We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visiting”
Review of Away Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Away Inn
parkland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“visiting”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for the good reviews,but you learn once you see for yourself, we had 2 roooms at this hotel we thought we were going to be together but we were seperated one room upstairs one downstairs, manager said she had no more rooms available.,We took the 2 rooms for the 5 night stay, there is no breakfast offered for the prices of these rooms, but what we experienced was not good we did not know there were 2 seperate staffs one for the weekday and one for the weekend we checked in the front desk staff was great jennifer was pleasant and funny but room service on thursday and friday was horrible we did not get our bed change we was told you only get clean sheets on monday and thursday which is something we never heard of and the housekeeper refused to change our linen even after we asked them for up and downstairs, but we realized on saturday there was a different staff who was more pleasant than the other 2 ladies through the week were, these 2 ladies on the weekend they changed our beds at our request they cleaned the room very well they also cleaned our tub which the other 2 did not they just changed out our towels and dump the trash, the cable kept going out we went to the office to see another new face her name was gail she was pleasant and called the mainteance man to come to our room he was there in no time to see what was the problem he said he had to get another box and will be right back,if you want good room service stay on the weekend, also the wifi is not that great, the manager yelled at us for having fun in the pool said we were to loud and you can't use the pool items thats in the bin so why have them out there,she made our stay uncomfortable of enjoying ourselves, jennifer and the weekend staff are great,the manager has a bad attitude we asked and was told her name is dorothy not a pleasant person, but hotel is cozy family oriented.service and cleanliness came from the weekend staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bridgette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    32
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Read the good reviews of this hotel so decided to stay here for 5 nights over 4th July Celebrations. We were not disapointed and wished we had booked for longer.

This hotel is small and friendly and positioned at the beter quieter end of Fort Lauderdale, where the beaches are quieter and free parking supplied. Unlike Fort Luaderdale where the hotels there charge for parking of you have to use the expensive pay and display machines. The beach is a short 2 minute walk across the road.

The room which had a small kitchen was very clean, modern and comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked with utensils, cuttlery etc and there was a supermarket across the road.

All the staff are very friendley and relaxed and there's even complimentry beach umbrellas, chairs and coolers for you to take to the beach. The whole building appears to be very well mainted unlike many other hotels.
There was also reliable super fast wirless internet in the rooms.

This hotel definately comes recommended.

Room Tip: The building is a u shape so all the rooms appear to face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We loved our stay there
nice heated pool. Walking distance to the ocean. stayed 2 nights would like to stay longer

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atticagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We just returned from a month at the Away Inn, and were happy to find everything as good or better than our 3-week stay last February. Dorothy continues to manage the inn and her staff with an eye to keeping the guests happy and unaware of all the work that goes on behind the scenes. The housekeepers (many of them remembered us from last winter and welcomed us back) did a great job when they cleaned our room every day, changing the sheets every Monday and Thursday. They were so accommodating. When I asked for more shower gel and body moisturizer, I returned to my room to find a huge supply. When I asked for an extra bath towel one day, I usually found an extra two from then on! When our refrigerator wasn't keeping the ice cream cold enough, Earl, the amazing and talented handyman, brought in a different one--the same day. We loved walking across the street to the beautiful beach, which was clean, never crowded, and full of entertainment provided by kite surfers. A dip in the heated and immaculate pool after the beach was always welcome, and with so many delicious and affordable places to eat within walking distance, dinner was always easy and fun. We've vacationed in this lovely little village for years, and have stayed in or looked at most of the hotels in the area. We're not looking any further--the Away Inn is our new home away from home. In fact, we booked our same room for next February when we checked out yesterday! In fact, Dorothy told me that many guests are doing that now. I'm not surprised--why would anyone go anywhere else?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debbakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This Inn was amazing to stay at. The staff were of great help and told us about all the great places to go and see, they seemed very family oriented. The rooms were very clean and all looked renovated.The pool was warm and sitting around it was very relaxing. Would recomend this Inn to anyone visiting Fort-Lauderdale and looking for a nice time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This was our first visit for my husband and I to Lauderdale by the Sea. We were booked at another motel for our stay, which upon arrival we were very unhappy with our initial accommodations. After the first night we went looking for another hotel to move to and we were very fortunate to come across the Away Inn. From the very beginning everything was right at the Away Inn! To begin, we met Robert at the front desk and he was extremely pleasant to work with. There was only one room left, a one bedroom efficiency which we gladly checked into. The spacious room was extremely clean, recently renovated with tasteful decor, and a fully equipped kitchen with a full size stove and refrigerator. We were relieved to be in a clean hotel but our stay continued to get better. The bed was very comfortable, there was a flat screen tv in both the living area and bedroom. Beautiful granite countertops are in the kitchen and bathroom sink area with plenty of counter space. There is also a table with comfortable seating for four. I never expected to cook on our vacation but the kitchen area was so clean and fully stocked that we had dinner in two nights. There is also a huge gas grill by the pool which we also used. My husband loved the heated pool after a day at the beach, which was just a short walk away with easy access. The pool area has a very large covered portico which shields you from the hot afternoon sun. The grounds are kept beautifully and during our stay the staff was busy keeping everything everything clean and running smoothly. I have to also mention how wonderful the general manager, Dorothy, was to us. She gave us so much information about the area and helped us out tremendously. I would highly recommend the Away Inn to anyone who will be visiting the Fort Lauderdale area, we are looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spindrift4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We've been vacationing in Lauderdale-by-the Sea every winter for many years, but this was our first stay at the Away Inn. We wish we'd found it sooner. Our efficiency room was spotless, the beds comfortable and had all new linens, the furniture was new, and the room was tastefully decorated. We loved our view of the pool, and many days enjoyed swimming in the heated pool after a day at the beach, which is literally across the street. Dorothy and her daughter were exceptionally accommodating at all times, as was the property caretaker and the two housekeepers. Anything we wanted or needed, we received promptly and with a smile. We've already booked our trip for next winter!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#13 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#17 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#14 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
378 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Away Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Away Inn

Property: Away Inn
Address: 4653 N Ocean Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Away Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Away Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Away Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing