We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and Beautiful Room!”
Review of Great Escape Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Escape Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My Fiance and I took a last minute trip to Ft. Lauderdale by the Sea and the GM, Mark was able to accommodate us with a beautiful 1 bed suite for 2 nights. Mark was great to work with and did everything he could to make sure we had a pleasant stay. He even let us check out at noon so that we could enjoy every last drop of sunny Florida. The room was SO nice, clean, updated and spacious. Way more room that 2 people would ever need. We had a kitchen, kitchen table, living room with a couch and 2 comfy chairs, bathroom with tub and spacious bedroom with a king size bed. There was alsso free internet access and cable which was a nice way to wind down after a long day in the sun. Our favorite part about Great Escapes was the location. Like their website says, they are steps away from the water and the towns center was only half a mile away. We would make this walk on the beach during the day and along the road at night. Great little town and more than i expected out of Ft. Lauderdale (I was never a fan, but I guess the 'by the sea' part makes things much better). Stay here next time you visit, I promise you will have no regrets! Oh yeah, and they offer beach towels, chairs and sunscreen, and there's a pool thats open until 8pm.

Room Tip: Ask for the 1 bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 183 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We found staff friendly and helpful. The hotel has a heated pool and is located a block from a Publix grocery store and a beautiful beach. It is also a short walk to the main square and restaurants in the village of Lauderdale by the Sea. It is located on the A1A route north south which makes it handy to take the #11 bus downtown or north to Pompano Shopping Centre if you don't have a car. This location also has a down side as traffic may be noisy, especially on weekends. Ground floor front rooms are not ideal as everyone entering the hotel passes by coming and going. It is easy to hear suitcase wheels and cell phones at all hours. Our main concern was the lack of designated smoking area. There were ashtrays on all outdoor patio tables and it seemed that many guests smoked cigarettes regularly, including in the area by the pool, with no consideration for non-smokers. We even noticed a staff person smoking while on duty near the supply cupboard by the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Great Escape Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

We appreciate your review. All of our rooms are designated non-smoking. Being a smaller hotel we try our best to have special designated outdoor smoking areas. All of our outdoor tables have ash trays for our guest . Please understand that when a guest smokes outside the wind can blow and the smell can linger at times. We do apologize if the smell was an inconvenience to you. However, you did not help the problem by smoking large cigars by the pool quite occasionally. We did get several complaints about the smell of the cigars that your party was smoking. We do our best to make all guests happy but when someone comes outside to smoke we can't control the smell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just finished our two week stay at The Great Escape Inn. We've never written a review before ,but after having had such a great time ,it seems like the right thing to do.The place is very clean,the staff is accommodating and friendly,location is excellent and the overall feeling is comfortable and safe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryandMikeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

After hearing our flight was canceled, I called Great escape hoping there was a room available for two days as our flight was rescheduled. Mark was able to accommodate us, thankfully. We stayed here 3 times last year and it feels like our home away from home. The staff is so helpful and they make you feel like family. We love The Great Escape Inn!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were disappointed with our stay for a number of reasons, this establishment is very basic, no tea making facilities(only coffee), no shelf or extractor in the bathroom, but main complaint is that it is situated on the main A1A road therefore very noisy from traffic as windows not double glazed.
On the plus side, towels were changed daily.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hector1-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Great Escape Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to here your stay wasn't as good as we hoped it would be. Are standard rooms are well equip t with coffee makers and mini fridges for our guests convenience. Unfortunately we do not have tea makers in the rooms. We do apologize if you thought the traffic from A1A was a disturbance. You should of requested another room further from the street if you had that issue. If we had rooms available we would of happily switched rooms for you. Traffic can vary depending on the day and we are working on ways to eliminate traffic noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We originally booked for 2 nights but once we saw the newly renovated, spacious, and squeaky clean accommodations we rescheduled our trip to stay 6 nights. This is one of the best places we've ever stayed. The location is great--a block or so to the grocery store, CVS, etc., a block or so to the beach, a few blocks to the main restaurant commercial center of Ft. Lauderdale-by-the-Sea. The family owned hotel is run with pride of ownership. We stayed in the hardwood-floored 2 bdrm penthouse apartment which immediately felt like home. The kitchen is nicely equipped with the basics. Housekeeping was prompt and efficient. We enjoyed sunsets on a private deck. There is even a washer and dryer with complementary laundry detergent on site. Heaven. So. FL is a great place to vacation and this intimate family run hotel is a home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Great Escape Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay in Ft. Lauderdale for a few days before our scheduled cruise. Friends of ours were going on the same cruise had somehow found this place and encouraged us to check it out. I'm one of those people who has to be extremely careful where I stay because of severe allergies to dust mites (carpeting over two years -forget it). I managed to confirm all the rooms and suites were completely renovated this year, and the flooring was tile.The person we spoke with could not have been more helpful.
What we didn't expect was how charming the rooms are: The decor is lovely, tasteful, and more comfortable than many of the "high end" hotels we've stayed in the past. Parking couldn't be easier, and there's a lovely heated pool in the courtyard.
We had rented a car, but it's really not necessary - practically anything you'd wan't to do, buy, eat or drink, is in walking distance. Oh, and I didn't mention the price- one of the best values one can find.

Room Tip: Recommend studio or one bedroom suite if you want a LOT of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Great Escape Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We are so excited to hear about your wonderful stay! Please come back and see us again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#9 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#17 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Away Inn
Away Inn
#21 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#15 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Escape Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Escape Inn

Address: 4620 N Ocean Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3620 (Formerly Great Escape Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#8 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: $105 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Great Escape Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a block away from the beach, the Great Escape Inn is conveniently located in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, a picturesque seaside village nestled between Ft. Lauderdale and Pompano Beach. Guests at the Inn enjoy a heated pool, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, and TVs with cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Escape Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Escape Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing