We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We Loved This Place"”
Review of Tropic Seas Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauderdale by the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropic Seas Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We loved this place and started out thinking one night and stayed four, everything was wonderful the pool the beach the grounds, it's really cozy and felt like our home away from home. The staff was great too, Linda and Eleanor were great with recommendations for restaurants and discount coupons for food and drinks.
We don't have a bad word about it. We highly recommend it to anyone! Can't wait to go back.

Joanne & Joe B

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 240 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you want a nice local motel, Tropic Seas on El Mar will fit the bill. Located directly on the beach, it has a nice heated pool w/lounge chairs. Pool towels are provided in your room for use. Some of the rooms could use a tiny bit of updating in the bathrooms, otherwise it suffices nicely. It's walking distance to town or in the other direction about 3 blocks away is the small shopping center w/Publix Grocery as an anchor. Managers are very helpful, the grounds are landscaped nicely. Stayed in Room 281 on the corner. Was quiet even tho one side faced the street. Separate bedroom w/TV made the cooler evenings comfortable. Both TV's (1 in livingroom) had an extensive cable selection. There are chairs on the balcony too. Kitchen was JUST sufficiently stocked w/pans, pot, silverware etc. I defintely would stay here again. They do offer coffee, hot water & packaged sweets for the morning.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. I would prefer the 2nd floor for the views, unless you have problems using...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently returned from our first stay at Tropic Seas & will return! It is a quaint, quiet (for the most part...there was one child who was very loud & not redirected by parents), well maintained motel with gorgeous views of the ocean from all rooms. The rooms are nicely decorated with updated beds & linens & are clean. We returned one day to a clean room with a fresh orange scent :) The grounds are so pretty with palm trees, fountains, & a well maintained pool area. There is a grill & tennis courts & a nice "lobby area" with pictures, free keurig coffee, danishes, & even coupons for activities. Such a great place with kind employees! They even take AAA! Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent a total of 7 days there beginning of March 2013.
Great place/ clean/ on the Beach/ friendly Managers.
Directly on the beach with all rooms/balconies having an Ocean View.
What else can one ask for!.

Room Tip: All rooms are great/ just depends what size you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Lauderdale by the Sea is unique in that the hotels are mainly 2-3 floor "motels". The beach is very wide and lovely. Tropic Seas is beautifully manicured, the rooms are fresh and newly decorated, it is quiet (well, it was when I was there) with great pool lounge chairs- and lots of them! Really enjoyed the friendly managers, and the morning coffee and danish treats. It was just extemely comfortable, really pleasant, and the week flew by- good and not so good weather.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mich-noto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to Tropic Seas for over 20 years and it just seems to get better each time. This year there is new furniture and bedding in all the rooms. The location is great being right on the beach and ocean and the grounds are outstanding. Eleanor and Linda do and exceptional job as managers and the staff is also excellent. Before we sadly had to leave we
booked our room for next year. We can't say enough good things about this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dharm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent a week at Tropic Seas Resort in January/February and could not wait to return the next year. We had been to Lauderdale by the Sea before but this was the better resort to stay and enjoy the beach. The rooms were clean, the employees very friendly and knowledgable. We enjoyed just sitting outside our room with it's wonderful view of the ocean and relaxing. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance and if you want to visit Fort Lauderdale or South Beach or Palm Beach they are a short drive away. We had a room with a kitchen and it was nicely equiped and everything was very clean. I am looking forward to a return visit soon.

Room Tip: They all have a nice view. I liked the upper level for more privacy. We had a one-bedroom suite wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#9 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#17 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#18 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Seas Resort

Address: 4616 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#5 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: $125 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper yourself in an intimate ocean-front villa. Tropic Seas Resort offers brightly decorated efficiency and one-bedroom apartments, complete with kitchenettes with breath taking ocean views. All of our rooms feature 32" Flat Screen Televisions, Free WiFi and Free in Room Safes! Tropic Seas is situated directly on the beach in the charming seaside village of Lauderdale By The Sea where you can experience the delectable tastes of sidewalk cafes, groove into the evening's nightlife, shop at the various boutiques and souvenirs stores. Free WiFi available!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropic Seas Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Tropic Seas Motel
Tropic Seas Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing