We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable chocolate experience!”

Jan's Homemade Candies
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Our chocolate is hand made daily on the premises.
Restaurant details
Description: Our chocolate is hand made daily on the premises.
2 reviews
“Hospitable chocolate experience!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Jan and her husband are amazing store owners. They were generous with samples of their scrumptious homemade confections. Definitely a memorable stop during our stay in Lauderdale By The Sea.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoxiesFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, Panama
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Who knew!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Who knew that right in my "backyard" there is an awesome "chocolatier". Jan's homemade is not only delicious and high quality chocolate, but they are friendly and helpful too. I purchased a variety "easter" box and they let me pick whatever ones I wanted to fill it. I feel the quality is worth the price and it makes a special gift since it is made in my sweet seaside tesort town, Lauderdale by the Sea.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tikismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Home Town Lady”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We love to visit Jans. Southern Hospitality. Always has samples available. There is nothing like going into a hometown chocolate shop. Her dark chocolate healthy bar and sea salt carmals are among my favorite.

Helpful?
Thank arena3jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, WI
1 review
“THE BEST”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stopping at Jan's Candy is a must if you are in the Fort Lauderdale area!! You will happy that you did....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherLustig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Out of this world chocolate...down to earth service”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

On their web site, you will read rave after rave about Jan and Bob, their chocolates, and the shop. It is all true. I am not a huge lover of fudge, but their fudge (24 flavors) converted me! I sampled Raspberry, Chocolate/ Peanut Butter and Elvis! (Chocolate/ Banana); I've never had anything like it. The chocolate/ banana and mango truffles were so much fun for your mouth! The adorable chocolate covered oreo (they have cute shapes on top) was delicious! The blueberries reminded me of Willy Wonka. The chocolate/ peanut butter cup made it hard to continue the conversation. As well, their signature chocolates are all amazing (and so creative). Jan and Bob really take pride in their craft...and they have SO MUCH FUN sharing it with everyone. It is very inspiring on many levels. This place is worth the drive if you are in South Florida. As well, it is worth ordering (from anywhere). I already started telling everyone I know! So will you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradylizann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jan's Homemade Candies also viewed

Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 

Been to Jan's Homemade Candies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing