We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Greatest Place in Lauderdale”
Review of Tropic Seas Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauderdale by the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropic Seas Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Our family travels several times yearly and for the past 3 years we have stayed for 6 days each time and have found Tropic Seas to be Wonderful. The staff is friendly and courteous and the Maid service excellent. The Continental Breakfast should have a juice of some kind though. The pool area is perfect and the views of the Atlantic superior. I've already made reservations for next season. The Restaurants and shops are close. I highly recomend Tropic Seas and Manager Elenore Parker.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roadhouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 245 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2011

The room is dated (207) but clean. The managers were great. the guests are a few families; no 'college kids' on spring break. Pool is on a hardscape with GREAT chairs/lounge chairs too. The Free continential breakfast should have a juice too. A few blocks to the center of the town for restaurants and bars. I'll be back but I think I will forget going on a saturday night... to much activity in town for this oldtimer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dad1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

First, the buildings, location/views of the Atlantic and landscaping make a great first impression. Being directly on the beach is a huge plus. The two buildings form an 'L' around a pretty courtyard with a small pool (though it was perfectly clean and nicely heated).
We had a one-bedroom unit with two double beds in one room, and another room with kitchen, dining table, and two sofas (one a twin size bed). All fine, all clean, not ornate or fancy but not tacky or loaded with knickknacks either. The kitchen was complete and when I asked about one item, the nice manager on duty was great about finding one for me. The best meal I had here was one the family cooked together, using the Weber gas grill on site (clean, with utensils).
If you like that kind of thing - as well as being steps from your car (free parking) to the room and then steps to the beach, you will love this place. It doesn't have resort amenities but that's a different experience. It was quiet, with mostly older couples, but my kids (teens and tween) had a good time, of course, the busy area of the Anglin pier and its shops and restaurants were only a few blocks south (but this is not a place for kids who want to be loud in the pool late at night). Another bonus for me was the shopping center a block away with Publix, Subway, Dunkin Donuts, etc. They do have a room with a nice Keurig coffeemaker and there were some pastries put out in the morning.
Lauderdale attractions easily accessible by car, take the water taxi on a tour from the Doubletree on Sunrise - park free at the Galleria Mall and walk a block to the dock.
But the real attraction is the beach. Nice beach towels, loaner beach bag provided, plenty of pool chairs. Bonus: get up early if it's clear, sit in the courtyard and watch the sunrise. I recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

My wife, daughter and I've been coming to Lauderdale By The Sea for over 15 years. For the last three years we've been staying at the Tropic Seas Resort and it suits us perfectly. You're secluded from the road and adjecent hotels, yet steps away from the beach and the warm Atlantic sea. You're a few minutes walk away from some of th best restaurants in the area and there's access to anything you'd need.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropic_Seas_Resort, Owner at Tropic Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2011

Dear Anders,

Thank you for staying with us at Tropic Seas Resort and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We take tremendous pride in Tropic Seas Resort and nothing makes us more happy than a satisfied guest!

Thanks again for your comments.

Sincerely,

John Secco
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Tropic Seas in LBTS with our almost two-year-old and can't say enough good things about the hotel, its location and its family-friendly amenities. It was nice to be able to dine in our room or on the beach (taking a toddler out to eat can be a challenge) and to have the pool as an option or the Atlantic! This was a very relaxing trip that was enjoyed by all in our family! I'd highly recommend Tropic Seas!

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank MichiganMomDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

You will not find a better place to spend a winter month than Tropic Seas Motel.
My wife and I have been coming here for nearly 20 years and it seems to get better
each year. The staff is excellent and the resort is very well kept and clean. We have
already reserved for next February as many other long time visitors have done.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dharm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropic_Seas_Resort, Owner at Tropic Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2011

Dear Dharm98,

Thank you for your 20 years of support! We are very proud of Tropic Seas Resort and nothing pleases us more than to hear about how our guests have enjoyed their stay with us! Thank you again and please don't hesitate to contact us should you ever need anything!

Sincerely,

John Secco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We have been staying at Tropic Seas Resort for 20 years now and it gets better and better every year. We rent a 1 bedroom apartment which is perfect for us as it has everything we need for a relaxing vacation including a nice kitchen and a seperate bedroom. The hotel is very clean and the staff is extremely accomodating. We especially enjoy the proximity to shopping centers, restaurants and the beach. It is close to the hustle and bustle of the downtown but not too close. We highly recommend Tropic Seas Resort to all of our friends and will definately come back in a few months.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npbellalucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropic_Seas_Resort, Owner at Tropic Seas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2011

Dear Npbellalucca,

Thank you for staying with us at Tropic Seas Resort and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We take great pride in Tropic Seas Resort and nothing pleases us more than to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. Thanks again!

Sincerely,

John Secco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#9 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#20 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#18 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Seas Resort

Address: 4616 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: $125 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper yourself in an intimate ocean-front villa. Tropic Seas Resort offers brightly decorated efficiency and one-bedroom apartments, complete with kitchenettes with breath taking ocean views. All of our rooms feature 32" Flat Screen Televisions, Free WiFi and Free in Room Safes! Tropic Seas is situated directly on the beach in the charming seaside village of Lauderdale By The Sea where you can experience the delectable tastes of sidewalk cafes, groove into the evening's nightlife, shop at the various boutiques and souvenirs stores. Free WiFi available!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropic Seas Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Tropic Seas Motel
Tropic Seas Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing