We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windjammer Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windjammer Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Just wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Windjammer Resort for two weeks. This resort is probably among the best in Florida. It was clean, well cared for and exceeded our expectations. I saw no rowdiness at all, and I cannot imagine that the "hands-on" management would allow it. Beautiful grounds, lovely accommodations, bright and clean and lovingly cared for. Simply could not ask for more. Truly delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cusagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnboutin, General Manager at Windjammer Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Cusagirl,

We are delighted that you found us and appreciated our efforts to provide you with “Oceanfront relaxation at its best”. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with more of the same on a return visit. We thank you for this nice review and remember that at Windjammer return guests are always entitled to a 10% discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    53
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
156
137
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for the first time this past week (April 19-26). The price was reasonable and it was a PERFECT choice! VERY clean, great location and ameneties. The rooms and grounds are very clean and well maintained, and the kitchens are well equipped. The rooms are also very up to date. Their website is accurate as to what you will experience - from the beach cam to the room photos. Beach chairs and umbrellas are provided (first come first served, although we never had an issue getting two chairs and an umbrella - so they obviously planned carefully) and they are of very high quality (Tommy Bahama brand). Just off shore is a live coral reef (about 300 feet out) that we saw many folks snorkeling and diving on throughout the week. The beach is gorgeous and clean. They thought of everything - from a cheese grater in the kitchen, to a pair of bikes you can borrow, and even a device allowing disabled folks access to the pool. This management team clearly cares about their guests' needs. The staff of the Windjammer is outstandingly helpful and friendly as well.

Just South of the Windjammer, (within easy walking distance) are several shops and nice restaurants (highly recommend Burgerfi with their craft beers and chili dogs). A few blocks to the North, you can get on the Water Taxi which will take you all the way to Hollywood and several stops in between. We spent a very enjoyable day doing that as the Water Taxi crew pointed out homes of the rich and famous along the way as well as yachts of the rich and famous.

I could go on and on, but the message here is that this vacation was worth every penny and I will not hesitate to stay at the Windjammer again. A real rarity - great value, outstanding customer service and a perfect location. Try them out - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Use their room map on their website - they actually show your view from each room and what each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KuhRAHLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnboutin, General Manager at Windjammer Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear KuhRAHLa,

My, what a nice review you wrote. Thank you so very much for the kind words. You’ve capture the essence of the lodging experience that we strive to provide our guests. Windjammer is a Superior Small Lodging Association property and that provides us with the knowledge and desire to be exceptional. Member properties of the SSLA are held to very high standards and inspected annually to ensure compliance. When traveling in Florida, seek out Superior Small Lodging Association properties and you will always be assured of a splendid lodging experience. Thank you again for this wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saguatuck, MI
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Have stayed here in high season but now prices are lower and the biggest problem is the clientele taking advantage of the lower rates seems to be a different crowd -- loud, drunk, and lack of basic manners. These were not college spring breakers, they were 40+ adults, foul mouthed, guys who think making foul remarks to you wife is flirtatious.

The other issue is towels. Management, please reading the posting in each of your efficiencies. Very clearly, in print, you state that those rooms should receive 4 beach towels and 4 bath towels, just like the one bedroom units. But, you apparently haven't told your staff to read these bulletin boards. Follow your own rules.

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side. North side is too noisy with the rift-raft yelling down the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hwycoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Came to visit relatives and friends who have a timeshare here at the Windjammer. Very clean units with coffee maker, stovetop, microwave, dishwasher and toaster. Prompt maintenance service and a great cleaning service. Friendly staff at the front desk. Pool shielded from wind by plexiglass. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyK80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It's our third year in a row in Florida, each of our stays at the Windjammer is a great experience, it's a home away from home. The location is a few steps away from the beach, you can walk to stores and restaurants, the environment is safe, friendly and such a peace of mind. The staff and management do their very best to provide us with a wonderful relaxation and enjoyable experience. 2 pools available, quiet environment and you get to meet with friends year after year and as a bonus you make new friends as well... Comfort, peace of mind, the view of the ocean, the warm sand and staff dedicated to make sure we enjoy our stay... I have to add that we had a minor trouble with the car and one of the staff has been so helpful to us what a man!!! My husband and I are looking forward to return to the Windjammer Resort in 2014....

Room Tip: It depends on what you are looking for really, of course rooms on the east side of the building will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helenemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great property right on the ocean! You can walk to restaurants---
Very clean and wonderful staff. They have two pools----we did not rent a car as we just wanted to relax and enjoy the ocean. It is great, they have a kitchen, fully supplied---great for an early morning coffee!

Room Tip: If you only need a studio, ask for the one facing the ocean---you wake to views of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Upstater29786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our first experience in Florida for my wife and me. This place was almost perfect. It's in a great location cause you can walk to stores and restaurants. Clean, comfortable and spacious. Superb service, nice beach, private pool and close to everything. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert77z28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
Hotel Seacrest
#1 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#13 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#24 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 3,257 reviews
Shore Haven Resort
#12 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Resort

Property: Windjammer Resort
Address: 4244 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windjammer Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Resort Hotel is located away from the crowds and sits on a wide and gorgeous palm-lined beach. Modern suites, all with kitchens, provide guests with superb views of the Atlantic Ocean and direct access to a pristine uncrowded beach. One block away is Pelican Square, the center of activity in the charming and secure seaside town of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, on the east side of Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Relaxation and comfort are assured with a pristine uncrowded beach, two heated pools, a well maintained facility, friendly staff and very clean apartments. Our beachfront property is a White Glove Award recipient from the Superior Small Lodging Association eight years in a row. Unique to the Windjammer Resort Hotel is that from our beach you can snorkel or dive to a renowned coral reef, walk to the best fishing/sightseeing pier in South Florida and to a variety of shopping, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Windjammer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Resort & Beach Club Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Windjammer Resort And Beach Club
Windjammer Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing