We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The leftover experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Windjammer Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windjammer Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The leftover experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our trip started out as a business trip in orlando. We wanted to head south for the remainder of the week 5 nights, While surfing the net last minute to find a spots on the beach we found none except very high priced hotels 400.00 per night plus. I then came across this property and found the leftover section of their website 4 nights 650.00 i did the research and found nice review so we said lets try it. boy am i glad i did! While we were there they set us up for the fifth night for a couple hundred additional dollars with no bull Thanks Jim! Really super nice staff, rooms extremely clean and neat, quiet and 50 steps from the beach. The onsite pools were heated and very clean beach chairs and umbrella's for you to use on the beach. Oh and i forgot to mention the reef located just off the hotel beach. The walk to town was two blocks we ate and enjoyed happy hour and music on the streets. we had a really nice time. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: View the rooms on line before you choose. we were not picky and took what was available and that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnboutin, General Manager at Windjammer Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you Joe for your kind words. We are pleased that you found us and that our advertised LeftOver Specials brought you to us. These LeftOver Specials which are short gaps of available dates wedged between 2 longer reservations, are very popular and are a great cost savings to our guests who are looking for short stays and are flexible with their dates. We were very happy that we were able to accommodate you for a fifth night although we had to move you to a different unit and thank you for mentioning it. We look forward to your logging on to our beach cam page to view the beach and grabbing another Leftover in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    61
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
193
169
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galion, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first stay and the Windjammer and kind of a last minute trip to LBTS. Jim was very helpful with the time frame we had to work with. Initially we were going to have to change rooms halfway through our stay, which was fine since we were glad he fit us in. A week before our arrival Jim called and told me we could have the same room all week.....awesome. The resort reccommended calling Martin if you need a cab, which we did. Martin is a great guy and he met us in the baggage claim area for our ride to the Windjammer. Upon arrival we were greeted by Gabbi......very nice young lady. Check in was fast and smooth and Gabbi explained what was available at the resort and showed us to our room. Spent most of the next 7 days just relaxing on their awesome beach which is fairly quiet compared to other beaches we have been to. Its nice that they supply beach chairs (very nice Tommy Bahama chairs). Great restaurants and shops all within walking distance including the grocery and liquor store. We did not rent a car during our stay and really found no need for one as our trip was pure beach relaxation.

On our day of check out we had an early evening flight. Although check out time is 10 am Francine and Gabbi were very accommodating by leting us store our luggage in their office and gave us keys so that we were able to access the pool area, beach chairs and guest bathroom. Also gave us beach towels to use that afternoon. Gabbi also made arraingements for our transportation to the airport that evening.

Must say that we have been to many Carribean Islands over the years but the Windjammer and LBTS was one of the most relaxing trips we have taken.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 202 which was very nice with a separate bedroom and small kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Been coming here for over 20 years and always a pleasant vacation. Accomodations are clean and staff very helpful and pleasant , grounds are nicely kept and the beach is wonderful. A short walk to shops , restaurants and a very vibrant night life

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slyphantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

we just love staying at the windjammer. lauderdale-by-the-sea is so quaint and the resort is convenient to everything. it is close to our kids and still we are right at the ocean. the windjammer never disappoints. can't wait for our next stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I had a great vacation at the Windjammer Resort, our unit was very clean and had everything we needed with alot of space. The view of the ocean & pool are beautiful. With 2 pools and the beach right there, it was very relaxing, they provide beach chairs and beach umbrellas! All the employees were very friendly and helpful. The location of the Windjammer Resort is perfect to walk to the resturants, gift shops and the Pier. Our only disappointment was our vacation was only a week long, next time we would love to stay longer.
Thank you to the Windjammer Resort we had a great Florida vacation!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 19 and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our second visit to to the windjammer resort and the warm welcome on check in was excellent.We had a one bed unit which was clean and comfortable with a nice view of the beach and pier.There are 2 pools which were never crowded as most people use the beach using the beach chairs provided.There are many restaurants within a few minutes walk our favourites were 101 for Happy Hour and bar snacks,The Village Grill, Aruba for live music,The Blue Moon Fish Co,Sea Watch On The Ocean,Anglings Pier Cafe for breakfast with a view to die for and Counrty Ham and Eggs for breakfast/lunch and Daisys for coffee and cakes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imaginationland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I'll start with the room. It was huge, and apartment style. It had a kitchen with all amenities, dining table, chairs, and full living room with pull out sofa. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was nice with good water pressure. While I did some business on my computer in the room, I sat at the dining room table so I could face the ocean views.

The Windjammer has a nice, friendly vibe to it. While I was there, I saw people making good use of the common area grill, pool, and relaxation garden. Everyone I talked to had been coming for years. The staff was so friendly and helpful, and guided me to the best restaurants in the area. I took my family to one of them and they drove all the way back to town the next week to take someone else to this restaurant because it was so good.

I can tell the Windjammer really cares about the ocean and conservation. They implemented a program, called "The Butt Stops Here," which provides guests with decorative buckets to place their cigarette waste in. Cigarette butts are a major source of ocean pollution and the Windjammer is doing their part to make sure that the ocean stays healthy.

From my perspective, though, the most amazing project that the Windjammer supports is the Biorock coral reef that is directly off shore. If you have never heard of this technology, find it on the web. It's amazing and it could make sure that the declining reefs around the world come back to life.

I'm going back as soon as possible, and I'll be swimming out to the Biorock project again. You can dive right off shore and see it!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank squidpillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Resort

Property: Windjammer Resort
Address: 4244 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windjammer Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Resort Hotel is located away from the crowds and sits on a wide and gorgeous palm-lined beach. Modern suites, all with kitchens, provide guests with superb views of the Atlantic Ocean and direct access to a pristine uncrowded beach. One block away is Pelican Square, the center of activity in the charming and secure seaside town of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, on the east side of Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Relaxation and comfort are assured with a pristine uncrowded beach, two heated pools, a well maintained facility, friendly staff and very clean apartments. Our beachfront property is a White Glove Award recipient from the Superior Small Lodging Association eight years in a row. Unique to the Windjammer Resort Hotel is that from our beach you can snorkel or dive to a renowned coral reef, walk to the best fishing/sightseeing pier in South Florida and to a variety of shopping, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windjammer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Resort And Beach Club
Windjammer Resort & Beach Club Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Windjammer Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing