We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice place to stay and very nice owner/operator” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakaway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breakaway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay and very nice owner/operator”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights before getting on a cruise. The owner was very accompanying and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. We liked the close proximity to the beach so we could walk over for strolling around or for dinner. We will definitely return for a few days during the cold winter months in boston. Thanks again for copying our important documents in case we needed them while on the cruise.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snapette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    31
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
42
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed a week here.. and wanted to stay longer. We used the BBQ's, the laundry and the kitchen ( nice stove and full size fridge). Walked to the Pulix ( 10 min) and stocked up on goodies. We walked to the beach ( 5 min ). Also, very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airbryan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I booked a few nights for a business trip not realizing that this is in the middle of a tourist area. Since I was arriving very late one night and leaving at 3:30 am the third night I really had only one normal night here. The owners were very accommodating - leaving a room unlocked for me the first night and asking that I sign in when I had the opportunity. It is a mom and pop operation and the attention shows. The room was very nice, and the business itself is clean and well cared for.

The location is a few minutes walk from the tourist restaurants and the fishing pier but it is tucked away in an area that seems to block out all the noise. So sleeping is easy. The only issue had was with the internet. Since I had a connection through my cell provider it was not a serious issue with me but I could only connect sporadically to the hotel network and when I could there was no internet connection available.

Other than that I would rate it a 4 star overall and a 5 star for value.

Room Tip: The second floor seems more private and possibly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank houstonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here for one night as there was no availability after that. Couldn't fault it as the owners were lovely and very helpful. The accommodation was clean and comfortable, what more can you ask. Even though we only stayed one night met lots of other people staying there and they were mainly staying for a longer period to escape the weather in the Northern United States. Very handy for everything, supermarket, shops, beach etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is definitely a little gem in Lauderdale by the Sea.
Owners are a polish family, very caring and making sure everyone feels at home.
Room (28) was clean, nice bed and bedding, small bathroom but good shower and lots (lots) of towels (even small face towels in a dark color for ladies to remove their make up). The kitchen area is quite good, with big fridge and everything you may need to cook like at your own home.
The town is lovely and from the hotel is a 5 minutes (if much) walk to the awesome beach. You dont need to bring beach towels here as the owner has a big collection for the guests.
I ended up going one night to the Town Hall where they were showing DIrty Dancing, felt really like in one of those little places where a lot is arranged and done for the town people and that made me love it even more!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a wonderful, clean place close to beach, restaurants and small retail stores. Owners are friendly and helpfull Pool is newly renovated and the grounds are well taken care of. If one is looking for value with simple amenities this motel is perfect for the cost minded traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IncBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Clean Rooms, Family run, resonable price and great deal for the area. Easy walk to the beach and restaurants and shops. We have been coming here for 9 years and have never been disappointed. The pool and grounds are immaculate. These owners take great care of the property as well as their guests.

Room Tip: Your choice depends on if you want an efficiency or one bedroom appt. If you are older you would pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank V J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Shore Haven Resort
Shore Haven Resort
#12 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#10 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#1 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#18 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#11 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakaway Inn

Property: Breakaway Inn
Address: 4457 Poinciana St, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-4414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Breakaway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakaway Inn is family owned and well kept with love and care.Offering impeccable studios and apartments,all with full kitchen. The peaceful surroundings are complete with tropical garden, sundeck and pool. Located in residential area of beautiful Lauderdale by the Sea and only steps from the beach, stores and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Breakaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakaway Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Breakaway Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing