We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“visiting” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Away Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Away Inn
parkland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“visiting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for the good reviews,but you learn once you see for yourself, we had 2 roooms at this hotel we thought we were going to be together but we were seperated one room upstairs one downstairs, manager said she had no more rooms available.,We took the 2 rooms for the 5 night stay, there is no breakfast offered for the prices of these rooms, but what we experienced was not good we did not know there were 2 seperate staffs one for the weekday and one for the weekend we checked in the front desk staff was great jennifer was pleasant and funny but room service on thursday and friday was horrible we did not get our bed change we was told you only get clean sheets on monday and thursday which is something we never heard of and the housekeeper refused to change our linen even after we asked them for up and downstairs, but we realized on saturday there was a different staff who was more pleasant than the other 2 ladies through the week were, these 2 ladies on the weekend they changed our beds at our request they cleaned the room very well they also cleaned our tub which the other 2 did not they just changed out our towels and dump the trash, the cable kept going out we went to the office to see another new face her name was gail she was pleasant and called the mainteance man to come to our room he was there in no time to see what was the problem he said he had to get another box and will be right back,if you want good room service stay on the weekend, also the wifi is not that great, the manager yelled at us for having fun in the pool said we were to loud and you can't use the pool items thats in the bin so why have them out there,she made our stay uncomfortable of enjoying ourselves, jennifer and the weekend staff are great,the manager has a bad attitude we asked and was told her name is dorothy not a pleasant person, but hotel is cozy family oriented.service and cleanliness came from the weekend staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bridgette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    26
    11
    5
    13
See reviews for
31
55
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Away Inn based on the good reviews we read here
on TripAdvisor. We were very disappointed and wonder how the place
has good reviews. The room we were given had a bad odor when we
got there. We tried another room but it was the same thing.
They claim to have WiFi but it didn't work in either room. My husband
had work to do and needed the computer. He had to go to a McDonald's
for internet access. The sofa bed linens were stained and torn.
There were bugs in the room. There was a towel under the air conditioner
to catch the water leaking where tiny ants were running around. We saw
a rat near the garbage dumpster around the corner. The pool was cold
and there was trash and empty beer and soda cans by the pool area.
We wanted to go to a different motel after the first day but the manager
said she would still have to charge us for the three days that we booked.
The only nice thing is that it's near the beach but I'm sure there are much
cleaner, better places to stay. Would never stay at the Away Inn ever again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelsrainbow, Front Office Manager at Away Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Com see for yourself No dirty rms, No bedbugs, No rats very clean establishment
MOD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Away Inn in June and cannot believe the good reviews because it
was probably the worst place we've ever stayed. When we checked into our room,
the air conditioner was blowing warm air. It took six and a half hours for the man to
come and fix it. The manager would not give us another room. There were ants in
the cabinets and a dead cockroach in the tub. The pool area was littered with cigarette
butts and trash and looked like no one had cleaned there in a long time. There was
loud music coming from the pool area one night until 2:00 a.m. When we called the
manager, all we got was a voicemail message. There is no one in the office after 6:00
so you're stuck if you have a problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eleanor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Read the good reviews of this hotel so decided to stay here for 5 nights over 4th July Celebrations. We were not disapointed and wished we had booked for longer.

This hotel is small and friendly and positioned at the beter quieter end of Fort Lauderdale, where the beaches are quieter and free parking supplied. Unlike Fort Luaderdale where the hotels there charge for parking of you have to use the expensive pay and display machines. The beach is a short 2 minute walk across the road.

The room which had a small kitchen was very clean, modern and comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked with utensils, cuttlery etc and there was a supermarket across the road.

All the staff are very friendley and relaxed and there's even complimentry beach umbrellas, chairs and coolers for you to take to the beach. The whole building appears to be very well mainted unlike many other hotels.
There was also reliable super fast wirless internet in the rooms.

This hotel definately comes recommended.

Room Tip: The building is a u shape so all the rooms appear to face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We loved our stay there
nice heated pool. Walking distance to the ocean. stayed 2 nights would like to stay longer

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atticagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We just returned from a month at the Away Inn, and were happy to find everything as good or better than our 3-week stay last February. Dorothy continues to manage the inn and her staff with an eye to keeping the guests happy and unaware of all the work that goes on behind the scenes. The housekeepers (many of them remembered us from last winter and welcomed us back) did a great job when they cleaned our room every day, changing the sheets every Monday and Thursday. They were so accommodating. When I asked for more shower gel and body moisturizer, I returned to my room to find a huge supply. When I asked for an extra bath towel one day, I usually found an extra two from then on! When our refrigerator wasn't keeping the ice cream cold enough, Earl, the amazing and talented handyman, brought in a different one--the same day. We loved walking across the street to the beautiful beach, which was clean, never crowded, and full of entertainment provided by kite surfers. A dip in the heated and immaculate pool after the beach was always welcome, and with so many delicious and affordable places to eat within walking distance, dinner was always easy and fun. We've vacationed in this lovely little village for years, and have stayed in or looked at most of the hotels in the area. We're not looking any further--the Away Inn is our new home away from home. In fact, we booked our same room for next February when we checked out yesterday! In fact, Dorothy told me that many guests are doing that now. I'm not surprised--why would anyone go anywhere else?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debbakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

This Inn was amazing to stay at. The staff were of great help and told us about all the great places to go and see, they seemed very family oriented. The rooms were very clean and all looked renovated.The pool was warm and sitting around it was very relaxing. Would recomend this Inn to anyone visiting Fort-Lauderdale and looking for a nice time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#11 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#10 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakaway Inn
Breakaway Inn
#14 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Key Inn
Coral Key Inn
#9 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Away Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Away Inn

Property: Away Inn
Address: 4653 N Ocean Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Away Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TravelClick, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Away Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Away Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing