our full check in front of us and end of story. Nothing else, no concern that it was hot coffee, no visit from any management or ownership, no offer of any type. Nothing but sympathetic looks from other guests dining at the bar. We will miss you Village Grill but you should reconsider how you and your staff handles itself when when you have an accident of this type. We simply can't justify patronizing you again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Grille also viewed

Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 

Been to Village Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing