We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Hideaway in plain site!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Florida Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Florida Resort
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Hideaway in plain site!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Clean, friendly, accomodating. Lovely accomodations in true Lauderdale by the Sea style.
Here now and enjoying the wonderful tropical plants! Took me all of 90 seconds to walk to the beach! Booked a basic hotel room for one and was surprised to find a fridge and coffee pot!!
A five minute walk to the supermarket and now stocked with water, champagne and coffee!
Love this hideaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank toarruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    125
    35
    15
    14
See reviews for
128
121
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I love it.. New Owners, changing Rooms, all New this is a PLUS. Staff very helpful and super nice, take the time to tell me where to go with my husband. Very calm, relaxing and I really feel like I was at home. Beach is super close walk distance and they provide everything to enjoy the Beach and the pool even toys for my little one.. ;-), Rooms super clean and the lady from housekeeping went the extra mile. I recommend this place and I will be back for summer .

Room Tip: get the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MARCELA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at this little gem. I feel as if the staff there are our new friends! They couldn't have been more accommodating. Our 1 bedroom apartment was ready early and we were able to check in early. The room had been recently updated with new furniture and beds and was spotless. Flat screen TV's in both the bedroom and living room. Full kitchen with blender, toaster, coffee maker, microwave, range and stove, and refrigerator.

There is a lush, tropical pool area and beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas and all kinds of toys for their guests' use either there or at the beach. There are a couple of gas grills for guests to use as well.

This place was sold about 2 months ago and the owners are updating all the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank msboogie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We reserved this hotel because of the great reviews here on trip advisor, but as someone stated below, I disagree with most of them. First, the actual name is "Best Florida Motel", and as far as resort versus motel, it certainly falls into the cheap motel category. It is not right on the beach as they claim, and they must have had an extremely talented photographer photograph their pool area. The pool area is tiny, is about 20 feet away from Rt. 1a, and surrounded by the cheap motel rooms. When we arrived there was a large man standing in front of the gate to the place looking intimidating, which made even walking in uncomfortable. Then, the owner was busy with a guest in the small office at the front (again, exactly what you see in movies at cheap motels, only with more flowers and bright colors), so we had to wait a while for that to get wrapped up. Once inside, the woman asked for our reservation, and stated that she "didn't have [us] there". I handed her the printed email I had received a month before from the hotel's email address that was confirming our room and rate. The woman stated that they had recently purchased the hotel and that we must have made the reservations prior to the purchase, and the previous owners must not have given the reservation to her. This was false, because when we asked her when she bought the place she said a date that was prior to our confirmation email (same email is still on their business cards). The hotel was booked full so we were stranded. The owner offered to give us 15% off our next stay there for the inconvenience (the same discount they offer if you book through booking.com), and gave us the name of another hotel in the area (which was also booked). We never got a chance to see the rooms, but we will certainly not be back to check it out. I recommend people look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Set back from a busy street protected from noise by the trees & fencing, this sweet hideaway was perfect. Small shaded courtyard with flowers & trees and a pool. Attractive room decked in bamboo furnishings with nice colors. Very friendly manager, Bo, who answered all questions and gave directions to restaurants and beach. Walking distance to everything you want or need (beach, restaurants, shopping, medical). This was my 3rd visit to Lauderdale by the Sea and I love the quiet, simplicity and charm of the area and only about 25 minutes north from Ft. Lauderdale airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I picked this place after reading the raves on TripAdvisor, and sorry to say I don't agree with the high ratings. Except for the owners, who really are delightful. And the room was well cleaned by the housekeeper. That said, there is a lot I didn't like (and I would not return): the rooms very much need updating: everything from the carpet to the furniture to the flickering lamp, the walls are VERY thin: we heard everything next door, it's located on the main road w/ cars nearby, there was a musty/moldy smell in the room, the linens look old, the decor is well, odd (& I like offbeat), and it's not that inexpensive. It is, though, conveniently located near a shopping center and the beach. The pool area is cute: the best part by far, (though right on the road). I would only go back if the rooms got a total makeover.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ekaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Not sure how the Best Florida Resort measures up to other motels in the area, but I would say for the price range (175/night) shopping around might not be a bad idea.

The room was clean enough and we enjoyed the quirky, quiet ambiance. Hower for the price paid the shower was unacceptable (no pressure and temps went from freezing to scalding every 2 minutes) and this is really critical if you intend on hanging out on the beach and in the ocean. Also there is no maid service Sundays and holidays and no place on site to use a computer or print directions or boarding passes. As we stayed over a long holiday weekend this lack of convenience dropped the star rating to a 3.

The proprietors were kind, rooms were clean, and it is close to the beach, so it's certainly not the worst you can do. Just feel like it wasn't the best value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misscrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#11 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Horizon By The Sea Inn
Horizon By The Sea Inn
#19 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Florida Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Florida Resort

Property: Best Florida Resort
Address: 4628 N Ocean Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#10 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Florida Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Best Florida Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Florida Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Hotel Best Florida
Best Florida Resort Lauderdale By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing