We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and great location”
Review of Aruba Beach Cafe

Aruba Beach Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located Directly on the beach in Lauderdale by the Sea flAward- winning Chef brings you the true taste of the Caribbean, along with American Favorites Fresh Seafood Prime Steaks, Gourmet Salads and burgers and much more. Three Tropical Bars await to quench your thirst. Aruba Starts Jumping island style with live music daily. Causal Dress with seating inside or on the outside deck provides a picturesque view of the ocean. serving lunch and dinner late night dining. One Happy Restuarant!
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good food and great location”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The food is always good and this recent visit was highlighted by local fresh seafood specials, not just the standard fare by most run of the mill places in South Florida. Very good Conch Chowder which is getting harder to find all the time. The only complaints are that they very much need to deal with acoustics inside as the noise level is terrible and makes it difficult to have a dinner conversation. As well the experience can be greatly diminished by a very disorganized and inattentive valet parking staff and since there is no close-by self parking this is almost a mandory service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beentherejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,077
    954
    284
    79
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food once we got served”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We went to this cafe at around 1 in the afternoon. It was spring break time, and the restaurant was busy but not packed. We were seated immediately but waited for at least 20 minutes before a server even acknowledged that we were there. He redeemed this whole review by offering a free drink right off the bat! We each had their signature margarita (which I would highly recommend). The fish tacos were amazing. They come in these nice stands and the taste was so good!!! Then another margarita and the vacation starts!!! We went from being ready to walk out of this place to giving it a very good review all because of a good server. Thank you Jake for making our visit to Aruba Beach Cafe so good!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jchristonfldmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Aruba Beach Cafe is located right next to the pier in Lauderdale by the Sea. The restaurant has a large side deck for outside seating as well as indoor seating. The indoor seating area was significantly larger than it looked from the outside. We had a group of 9 that they sat easily as they have a significant number of larger tables. Our table was in the back corner and had a beautiful view of the beach and the pier. There is a small bar when you walk in and they had 2 musicians playing. The place is so large we could barely hear them at our table. It was dusk and the place has low lighting so it became somewhat dark during the meal.
They have a nightly drink special and plenty of beer, wine, and liquor drinks. We ordered 2 loaves of their daily made bread (which are large and we had some left over) and had starter salads. The salads were quite large and filling. Our orders ranged from the BlackenedTrio, Seafood Del Mar, Cheeseburger, Fried Shrimp, and Chicken Salad (a ton of chicken on top of a large bed of mixed greens). Everyone loved the food. The teenage kids we had really enjoyed it and wanted to go back again on our trip. Only reason I didn't give it a 5 is that our food took longer than normal to get (I think they had to redo part of our order).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GNMNIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Aruba always an interesting place”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We always enjoy stopping in while in the area. And since Lauderdale by the Sea has been redone, the whole area is a great place to relax and watch people. The food has always been good here, at the bar or at the table. A mix of people and always someone playing music makes this a fun place to stop and see the ocean.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marco-Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location; Good Service; Terrible Food & Prices”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were seated on the outside patio, we could hear the live music from inside, and were promptly greeted by our server, so our visit started out promising. However, for 3:30 in the afternoon, I assumed a beach-front restaurant would be more kid-friendly, but they didn't even have a kids menu.

Ordered both kids chicken fingers and fries; the chicken was hand-battered in tempura (I assume); not very kid-friendly and very greasy. Neither kid ate the $8 chicken plate. The grilled fish tacos were ok, but cold (I always get nervous when the food-runner has to carry a plate using a dish towel, because that means the plate sat under the heat lamps in the kitchen too long. And of course, I was right. The plate was red-hot and the fish tacos were ice cold. Unfortunate, if they were hot, they would have tasted better). And the seafood quesadilla was bland (no spices and the guacamole was funky-tasting), but very expensive.

Good beer selection and tropical-like drinks. Total bill was $76 (food; one beer & one drink), and both kids were still hungry when we left and we were disappointed.

Maybe a good place for beer and to hear some decent live music, but if you're hungry, there's a Publix a few blocks away! Buy your own fish and cook it. Aruba is about Volume not Quality.

Though, Aruba came highly recommended by a couple of people (locals), so I guess either they like terrible food or they are used to eating $ubpar food... Either way, would not spend hard-earned $$ on the food again...

Too bad; I really wanted to like Aruba Beach Café!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aruba Beach Cafe also viewed

Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 

Been to Aruba Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing