We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for the price. Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Escape Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Great Escape Inn
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value for the price. Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Rooms was nice and location perfect. Short walk to the beach and many great place to eat. Recently renovated. Owners were VERY accomodating. They kept checking in to make sure our stay was perfect. Free Wi-Fi was a nice addition. I will let all my friends know about this wonderful Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    43
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
68
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My sister and I went to Ft. lauderdale- by-the-Sea to visit family. We were on a tight budget and wanted to be within walking distance. This place was perfect. Completely remodeled. We stayed in the King Motel room. Clean and the bed was comfortable. I don't need much so I was happy. Free WiFi was good. Publix is right across the street and the beach is a 5 min walk from the motel. Commercial pier is about a 10 min walk with all the shops and restaurants. Since we didn't have a car being close to these was a major plus.
This is a family run Inn. Just like I like. Next time I will upgrade to the efficiency room so I can have a kitchen, too. I highly encourage others to take advantage of this Inn. It's Old Florida hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Without a doubt I will be back again. Couldn't ask for anything better. Staff is great, location is great and the price was great!

Rooms are all new and have everything that you would need. Plenty of room, furnishing are all new, fully working kitchen, flatscreen tv and plenty of storage space for your clothes and luggage.

Outside in the courtyard there are tables to eat or lounge at, a grill to use, washer and dryer and a pool with plenty of lounge chairs.

Location couldn't have been better. Walking distance to anything and everything that you might need.

Last but certaintly not least is the staff. Everyone that I encountered was freindly and helpfull with anything that I needed. I can't say enough about them. I truly felt like I was staying with family. I was actually told that they would give me the same rate and room next year when I come back next year! I can't wait!

Room Tip: Ask for room 111. I was told it was the biggest room with a King bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericd1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

As one of the other reviews states...this hotel is a definitely a hidden gem. It's small, clean, the right price and steps from the beach. Plus, the management family is terrific, friendly and pays attention to the smallest detail. It's just like being at home. Each unit has a full kitchen, everything is clean and there's a washer/dryer on site. The inn is steps from the beach and across the street from a grocery and CVS. I will always go back while in the area and have already recommended this fine location to others. It's homey and comfortable! Even thinking about taking long winter breaks here. A great property!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattytour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you expect there will be no service such as breakfast, bar, workout, front desk etc. this Inn is the place to be.

A few minutes walk from the beautiful beach the inn sits perfect. Walk some more and you will have food and drinks in very nice enviroment. There is more there than you will see so take time to explore a bit. Also up the boulevard by the bridge going over the canal you will find nicely placed restaurants.

Rooms are clean and keept so during all our 11 days. Beds are OK. Pillows enough for an army, 4 per bed, half would have been enough now they are mostly in the way.
Fridge ok, only missing a waterboiler, alternative microwave and maybe a cup or two.
As we specified we prefer king size and booked some 3,5 months ahead we where a bit disappointed to get 2 smaller beds.
Shower and bathroom is nice and very clean.
Windows flip and allows air to pass through as AC will make alot of noise. Windows and curtains make for good sound barrier. The trafic outside did not bother us at all during night.

Pool area looks good and inviting but we prefer the beach when weather allows.

There is Publix less than 5 minutes north on the same street, so we bought breakfast there as well as disposable cuttlery and paper plates. This cut down on hunting breakfast every morning when sugar is low and hunger high:-) Dunkin has great coffee just next to Publix.

If you want a bit heavier breakfast just make your way down to the "center" area by the Pier some 700 meters south. Try the place on the pier.
Sitting there with the sunrise in your face, varm winds and a full american breakfast will be part of your memories from this place.

Only bad is the 12 rooms and 11 parking spaces they have. It will casuse smaller problems if you are last and everyone else brought a car. There is how ever in worst case scenario lots of parking to pay for opposite the police station only some 100-150 meters south. + we where aware this could happen. It would be nice if you could book or reserve a spot for your vacation as a service.
The Internet works suprisingly good, we tried several other connections that was far worse.

Go for a run in the early morning or walk the streets after 10, it all feels very safe in this area.
The police make their precence show here and there just as you would expect.

Over all we enjoyed it and we will be back and most certainly to 4620 North Ocean Drive.

Robert & Mona

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I did not encounter any problems during my stay! The Owner was very accommodating. Location is pretty good. Room is excellent, bed is clean. no complaints. You can take a bus to go downtown area, or even to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielryre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The rooms were very clean and updated. We found the staff and owners to be extremely accomodating and friendly. The location was perfect, very close to beach and shopping needs. We really enjoyed our stay. If ever we were back in this area, we would definately look to stay here again. We highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 101 is closest to road and all accomodation foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#15 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#11 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Horizon By The Sea Inn
Horizon By The Sea Inn
#18 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Escape Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Escape Inn

Property: Great Escape Inn
Address: 4620 N Ocean Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3620 (Formerly Great Escape Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#8 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Great Escape Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a block away from the beach, the Great Escape Inn is conveniently located in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, a picturesque seaside village nestled between Ft. Lauderdale and Pompano Beach. Guests at the Inn enjoy a heated pool, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, and TVs with cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Great Escape Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Escape Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing