We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy place to stay for a couple of nights”
Review of Great Escape Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Escape Inn
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Comfy place to stay for a couple of nights”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment on the ground floor (all the 1 bedroom apartments are on the ground floor) and my parents had a studio room upstairs.
The rooms are clean, fresh and bright and look newly decorated. The kitchen has a full oven, fridge/freezer and microwave and has enough cutlery and crockery. No kettle but there is a coffee filter machine.
The bed was a king size and had good cotton bedding and was very comfortable. The 1 bed apartment was spacious.
Reasonable sized pool which we enjoyed using.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, even tumble drying our swimming costumes on our last day before we left to catch our flight back home. As mentioned by other reviewers, beach chairs, umbrella and towels were provided and there is even a basket of sun tan cream by the pool - what a nice touch!
Yes it is on a busy road and we felt a bit odd walking back from the beach with swimwear on, but it was only a short walk. Our rooms were set back from the road so we didnt notice the traffic noise. Convenient Publix just along the road and restaurants in the town - we liked the Blue Moon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room back from the road. 1 bed apts are on the ground floor, studios upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThurlbyReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    44
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
70
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just checking out from 3 night stay. Motel is right round the corner from the beach ( staff provide free beach chairs and pool towels). Room was bright, clean and spacious. Full kitchen and grocery store a 3 min walk. It is beside a busy street so traffic can be noisy, but at night I just turned the AC fan up to #3 which muffled any outside noise and slept great.
Lovely little courtyard and all guests very friendly.
Would def return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH910762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls.
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel had many pluses, mainly it was close to the beach. The room was very clean, it had plenty of space, nice kitchen. The staff was friendly and helpful, got us beach chairs and beach towels at no charge, very good service. The only complaint was that it was on a very busy street so if you sat by the pool which is right next to the road, it was traffic noisy. Just would suggest they put up a privacy fence. It was pricy but it was also high season.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked our one night stay online and got an excellent rate. The office staff was friendly and efficient, and our room was neat and appealing. The beach was about a 2 minute walk away. Beds were comfortable, parking was convenient, and the room was quiet. We would like to stay again should we return to Lauderdale by the Sea.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, which was a relief since we had several pieces of luggage. No elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PackYurBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I love Lauderdale by the Sea. I've been vacationing there for over thirty years. There is no place down there that has a nicer staff. The owner's Cindy and Steve and their son Mark are always looking to please. Everything is new and so clean. The location is close to everything.
For being the "new kids" on the block I hope you give all the others (hotels) a run for the money!
Cindy.... the popcorn didn't burn. Thanks for the new microwave. Hope to see you next year. Keep doing what you're doing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica_Muchacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Had stayed nearby previously while attending a conference but saw the Great Escape Inn and knew I had to try it. Well worth it. Very impressed with the courteous staff, nicely appointed kitchenette equipped suite, proximity to grocery store, eateries & entertainment, as well as the easy walk around the corner to the beach. Liked it so much I immediately booked an even bigger suite with living room and eat-in kitchen for next year! Highly recommend the Great Escape Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GatorNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Family of four on March Break with tween and teen in Fort Lauderdale for first time. So glad we chose this area and the Great Escape Inn--friendly staff..and loved our bright, clean, and spacious fully equipped unit upstairs in 110 and the complimentary beach towels, beach chairs, and sunscreens and aloe vera gel and the heated pool. WiFi excellent. Shorter walk (2 minutes) than expected and easy access to the safe, clean beach (great for flying kites) and fishing pier and to Publix, CVC, and restaurants like Aruba Cafe (on beach) and Azteca Mexican Grill (all fresh ingredients) and Kilwins (fudge and ice cream) highly recommended. Enjoyed the St. Patricks' bands playing in the block party. Short drive to main busy Fort Lauderdale beach and Galleria Mall. Yes there's roadside noise...even when we were in the Keys at the other motel. It is South Florida after all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#13 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#17 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Escape Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Escape Inn

Property: Great Escape Inn
Address: 4620 N Ocean Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3620 (Formerly Great Escape Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#8 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Great Escape Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a block away from the beach, the Great Escape Inn is conveniently located in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, a picturesque seaside village nestled between Ft. Lauderdale and Pompano Beach. Guests at the Inn enjoy a heated pool, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, and TVs with cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Escape Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Escape Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing