We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast!”
Review of Diner By-The-Sea

Diner By-The-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: They are on Face book at Diner by The Sea
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The breakfast here was the best we have had in a very long time. The Montecristo breakfast sandwich was sooooo good! The prices were very reasonable and the staff was really friendly. Also, the location is great as you can walk a very short distance to the beach and pier!

Helpful?
Thank DaraP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    30
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We went here for the "Brazilian" steak dinner advertised in the local paper. When we got there it was only $1 difference from menu.... Shoe leather for steak!!!! Horrible .... DO NOT EAT dinner here! Black beans poured out of a can! Tiny glass of cheap wine for $7.... Nice wait staff but horrible food for dinner. What a waste of hard earned money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peggys52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Beach, NY
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice little diner”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Chose to go here one morning after finding Country Ham and Eggs way too busy. Very glad we did. Sat at the counter which we usually never do, but enjoyed it a lot. Food was excellent and service was very friendly. Seemed more of a locals place, and struck up a few conversations with those around us. An enjoyable time.

We did not have occasion to try the German food at night, but we have heard good things and plan to try it our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank RockawayBeachRayDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast . . . regulars are on a first name basis”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stopped in there one morning for breakfast while on vacation. Regulars were friendly, service and food was good. I won't hesitate to come back there for a good breakfast. Payment is "cash only" so be prepared.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Porter_Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Total Bait-and-Switch”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Saw advertising for cheap Wednesday lobster dinner, and when we arrived they said you had to have a reservation for it. Didn't see that detail on the poster!
The place was totally empty. Decided not to sit down and try their other food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Dizzzy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diner By-The-Sea also viewed

Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 

Been to Diner By-The-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing