We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back for more”
Review of Breakaway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakaway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will come back for more”
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We have been staying at the Breakaway Inn twice a year for nine years. It s like coming home. The atmosphere is friendly; we love Margaret ,Ardrew, Frozty the cat and the rest of the family,. The rooms are fair sized and clean, its all very nice and quiet, the neighbourhood is safe, the beach is close by and Lauderdale-By-The-Sea is ever so charming. We love Aruba and Tedescos!
We have made alot of friends from other parts of the US and Canada as everyone seems to come back to this great place.
See you all in October!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegianfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    35
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
58
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2009

What a nice surprise the Breakaway Inn was. We arrived on a Saturday, April 4th and were given a ground floor room with a King Bed beside the pool. First, the room was very clean and lots of room for all our luggage. The owners were very friendly and helpful for our 5 days we stayed at the Inn. Anytime we needed directions or help they were always willing to give it to us.
The location of the Breakaway Inn is three blocks to the beach, with everything which is grocery stores, and bars and beaches within a five minute walk. The grounds at the Breakaway where second to none, what a beautiful job they have done. Very private from the road way and at night they have the palm trees and the rest of grounds with lights. So to us this is a great place, great location for an excellent price. Also looked the photos someone posted earlier and I could find the any worn areas of the Inn at all. I am sure if you book here, you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeandLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We booked a room on the basis of prior Trip Advisor reviews and the motel's nice website. Upon arrival, we were dismayed to find that the room was dark and very outdated. Only one light in the room worked and the room smelled like wet towels. The paint was peeling and you could tell nothing had been done to improve the room's comfort and ambiance. During our stay, the room was not cleaned by the hotel staff. We were willing to overlook all of this and stick around, but the worst part about our room was the mattress. We both tossed and turned all night on the soft yet lumpy mattress and had some back pain in the morning.

There are, however, some positive aspects to this motel. It is quiet and in a relatively safe neighborhood. Also, it's in walking distance to the touristy attractions on Commercial Street.

I decided to write this review just to make sure you level set your expectations. For under $70/night, I guess we couldn't expect more than the bare minimum.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

We stayed at the Breakway Inn in Lauderdale by the Sea in April 08 and was very impressed. For $80/night we had an apartment style room with a full kitchen, living room, bathroom, bedroom and walk-in-closet. The room was extremly clean. The owners were very helpful. This motel is within walking distance to the beach, restuarants and grocery store. However, if you want to get out to the bar scene, stay closer to the strip in Ft. Lauderdale. But, if you are looking for a calm, relaxing getaway, this is the best deal for your $.

  • Liked — Very clean and good value for money
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flower7523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2007

We were at the Breakaway Inn for a second year in November 2007.
This is a very quiet place ,still reasonably priced and well
located .It's just minutes walk to beach,restaurants and grocery.
We appreciate the people who manage this small property.
Margaret is very helpful and devoted to our well-being.
We foresee to stay there for our next trip to that area.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank frank61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muelheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2007

We stayed at Breakaway Inn for the forth time now. The motel is family owned, the rates are low and the rooms are clean. Margret is always very helpful in case you have any questions. The area where the motel is located is very quiet, just a couple of minutes walk to the next supermarket. The beach is close and you are near Miami and great shopping locations like Sawgrass Mills. We are looking forward to our next vacation at Breakaway Inn.

  • Liked — The location and the owners
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninjaturtle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2007

Family owned little motel with 18 rooms, pool and garden. 5 min to the
beach, restaurants, and shops. Very friendly and helpful. This was our 4th stay at the Breakaway Inn and it´s always like 'coming home'. The rooms are newly remodeled, with air-condition, and complete kitchen with all the things you need. Next year, we will be back to enjoy.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — the cold wind that annoyed us for days despite temps of 30 C in the shade
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamsterpiratenbraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.4 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#10 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#15 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Horizon By The Sea Inn
Horizon By The Sea Inn
#19 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakaway Inn

Property: Breakaway Inn
Address: 4457 Poinciana St, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-4414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Breakaway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakaway Inn is family owned and well kept with love and care.Offering impeccable studios and apartments,all with full kitchen. The peaceful surroundings are complete with tropical garden, sundeck and pool. Located in residential area of beautiful Lauderdale by the Sea and only steps from the beach, stores and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Breakaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakaway Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Breakaway Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing