We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great week at the Windjammer”
Review of Windjammer Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windjammer Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My In-laws have a week long time share at the Windjammer. The hotel is so lovely we always have the best time. The resort is literally a step from the beach, amazing views from the rooms. Two pools which are so relaxing and tropical- one with ocean views the other with lush and comfortable landscaping. The ocean water is so clear and beautiful shades of blue and green. You can even see cruise ships leaving the port from your balcony! A few blocks away from a recently updated town square with shops, restaraunts and bars. Park your car when you get there and don't get back in until you leave. We love this place! They are always updating and doing maintenance, it is very well taken care of. Cant say enough great things. Some rooms are small but most time is spent outside!

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have good of views as others, check out the website to be sure to get what you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 547 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

We just spent two weeks at the Windjammer and I must say it was difficult to leave. The location is awesome. Walking to dinner in the little town of Lauderdale-by-the-Sea is so convenient and having the beach out the back door is really nice. We are scuba divers, so it is especially convenient for us. Just so you know, the best beach diving reef in South Florida is right behind this hotel. You only have so swim about a hundred yards to reach the first reef - that is pretty cool. You don't even need full scuba gear, its shallow enough to snorkel. The beach area is great too - plenty of sand and not too busy on this side of town.

Also, I can't say enough about the staff at the Windjammer. Everyone is so friendly and they really go out of their way to be helpful. The maids do an excellent job and our room was always so clean. It was great having a full kitchen too since being here for so long we didn't want to eat out every night. We will stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: We have stayed in different rooms here and they are all really nice. It just depends how big your pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We are only disappointed because we will be leaving tomorrow. But the reality is that we are looking forward to returning same time next year to this meet up with the wonderful people we see here each year. We were impressed the first year we came and thing have improve and gotten better each year since. There must me (there is) something special about the Windjammer Resort for all of us and possibly many others to continually return.
We also enjoyed and must complement the community of Lauderdale By The Sea for the upgrade to the main intersection where all of the activities, shops and restaurants are.
Great place, hospitable, friendly and CLEAN
See you all next year
Dennis and Mary Pat

Room Tip: We enjoy the ground level pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duigi2419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My whole family have been going to the Windjammer for over 25yrs. Now my grandchildren have
ownership. We go every yr. first two weeks of Nov. The location is great, the staff are very friendly and the place always kept. up. Recommend it highly.

Room Tip: 208 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 356Barbara_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We loved the Windjammer. The one advice I would give is that the rooms/ suites are very small. I cannot imagine more than 2 people in the one bedroom. So, the place is old enough to be kind of retro. It is right on the beach ! Beach chairs were provided! The pool was right outside our door. Everyone was so friendly. There were a couple of times where kids were really loud but nothing unbearable. Also, not the resorts fault. The Windjammer is walking distance from the little Lauderdale by the Sea village.

The kitchens are tiny but well equipped. They have a nice grill available for cooking out!

We traded a timeshare- no high pressure timeshare sharks coming after you .

This place is really wonderful. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank pamkat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at the Windjammer in March 2014. We found everything from the location to the service to the cleanliness excellent. Our room was spacious, very well equipped with everything we needed in the kitchen (we chose to eat in a few times) and had a lovely outdoor space to enjoy the beautiful ocean view. The hotel is on beautiful LBTS beach and everything is close by so no need for a car. We took a taxi from the airport and enjoyed a whole week of stress free living! It is a few minutes walk from the village which is very quaint and has lots to offer; cute restaurants, bars and live music. We took advantage of the village free shuttle which took us to the water taxi for a day of sightseeing. It was a perfect vacation. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lysa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My husband and I chose this place out of 26 places of a timesharing option due to Trip Advisor reviews. It was even better than we imagined - the staff are very nice, cleaning ladies are very sociable, it's a couple steps to a wide open and very clean beach. We already miss it! It's a block to walgreens and a liquor store and about 2 or 3 blocks to a block of restaurant/bar style places! Perfect location!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs require caution because they are slippery when wet - but nothing discomforting for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.7 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#9 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Cliff Resort
Sea Cliff Resort
#7 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#24 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Resort

Address: 4244 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: $188 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windjammer Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Resort Hotel is located away from the crowds and sits on a wide and gorgeous palm-lined beach. Modern suites, all with kitchens, provide guests with superb views of the Atlantic Ocean and direct access to a pristine uncrowded beach. One block away is Pelican Square, the center of activity in the charming and secure seaside town of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, on the east side of Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Relaxation and comfort are assured with a pristine uncrowded beach, two heated pools, a well maintained facility, friendly staff and very clean apartments. Our beachfront property is a White Glove Award recipient from the Superior Small Lodging Association eight years in a row. Unique to the Windjammer Resort Hotel is that from our beach you can snorkel or dive to a renowned coral reef, walk to the best fishing/sightseeing pier in South Florida and to a variety of shopping, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Windjammer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Resort And Beach Club
Windjammer Resort & Beach Club Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Windjammer Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing