We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Escape Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Great Escape Inn
Monterey, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We originally booked for 2 nights but once we saw the newly renovated, spacious, and squeaky clean accommodations we rescheduled our trip to stay 6 nights. This is one of the best places we've ever stayed. The location is great--a block or so to the grocery store, CVS, etc., a block or so to the beach, a few blocks to the main restaurant commercial center of Ft. Lauderdale-by-the-Sea. The family owned hotel is run with pride of ownership. We stayed in the hardwood-floored 2 bdrm penthouse apartment which immediately felt like home. The kitchen is nicely equipped with the basics. Housekeeping was prompt and efficient. We enjoyed sunsets on a private deck. There is even a washer and dryer with complementary laundry detergent on site. Heaven. So. FL is a great place to vacation and this intimate family run hotel is a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Great Escape Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    43
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
68
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay in Ft. Lauderdale for a few days before our scheduled cruise. Friends of ours were going on the same cruise had somehow found this place and encouraged us to check it out. I'm one of those people who has to be extremely careful where I stay because of severe allergies to dust mites (carpeting over two years -forget it). I managed to confirm all the rooms and suites were completely renovated this year, and the flooring was tile.The person we spoke with could not have been more helpful.
What we didn't expect was how charming the rooms are: The decor is lovely, tasteful, and more comfortable than many of the "high end" hotels we've stayed in the past. Parking couldn't be easier, and there's a lovely heated pool in the courtyard.
We had rented a car, but it's really not necessary - practically anything you'd wan't to do, buy, eat or drink, is in walking distance. Oh, and I didn't mention the price- one of the best values one can find.

Room Tip: Recommend studio or one bedroom suite if you want a LOT of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Great Escape Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are so excited to hear about your wonderful stay! Please come back and see us again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The stay at this hotel was the best one that I stayed in, it is very clean and bug free, the personnel that works here is very very friendly and helpful with everything, the atmosphere is very family welcoming, the hotel is near to a lot of great tasting restaurants and only a minute away from the beach by foot. It was an awesome experience and stay here, and I would recommend this place for anyone looking for a great night stay, the owner too is a great friendly guy who is always willing to give a helping hand or advice on where to eat and visit. Great place :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Great Escape Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and it was a pleasure having you as a guest! Please come back and see us again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

In 35 years of travelling to Florida this has been one of our favourite places to stay. We have discovered a Gem-the Great Escape Inn. The Great Escape Inn management and staff should be considered an example for other hotels of how to make a vacation experience truly enjoyable for patrons. You can't beat the location-restaurants, beach, pier, shopping plazas, etc. were all within walking distance. We spent many enjoyable hours just sitting in the Lauderdale by the Sea main square which has now been completely redeveloped. In the square we enjoyed a U.S. Thanksgiving dinner on a beautiful day in an open-air restaurant.

Room Tip: This was our first stay there and we stayed in an excellent room by the pool with a king size bed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatPenny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Great Escape Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We appreciate all the great things you had to say about us! Please come back and see us again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Basic older facility with no frills but,kept clean & priced accordingly. Good neighborhood but, security measures could be better i.e., leaving room unlocked for late arrivals w/ keys on table, no peepholes & traditional keys.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about The Great Escape! It is a smaller property, very meticulously maintained, newly updated, and great pool area! Everything is clean, bright and gorgeous. All of their little touches around the property impressed us to no end, including complementary beach chairs, sun screens and large beach towels to use during our stay. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and the other guest staying there are equally as friendly. I could not have asked for a better place to have stayed. The beach is just a short walk away, including a newly renovated pier with delicious restaurants and great atmosphere!

Room Tip: If you are looking for longer stay accommodations, they have available a two bedroom penthouse suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I was able to walk to beautiful clean beaches, one minute away! Walking a little farther on the beach brought me to great restaurants and a park and city center. Mark and the other staff were very friendly, accessible, and helpful whenever I wanted assistance. The room was comfy and clean. The bedding was especially comfy. I slept so well! During the day there's lots of traffic on the street. But it seems to disappear at night. It was always very quiet when I wanted to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spinnering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#14 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#11 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#15 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Escape Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Escape Inn

Property: Great Escape Inn
Address: 4620 N Ocean Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3620 (Formerly Great Escape Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#8 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Great Escape Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a block away from the beach, the Great Escape Inn is conveniently located in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, a picturesque seaside village nestled between Ft. Lauderdale and Pompano Beach. Guests at the Inn enjoy a heated pool, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, and TVs with cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Great Escape Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Escape Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing