We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slice of Old Florida” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windjammer Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windjammer Resort
Certificate of Excellence
nineveh
1 review
“Slice of Old Florida”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I just returned from a two week vacation at the the windjammer and my stay couldn't have been better. This place will transport you back to the old Florida that many of us baby boomers remember from the family vacations of our childhoods. The owners and staff have done a wonderful job of maintaining this place. The rooms were very clean and the air conditioners were quiet. It sets just one block from shops, eaterys, and the local fishing pier so there's no need to get in the car if you don't want to. Great pool area, two Weber gas grills, and landscape lighting that really brings the pool area to life at night. If you're looking for a place to relax and let your cares melt away give this place a try. I know i'll be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Windjammer Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you Mike for sharing and we are proud to have had you experience our Oceanfront relaxation. We are happy you mentioned "old Florida" because many people come to Lauderdale-By-The-Sea for that very reason. Because we have not allowed large developments on our beaches, the area is low density so even at the peak of our vacation season it doesn't feel crowded so people can relax. Relaxed people are more friendly and more friendly makes for great vacations. We also want to tell you that just after you left we had our local cable company finally come to the Windjammer after 3 years of pleading and they installed new boxes which now allows Windjammer guests to view TV in HD and we now have HBO! So another improvement to or services. Thank you again Mike for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    61
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
188
165
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a stay at the Windjammer Resort and I must tell you it was just wonderful. Everyone that we came in contact with was great. The other guests, the front desk staff, the maids and all the other workers we met there. You get the feeling that everyone there just wants you to relax and enjoy yourself. The grounds are impeccably well kept and beautiful and just a few steps away the beach is right there. They have beach chairs and umbrellas available at no additional cost. It is a quiet resort but so friendly we met many of the other guests and enjoyed their company. The location is awesome with as much or as little as you want to do. We had a beautiful ocean view room (#12) with a balcony available and we would sit and enjoy the peace. Then a short walk away there are bars and restaurants and shopping to enjoy. Not far away is a beautiful shopping mall. We would certainly recommend this as a quality place to stay and enjoy yourselves. Also they have daily maid service and one of the most wonderful things are there towels, very luxurious , thick and soft actually better than the one we have in our home. We will certainly be returning to this haven thanks to everyone for making it special for us especially Gabby and Francine at the front desk and to Deborah for keeping our room impeccably clean and fresh. :-)

Room Tip: Our room #12 was very adequate for us, bedroom a little on the small side but for more money the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjtrapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I look forward to my relaxing week here every year! A friend or relative usually joins me & I give them the bedroom, choosing to sleep on the pull-out couch, open the sliding glass door & listen to the waves all night & watch the beautiful sunrise every morning. The kitchen is a fully equipped & the units are clean, with daily maid service. It's such a pleasure to have salt pools instead of chlorine. Beach chairs & umbrellas are available as an amenity. You can walk to town where there is good food & live music every night. Nearby is the Ft Lauderdale water taxi, with a included transfer that will take you to Hollywood, makes for an enjoyable day. The Delta Queen's dinner cruise to an island that includes a show is very enjoyable. As is the Las Olas's Farmer's Market on Sunday--best pizza I've ever eaten!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms with balconies are 308, 208, & 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaJo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at Windjammer for 6 days in September (2013). We stayed in Room #15; it was a great room; super clean, stocked with everything you need and an unexpected delight... a Murphy bed that was actually really comfortable.

The location is great; right on the beach, close to Lauderdale by the Sea and a great distance from Fort Lauderdale. Close enough to get to Ft. Lauderdale quickly and far enough away to enjoy the quiet of Lauderdale by the Sea.

Great value.

We would definitely recommend the Windjammer for its great location, friendly staff, value and location which is as close to a gorgeous beach as you can get.

Room Tip: We loved our room #15. Great view, nice size for two and silent air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuelphTentRentals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a great stay at the Windjammer! The common areas, as well as many of the units, have been beautifully renovated recently, and the views and the beach are just perfect. Very natural, uncrowded, and unspoiled! No need to rent umbrellas or beach chairs. They have them there for you, as well as beach toys and boogie boards for the kids.
You can dive or snorkel the reef right from the beach at the hotel. The local dive shop (Gold Coast Scuba) gives a discount to those staying here.
It was my son's 5th birthday and we were able to use the grills to have a fabulous little party outside with oceanfront views worth a million dollars!
Thank you Windjammer!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank food035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Windjammer Resort this month for a few days while in Lauderdale by the Sea. My room was very clean and comfortable and the staff is extremely helpful and gracious. The pool area has gas grills which I took advantage of and the beach is pristine. You can't go wrong staying at the Windjammer Resort which is also walking distance downtown Lauderdale by the Sea!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Windjammer Resort and Beach Club in Lauderdale-by-the Sea for 2 weeks in August and September 2013. We enjoyed our stay very much. It was peaceful, quiet and relaxing. We had an oceanfront apartment with a private balcony. The view from our apartment was an uncrowded, clean beach and a peaceful ocean. At night we appreciated sitting on our balcony and taking in the sea breeze. The place was very clean. The staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. There are no high-rises on this stretch of beach; hence, there is no littering on the beach. The area is not congested but all the conveniences and necessities are close by. We have no difficulty in recommending this property.

Terri and Angelo
Montreal, Qc
Canada

Room Tip: An apartment is ideal if travelling with children; otherwise, a studio is sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtc770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#14 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#15 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,617 reviews
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Resort

Property: Windjammer Resort
Address: 4244 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windjammer Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Resort Hotel is located away from the crowds and sits on a wide and gorgeous palm-lined beach. Modern suites, all with kitchens, provide guests with superb views of the Atlantic Ocean and direct access to a pristine uncrowded beach. One block away is Pelican Square, the center of activity in the charming and secure seaside town of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, on the east side of Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Relaxation and comfort are assured with a pristine uncrowded beach, two heated pools, a well maintained facility, friendly staff and very clean apartments. Our beachfront property is a White Glove Award recipient from the Superior Small Lodging Association eight years in a row. Unique to the Windjammer Resort Hotel is that from our beach you can snorkel or dive to a renowned coral reef, walk to the best fishing/sightseeing pier in South Florida and to a variety of shopping, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windjammer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Resort And Beach Club
Windjammer Resort & Beach Club Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Windjammer Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing