We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place for Out-of-Towners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Escape Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Escape Inn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place for Out-of-Towners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We live in Fort Lauderdale and when my family came down for a visit we put them, and ourselves, up at the Great Escape Inn. We could not have been happier. Staff was extremely friendly and very attentive. They supplied chairs and umbrellas for the beach, it is in a great location with great restaurants, a Publix grocery and the beach all just minutes away by foot. Rooms were spacious and very clean. We look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: The Penthouse is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    41
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
61
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I just came back after spending 5 nights at the Great Escape,June 7 to 12. Just like its name, it was a great escape for both of us.The place is quiet, we were able to sit out and enjoy our lunch and supper at one of the outside tables almost everyday. We felt so safe taking walks on the beach at night and walking around.Just like the other reviews mentioned, the place is clean inside & outside, close to beach and shopping and restaurants.Everything is here for your convenience, chairs, umbrella, BBQ, even sun screen.Mark and Robin & the other staff are very friendly and made our stay enjoyable. Hopefully next time we will stay longer.

Room Tip: Chose a room with central AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fernie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I recently stayed at the Great Escape for 7 nights, Sayaka and Mark are very friendly, make you feel at home, chair and towels for the beach, one block behind Inn. I was lucky enough to get to stay in the room with kitchen and it was great to have Publix and CVS one block north. The main area of Lauderdale-by-the-sea was maybe 3 blocks south where there are many great restaurants and shops, music in the street every weekend. Great Escape is a "sure bet" in that area, prices are very affordable, and there is a Pent House suite for only $195 night, 2 bdrm, bath, LR, kitchen, private patio up top!

Room Tip: The rooms with a kitchen are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

stayed here on April for 10 nights in one bed apartment. Good location - a block from the beach and short walk to bars and restaurants in resort centre and Publix supermarket. Apartment clean and functional with comfy bed and plenty of storage space. All staff were very friendly and helpful, even providing beach chairs and umbrellas free of charge. Only downside was that we had a ground floor apartment in the corner that did not get much light and the people that had the flat above us sometimes sounded like they were doing impressions of herds of wilderbeast across the floor. That said would stay here again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nice large clean room with a full kitchen and full size refrigerator. conveniently located, near beach, restaurants and grocery (publix) store. Only pool needs to be cleaner since leaves and palm frond always floating

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Francisco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nice people, great service, nice suite-room (free upgrade).
It was not on the beach, but near (4 minute walk). Nice little pool. They have umbrellas and beach chairs for their guests to bring to the beach.
Lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin27o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Was not to happy at first due to no coffee provided in room. Quick stop at publix fixed this. Room was lovely. Very clean and comfortable. Spent some time at the pool with was great. Our room was beside the pool which I liked. Staff were very nice and pleasent. Short walk to beach and main square. Would recommend. Xx

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vonka68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#11 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort
Shore Haven Resort
#12 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#15 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Key Inn
Coral Key Inn
#9 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Escape Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Escape Inn

Property: Great Escape Inn
Address: 4620 N Ocean Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3620 (Formerly Great Escape Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#8 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Great Escape Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a block away from the beach, the Great Escape Inn is conveniently located in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, a picturesque seaside village nestled between Ft. Lauderdale and Pompano Beach. Guests at the Inn enjoy a heated pool, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, and TVs with cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Escape Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Escape Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing