We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has to be a better place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Little Inn By The Sea
Margate, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Has to be a better place”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My cousins and I like to stay on the beach after our busy thanksgiving dinner. We walked into our 2nd floor room and were treated to a mildew smell. We walked out on the balcony after we checked in at 3:00 on Friday and were greeted with a rusted door and a rusted railing that drew our attention away as we tried to appreciate the beautiful ocen view.When we checked in we let the person at the desk know that we were 4 not 3. She promised to send up enough towels and sheets and NEVER DID. We out to dinner and got back after 9:00 and the office was closed. We opened up the sofa bed to see if any bedding was there, but all that was there was a very old and thin, lumpy mattress. If we hadn't brought towels we would have had nothing to cover ourselves with. When we went down to breakfast at 8:00 the next morning, we found watered down coffee and an array of sugar cereals and Little Debbie packaged cakes. We talked to the housekeeping person and she brought us some sheets and some very used old blankets for our 2nd night. In the morning we went out on the balcony of our 2nd floor room and were greeted by cigarette smoke from the people downstairs.
The scenery is beautiful and I guess that's why they can charge $179 for an efficiency and have a room that is in terrible shape and does not restrict smoking or offer a decent breakfast.
We love the location but this room is beyond "old Florida charm" as their ad says. I don't know if the other rooms are any better, but we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnatwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    58
    26
    30
    86
See reviews for
63
93
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at A Little Inn By The Sea Oct 30th through Nov 3rd 2012 and had the best vacation ever! The inn has a lot of old world charm which is what we really loved about it. The pool was the perfect size and always immaculately clean. House keeping did a great job and was extremely responsive to all our requests. Our room had everything we needed and was very comfortable. We actually moved to this inn from a major hotel after stopping in for a visit and immediately loved the place with all its charm. The ocean and private beach made this the perfect retreat for us. The location was great...far enough off the main rd but close enough to walk to stores, shops and plenty of great restaurants. The manager Rachel was extremely courteous and professional and worked with us to make our stay perfect. Renee and the other staff all did an outstanding job with assisting us and other customers with all our questions and needs. Thank you for making our 1st stay at A Little Inn By The Sea one of many more in the future! Sebastian and Terry of Rochester, New York

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mylittleinn, General Manager at A Little Inn By The Sea, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Sebastian and Terry,

THANK YOU! It was a huge pleasure to have you both as guests of A Little Inn. I know that relocating from your original hotel was a concern but we are so lucky to have made another lifelong guest from their loss! We enjoyed every single day that you were here with us and speaking for all the staff: We just cannot wait until your next visit!
See you both soon!
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pompano Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Made reservations and paid thru Kayak.com. Went to the hotel to see rooms and setup.Spoke to manager,showed me a room,agreed on the room 107,1st floor. When I get there,there is a $20 fee to be paid!? Also,she put me in a 2nd floor room. Having a Birthday party,so many supplies,tables,etc. cannot go up and down the stairs. Finds me a 1st floor room,finally. On their site,says,Heated Pool,she tells me,they don't heat the pool until Dec.Get into my room after hauling all supplies in,now no TV! Go to reception,tell her no TV and she says sorry,maybe tomorrow Comcast will come. She says I can walk down the street to some bars for something to do! What!? I live in Pompano,15 minutes away with HBO,etc. Why am I here? The maid wants to know if I can give her a beer,but don't tell the management.This place stinks!

Room Tip: Don't waste your time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Poor standard of room, the place is tired and dirty so was so pleased to move out after one nighs stay. We were planning on extending our trip before our arrival so had a lucky escape. The rate was $159 + tax per night so deffo not value for money.

Room Tip: Stay in the Southern Seas Resort next door as so much better, I speak from experience as have stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank broadfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mylittleinn, General Manager at A Little Inn By The Sea, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are very sorry that you felt that our rooms were not up to standards. The old Florida style of A Little Inn may have not been the right fit for you as a guest of Lauderdale By the Sea.I would like to add that we are "up to standards" as we do participate in all needed and required inspections. (We pass as expected.)
We are still very happy that you visited us and we hope to see you again in the short future.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I reserved on Friday night(10/12/12) one night at the A Little Inn by The Sea, through hotelsone.com checking in by Saturday (10/13/12) and checking out Sunday (10/14/12). The hotel website has an inviting set of photographs and written text, which we found out later are nothing but false advertisement... When we arrived at the hotel, the front desk rep verified our info, made copies of my DL and CC and handed us the key to the room. When we opened the door of the room, it smelled musty, like mildew and mold and it was very, very obvious. The window curtains were closed so the room was very dark, I turned the light switch on at least twice and no lights came on. I opened the curtains only to find that the room was very ill maintained. The smell of mildew was stronger inside the room, the bed was undone, the pillows were piled as if someone had just taken a nap minutes before we walked in, one of the pillow sham or case had a broken end, strings hanging... Imagine when you sleep and you put your arm underneath your pillow and you "tuck" in the pillow case or the pillow end to make it higher, that's how one of the pillows was... The rest of the pillows were just piling up on the left side of the bed, and the bed cover was all wrinkled. The bathroom's rug was also out of place and while there was no garbage in the garbage cans and the garbage bag was new, the whole room looked like it had not been cleaned or prepped for a new guest in a while. We immediately went to the front desk and I asked the woman behind the desk (same person who had minutes ago handed out the room key) if that room had been recently made up. I explained what we saw, she did not make much of a deal about my claim, went in herself and checked the room... Came back, typed something up in her computer and told me that we had been upgraded to an "efficiency" style room, at no extra charge. Handed a new set of keys and pointed to the new room, by the hotel pool... This second room was lighter than the other one but the smell of mildew and mold was still ever present... The bed, while better made, still had a similar pillow situation as before, all piled up to one side of the bed, we did not investigate the sheets... We put our bags down, and while talking about making it the best possible afternoon, a maintenance man knocked on our door and asked us to allow him to install a cable box so we could get local channels (otherwise the TV was of no use) and told us that by installing the cable box, he had just unplugged a floor lamp and that he could come back with an electric extension to get the floor lamp to work. My wife and I told him there was no need... The bed side table lamps worked fine, so no need. We just wanted to try and relax... Long story, short stay... We left the place and are now in the process of disputing the CC charges through BOA (one night + taxes). Hopefully they will be waived. In any case, reserve someplace else!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mylittleinn, General Manager at A Little Inn By The Sea, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I would like to send you an apology for many of the items listed in your review. We have recently replaced all of the pillows and bedding. Unfortunately, during the time you were visiting: we did have foul weather and this does sometimes create an East wind making the sea water odor a bit stronger on the property. We are in hopes that these being your largest concerns, you will come visit us again at A Little Inn by the SEA.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My Husband and I stayed for tonights. We arrived early at the hotel but they were nice enough to give us our room before check in time. The room (206) was larger than I expected and had a fantastic view of the ocean. Our room was clean and the staff was very friendly. The location is walking distance to shops, Publix and Dunkin Donuts! This is an older but charming bed and breakfast with a retro feel. I am going to book this hotel again next month.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mylittleinn, General Manager at A Little Inn By The Sea, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us at A Little Inn! We are so pleased to see your positive feedback! Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know how great A Little Inn really is!
See you again real soon!
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

nice pool great beach area!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! good for a romantic getaway rooms need to be updated
and breakfast is ok bagles and coffee are free not bad very quite place and relaxing place not bad! kids love the pool and beach area overall good for the price!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#10 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#17 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
381 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little Inn By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little Inn By The Sea

Property: A Little Inn By The Sea
Address: 4546 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3608
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little Inn By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run small European Mediterranean Style Bed & Breakfast in a landscaped garden setting directly on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Little Inn By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little Inn By The Sea Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Little Inn Sea
A Little Inn By The Sea Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing