We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beachfront Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Seas Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauderdale by the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropic Seas Resort
Save
You added Tropic Seas Resort to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Beachfront Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We went to Florida for 2 weeks to get out of the cold and couldn't and picked a better place than Tropic Seas Resort! The hotel is clean, the furniture has been recently updated, the beds were super comfortable, the rooms have a nice "beachy" feel to them along with the fact that Tropic Seas is right on the beach makes this a great choice! We will definitely return. This hotel is great for families or couples that want to get away.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldensoul501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    40
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
74
90
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I recently stayed at this wonderful small hotel and can not recommend it enough for those seeking a completely relaxing and serene environment. The hotel is only two stories high and all the rooms seem to have beautiful ocean views. My sister and I had a one bedroom suite on the second floor, and we spent many hours sitting in the chairs outside our room and sea gazing. The suite was quite spacious and the furniture was very comfortable. I think they redecorated fairly recently, and the room had a colorful island feel. The kitchen was well stocked. The bed was really comfortable and the decor in the bedroom was bright, beachy and very clean. The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained and tropical in feel. There were more than enough lounge chairs , and the pool was just the right warmth. You can enjoy views of the ocean and hear the waves as you relax in the pool area. Frankly we were so happy at the hotel that we went out less than we expected to, and often just ordered dinner delivered to the room . Both of us felt we had never felt so relaxed at the end of a vacation. The staff were very friendly and helpful with all our needs, and really took a personal interest , I have stayed in the past at both High Noon and the Little Inn by the Sea in Lauderdale by the Sea, and this hotel is definitely superior to the others in my opinion.High Noon was nice but the furniture was uncomfortable and it was a busier stretch of the beach. The Little Inn was funky and fun but
had large gaps in the level of maintenance of the place. In the future we have no doubt that we would return to the Tropic Seas. Honestly I can't think of any criticisms --we were totally satisfied. My son who is in his mid twenties also joined us for a few days and he loved it too.

Room Tip: We loved room 209 which is an end unit with a separate bedroom and great views, but all the rooms se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkinsville, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Returned recently from an absolutely wonderful stay at Tropic Seas Resort Motel! My sister and I were looking for a relaxing place to have a long awaited reunion. Had stumbled upon the special area of no high rises at Lauderdale by the sea four years ago and fell in love with it. At that time we stayed elsewhere in LBTS and enjoyed it but wanted to try somewhere else this time because the previous place left a few things to be desired.
Thanks to reading reviews on Trip advisor, we picked Tropic Seas this time. What a perfect choice it was! From the moment we arrived we loved it! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the one bedroom unit we had was beautifully decorated, had extremely comfortable furniture, had anything we needed to cook if we wanted to, the king sized bed was not only amazingly comfortable, but also had a full view onto the beach, (so relaxing to sleep listening to the waves), the living room also had a big window looking out on the ocean a land line phone and a flat screen tv. (The bedroom also had a flat screen tv although we never used it) There is a safe to use if desired which is a nice feature. The staff was wonderful about keeping everything so clean and replacing fresh towels. Another nice feature is they provide beach towels and a beach bag.
The grounds are absolutely beautiful!!! The view from our balcony was fantastic! There are many palm trees, other greenery, a well manicured lawn, the heated pool ( which was always clean and so delightfully warm) , extremely comfortable and attractive lawn chairs, a couple of low sand dunes, and then the beautiful beach and ocean. It was incredibly relaxing either sitting on the balcony or down by the pool or before the dunes. We were so relaxed, and loved the atmosphere so much that we decided we didn't even want to leave to go eat-so we ordered food to be delivered.
Being at Tropic Seas is truly like being at an oasis! it has a welcoming spirit, privacy, quiet, comfort, and beauty! Can't imagine anything better! it was always a surprise when we would go out on the beach and look down the beach and see the high rises in the distance that we were in the same place because it was so delightfully quiet in our part of the world. (it is also away from the fishing pier, which in our opinion is a big plus)
Spent our days swimming in the pool. In the ocean, the pool, the ocean, reading, gazing at the waves.....Just great! Thanks so much to all the staff (front desk, maintenance, housekeeping, and others we may not know about) for all their hospitality and hard work. It is a well cared for place and it shows. If you want to relax, feel welcome, and be comfortable, this is your place! We are not high rise people and are so very, very glad that the special world of LBTS exists and hope it will always stay as lovely as it is. We truly hope we can return to Tropic Seas in the future. We have no desire to look for anywhere else to stay. This place is WONDERUL!!!

Room Tip: corner room was excellent Great views from second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manateemode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We loved this place and started out thinking one night and stayed four, everything was wonderful the pool the beach the grounds, it's really cozy and felt like our home away from home. The staff was great too, Linda and Eleanor were great with recommendations for restaurants and discount coupons for food and drinks.
We don't have a bad word about it. We highly recommend it to anyone! Can't wait to go back.

Joanne & Joe B

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you want a nice local motel, Tropic Seas on El Mar will fit the bill. Located directly on the beach, it has a nice heated pool w/lounge chairs. Pool towels are provided in your room for use. Some of the rooms could use a tiny bit of updating in the bathrooms, otherwise it suffices nicely. It's walking distance to town or in the other direction about 3 blocks away is the small shopping center w/Publix Grocery as an anchor. Managers are very helpful, the grounds are landscaped nicely. Stayed in Room 281 on the corner. Was quiet even tho one side faced the street. Separate bedroom w/TV made the cooler evenings comfortable. Both TV's (1 in livingroom) had an extensive cable selection. There are chairs on the balcony too. Kitchen was JUST sufficiently stocked w/pans, pot, silverware etc. I defintely would stay here again. They do offer coffee, hot water & packaged sweets for the morning.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. I would prefer the 2nd floor for the views, unless you have problems using...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently returned from our first stay at Tropic Seas & will return! It is a quaint, quiet (for the most part...there was one child who was very loud & not redirected by parents), well maintained motel with gorgeous views of the ocean from all rooms. The rooms are nicely decorated with updated beds & linens & are clean. We returned one day to a clean room with a fresh orange scent :) The grounds are so pretty with palm trees, fountains, & a well maintained pool area. There is a grill & tennis courts & a nice "lobby area" with pictures, free keurig coffee, danishes, & even coupons for activities. Such a great place with kind employees! They even take AAA! Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent a total of 7 days there beginning of March 2013.
Great place/ clean/ on the Beach/ friendly Managers.
Directly on the beach with all rooms/balconies having an Ocean View.
What else can one ask for!.

Room Tip: All rooms are great/ just depends what size you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#1 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#14 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#18 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort
Shore Haven Resort
#12 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#10 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Seas Resort

Property: Tropic Seas Resort
Address: 4616 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#5 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper yourself in an intimate ocean-front villa. Tropic Seas Resort offers brightly decorated efficiency and one-bedroom apartments, complete with kitchenettes with breath taking ocean views. All of our rooms feature 32" Flat Screen Televisions, Free WiFi and Free in Room Safes! Tropic Seas is situated directly on the beach in the charming seaside village of Lauderdale By The Sea where you can experience the delectable tastes of sidewalk cafes, groove into the evening's nightlife, shop at the various boutiques and souvenirs stores. Free WiFi available!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropic Seas Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Tropic Seas Motel
Tropic Seas Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing