We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Thanks”
Review of Sea Spray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Spray Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My frends[Best] stayed there over the holidays for a short time.I just found out this site so i could express my thanks,They especially want to thank the manager Richard for going the extra mile to make them feel right at home.Again Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for your friends. We very much enjoyed their company for a few months, and I'm so glad that we exceeded their needs. We are especially happy to hear that Richard made them feel like our motto, that they were in their "home away from home!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 142 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

I enjoyed a three month (Oct-Dec 2013) stay at the Sea Spray Inn and would highly recommend the Sea Spray for vacationers as well as business travelers looking for a short term, furnished rental. The location is excellent, guests are provided an assigned parking space, free wifi, a clean, fully furnished unit and a fabulous location. You are steps from the ocean, fishing pier, shops and restaurants and the town is very dog friendly. Richard, the property manager, is outstanding. He is very attentive, provides a weekly cleaning, and makes you feel like a welcome guest. I highly recommend the Sea Spray Inn and plan to stay there whenever I return to the Fort Lauderdale area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your extended stay with us, and that Richard provided you with excellent service, as that is our goal. It would be our pleasure to host you again someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently booked a room in March 2013 while my mom was in town, and Suzy was very accommodating, we both felt right at home.
I will definitely be back and recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing beach escape

Room Tip: great cross breeze on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wfajardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We very much appreciate your taking the time to write, and are glad that you and your mother were pleased with our property. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Recently completed one month's stay at the Sea Spray. Being on the ground floor was new to us and became an advantage we didn't realize; no lost elevator time! We had a small porch outside the door and a nice table in a beautiful garden setting where we ate breakfast every day and chatted with the walkers who passed along El Mar Drive. We made friends with other guests and will continue to be in contact with them in the future. There is also a similar courtyard in the back yard where our host provided a very nice wine and cheese party for the guests. We are walkers so we know the Sea Spray is the ONLY place the entire length of El Mar where you can sit in a garden in the front yard. The others have parking lots.

The inside was well appointed: comfy bed, nice shower, great pillows, AC and flat screen. The place was very clean and housekeeping was taken care of at our request. Free WiFi also.

We were exactly 243 steps from the beach and a town maintained portal. We didn't even need sandals to get there. We were given complimentary beach mats and beach chairs and towels to use.

The middle of town is a block away. Our car would remain in the lot for days at a time. We could walk to anything we needed.

Maybe the best part was Suzy, our host. She was always available to answer any questions and her laid back, pleasant demeanor made us feel right at home.

I may sound like I'm gushing, but if there is a better place to stay in a better place to be, I'd like to know where it is!

Thanks for everything Suzy and we hope to see you again next year.

Jodi and Bob Schmitt

Room Tip: Rooms 2,3 and 4 are one bedroom. Ours was a studio. I was fine for us, but if you need a bigger ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodiandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your month long stay with us, and that we may have exceeded your expectations. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to do so again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights at this small hotel in March 2013. The location is justr across the streat from the beach and the Sea Spray provides sand chairs for guests. Parking is provided, a necessity in LBTS. I will say that with the windows open this area is somewhat noisey in the early morning, being located a half block from A1A which is quite busy in LBTS. We stayed in unit #2 on the ground floor, which is exposed to the intersection of 2 streets and adjoins some sort of loud mechanical device that comes on each morning for about a minute at a time, but it is enough to preclude sleeping in past 8:30 AM. I suggest booking on the upper floors, away from the side street, unit 3 would be best. The apartment we used is a one bedroom unit, spacious enough and quite clean. Bed and furniture was comfortable.Kitchen has every possible utensile, dishes and bowls that I have ever seen in a small rental hotel in this area, where we have rented many times. However, it boggles the mind that there would be absolutely not one condiment to be had, not even salt and pepper! Most people that stay in these small hotels will cook some nights (as we do) especially if you are staying for more tan a few days. People tend to leave condiments behaind when they leave and mostly every place we have stayed leaves them for the next occupant. Also had issues with an ancient coffee maker (and it's replacement was even older and did not work) I finally just walked to the 7-11 at the corner and bought coffee. It seems this place is operated by the on-site owners who may be into economizing on some things like small appliances and broken window shades that could be replaced inexpensively. This is annoying to most people on vacation, hope they get the message. The owners should also consider adding icemakers to the refrigerators, instead of leaving empty plastic ice trays for guests to deal with. The bathroom and shower was a high point, with newer stone tiles and glaas blook wall. Very nice! All in all, a good stay that could have been great with a few minor updates. Would we stay ther again? Only if unit 1 or 3 were available.

Room Tip: Pick unit 1 (first floor) or 3 (second floor walkup)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CityBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us in March, and thank you for your positive comments. To address your concern specifically regarding providing salt & pepper, I have worked in the public health arena for decades, and the health and safety of our guests is paramount. As such, we provide NO condiments of any kind as they cannot be properly cleaned between guests. I can assure you that anything that is left over by previous guests is destroyed for health reasons - cleanliness is our highest priority and destroying any food or liquid items is part of that commitment. Regarding the noise, being on a corner we realize that can be an issue, however we did install impact resistant doors and windows in order to help mitigate it, and when they are closed it is usually very quiet in the rooms. As for other maintenance concerns, we try to take care of small things immediately, but we make most improvements during low season after May 1st, when there is more time to do so. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you back one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sea Spray Inn for the first time and were delighted with the experience right from the start. Suzy gave us a warm welcome and was very attentive and helpful throughout our 16-night stay--her interest in our comfort and well-being was genuine from beginning to end.

We stayed in the one bedroom apartment on the first floor which had all the creature comforts one could want and more--a surprisingly well-appointed kitchen with quality appliances, cookware and knives; lots of storage throughout the unit; a spacious closet with plenty of hangers; a very comfortable king-size bed accompanied by two well-placed reading lamps, and a TV in both the living room and bedroom which enabled my husband and me to watch our favorite shows. I also liked the plentiful supply of fluffy towels in the bathroom while my husband appreciated that each unit had an assigned parking spot.

The Sea Spray itself is on a great location--a short walk across the street to the beach, around the corner from the laundromat and close to the friendly block party atmosphere of the restaurants and stores of downtown. We enjoyed relaxing on the front porch whether sipping coffee or wine, watching people go by, or chatting with our new friends in the other units.

We have stayed at six other hotels in the Fort Lauderdale area over the past 8 years but none compare to the Sea Spray--in character, comfort, cleanliness, convenience and camaraderie.
We are looking forward to coming back next winter and understand why those we met there return year after year. You arrive as a guest and leave feeling like family--but without the drama!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your first stay with us at the Sea Spray Inn, and appreciate your taking the time to write. We are especially pleased that we have exceeded your expectations and you found our property to be the best you have visited in 8 years! That is quite a testament to our having successfully met your needs, and we hope to see you again someday in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just finished a 2 week stay at the lovely Sea Spray Inn. Overall, I am very happy with my stay. You cannot beat the location!! Just steps to the beach (with good snorkeling!) and a very short walk to the shops and dining area near the pier. The place is adorable! Sitting on the porch drinking coffee, we were the envy of everyone passing by. We stayed in two different rooms - each with all the amenities we needed (one kitchen did not have an oven, but for us, this was not an issue). Franz and Susan were amazingly nice and willing to help with whatever we needed.

I only have minor complaints: the Internet was free but fairly slow. When the place is at full capacity, you may run out of hot water. Also, maid service more frequently than once per week would be nice. But I nit pick...

Wir haben veil Spass gehabt. Vielen Dank!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Acjanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

We are so happy you chose the Sea Spray for your winter getaway and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you and your lovely family back again someday soon for some more snorkelng!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#8 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Cliff Resort
Sea Cliff Resort
#7 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#18 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Inn

Address: 4301 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5019
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: $142 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Spray Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful suites with ocean views are the highlights of this charming seaside inn. An intimate tropical atmosphere featuring immaculate accommodations and personal service make your stay here truly a "home away from home. "All suites have full kitchens; private balconies or patios with ocean views; and flat panel high definition TVs and cable service. Also included at NO EXTRA CHARGE is Wireless Internet; assigned, off street parking; weekly housekeeping service; and beach chairs and towels. We have no resort, parking, telephone or hidden charges - everything is included in the rate except 11% applicable taxes. We are proud to be a six time repeat "White Glove Award" winner from the Superior Small Lodging Association, representing outstanding commitment to cleanliness and guest service. Once you have been our guest once, you will definitely return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sea Spray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing