We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropic Seas Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauderdale by the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropic Seas Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Dieburg
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Found this hotel by driving past. There are many hotels in that street and we would have been spoiled for choice if there would have been vacancies! This one was almost the only one with a room available and therefore my expectations weren't great.
The room was small and to be honest not all that clean. Bed was good and the yellow décor made us feel comfortable. The small garden with pool is very pretty and through a gate you have immediate access to the huge beach. It is wonderful to sit on the veranda overlooking the sea. In the morning you can help yourself to delicious coffee and wrapped pastries.
The pier, restaurants, bars and shops are a 10 minute walk away. It's a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood. We only stayed one night but I would have been happy to stay a bit longer.

Room Tip: If you want it quiet try to stay away from family rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anja70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    40
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
81
92
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

just got back from a stay at Tropic Seas and cant say anything bad. Linda at the front desk was very pleasant and the room was nice with a awesome view of the ocean. It was a very relaxed setting and the bed was comfortable. I was even allowed to keep my car parked there after checkout to be able to still hang out on the beach. would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

What a wonderful gem in Lauderdale by the Sea!! The staff is friendly and caring. The hotel is clean and the beds are fabulous. I had to get the name of the pillows and mattress' manufactures to order and have at home.

The ocean front view and pool is everything that anyone could ask for. We will be visiting them again.

Thank you for a wonderful week!.

Lynn & Rick H.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Step through the archway at the front of the motel and you will be pleasantly surprised! It is a little oasis. I think the name should be "Tropic Oasis" because that is what it was. We had a lovely room with modern furnishings and decorations. The king-size bed was the most comfortable I've EVER slept on, including my own bed. I told my husband to "just pack it on top of the Jeep and let's take it home," that's how good it was. Plus, I always bring my own pillow because I am hard to please when it comes to pillows. I put my head on the pillow that was on the bed and I suddenly started stripping the pillow case off so I could find out what company made that pillow. I immediately ordered me one online. I loved it! The manager, Eleanor Parker, was such a gracious hostess. She showed us our room before we paid for it - we knew what we were getting. The morning view was breathtaking! I am serious when I say that if I could have never returned home, that I would have been fine with that as long as I could have just stayed right there. Of all the hotels we stayed in during our trip down the Gulf Coast of Florida, to Key West, and back up the East Coast side, THIS was by far the BEST stay of the entire trip! Loved it!

Room Tip: The manager can help you pick out a room that is just right!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a beautiful ocean front resort. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, fresh lines and relaxing pool area. We were only steps away from the ocean and downtown restaurants. All of the staff were always friendly and helpful with directions. I will revisit this resort in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a beautiful, relaxing hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea. Nice clean rooms, beautiful pool and amazing beach. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful! I enjoyed my stay and will recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helens Bay
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Three generations of us spent a couple of nights here as part of a road trip, and we couldn't have chosen any better. The three rooms we were given were all beautifully decorated and well equipped. The bed was extremely comfortable too !

The location is second to none, right on the beach. Because it was just after Labor Day the place was rather empty, sometimes we were the only people by the pool.

I didn't want to leave. Two days relaxation here is better than a week in other places I have visited.

Highly recommended. If anyone is looking for a base in this area of Florida then look no further than Tropic Seas. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seapoint40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#14 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#15 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#11 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Seas Resort

Property: Tropic Seas Resort
Address: 4616 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper yourself in an intimate ocean-front villa. Tropic Seas Resort offers brightly decorated efficiency and one-bedroom apartments, complete with kitchenettes with breath taking ocean views. All of our rooms feature 32" Flat Screen Televisions, Free WiFi and Free in Room Safes! Tropic Seas is situated directly on the beach in the charming seaside village of Lauderdale By The Sea where you can experience the delectable tastes of sidewalk cafes, groove into the evening's nightlife, shop at the various boutiques and souvenirs stores. Free WiFi available!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropic Seas Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Tropic Seas Motel
Tropic Seas Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing