We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stellar service, great location,highly recommend”
Review of Sea Spray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Spray Inn
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stellar service, great location,highly recommend”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I enjoyed a three month (Oct-Dec 2013) stay at the Sea Spray Inn and would highly recommend the Sea Spray for vacationers as well as business travelers looking for a short term, furnished rental. The location is excellent, guests are provided an assigned parking space, free wifi, a clean, fully furnished unit and a fabulous location. You are steps from the ocean, fishing pier, shops and restaurants and the town is very dog friendly. Richard, the property manager, is outstanding. He is very attentive, provides a weekly cleaning, and makes you feel like a welcome guest. I highly recommend the Sea Spray Inn and plan to stay there whenever I return to the Fort Lauderdale area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your extended stay with us, and that Richard provided you with excellent service, as that is our goal. It would be our pleasure to host you again someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
63
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently booked a room in March 2013 while my mom was in town, and Suzy was very accommodating, we both felt right at home.
I will definitely be back and recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing beach escape

Room Tip: great cross breeze on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wfajardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We very much appreciate your taking the time to write, and are glad that you and your mother were pleased with our property. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frewsburg, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Recently completed one month's stay at the Sea Spray. Being on the ground floor was new to us and became an advantage we didn't realize; no lost elevator time! We had a small porch outside the door and a nice table in a beautiful garden setting where we ate breakfast every day and chatted with the walkers who passed along El Mar Drive. We made friends with other guests and will continue to be in contact with them in the future. There is also a similar courtyard in the back yard where our host provided a very nice wine and cheese party for the guests. We are walkers so we know the Sea Spray is the ONLY place the entire length of El Mar where you can sit in a garden in the front yard. The others have parking lots.

The inside was well appointed: comfy bed, nice shower, great pillows, AC and flat screen. The place was very clean and housekeeping was taken care of at our request. Free WiFi also.

We were exactly 243 steps from the beach and a town maintained portal. We didn't even need sandals to get there. We were given complimentary beach mats and beach chairs and towels to use.

The middle of town is a block away. Our car would remain in the lot for days at a time. We could walk to anything we needed.

Maybe the best part was Suzy, our host. She was always available to answer any questions and her laid back, pleasant demeanor made us feel right at home.

I may sound like I'm gushing, but if there is a better place to stay in a better place to be, I'd like to know where it is!

Thanks for everything Suzy and we hope to see you again next year.

Jodi and Bob Schmitt

Room Tip: Rooms 2,3 and 4 are one bedroom. Ours was a studio. I was fine for us, but if you need a bigger ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodiandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your month long stay with us, and that we may have exceeded your expectations. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to do so again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights at this small hotel in March 2013. The location is justr across the streat from the beach and the Sea Spray provides sand chairs for guests. Parking is provided, a necessity in LBTS. I will say that with the windows open this area is somewhat noisey in the early morning, being located a half block from A1A which is quite busy in LBTS. We stayed in unit #2 on the ground floor, which is exposed to the intersection of 2 streets and adjoins some sort of loud mechanical device that comes on each morning for about a minute at a time, but it is enough to preclude sleeping in past 8:30 AM. I suggest booking on the upper floors, away from the side street, unit 3 would be best. The apartment we used is a one bedroom unit, spacious enough and quite clean. Bed and furniture was comfortable.Kitchen has every possible utensile, dishes and bowls that I have ever seen in a small rental hotel in this area, where we have rented many times. However, it boggles the mind that there would be absolutely not one condiment to be had, not even salt and pepper! Most people that stay in these small hotels will cook some nights (as we do) especially if you are staying for more tan a few days. People tend to leave condiments behaind when they leave and mostly every place we have stayed leaves them for the next occupant. Also had issues with an ancient coffee maker (and it's replacement was even older and did not work) I finally just walked to the 7-11 at the corner and bought coffee. It seems this place is operated by the on-site owners who may be into economizing on some things like small appliances and broken window shades that could be replaced inexpensively. This is annoying to most people on vacation, hope they get the message. The owners should also consider adding icemakers to the refrigerators, instead of leaving empty plastic ice trays for guests to deal with. The bathroom and shower was a high point, with newer stone tiles and glaas blook wall. Very nice! All in all, a good stay that could have been great with a few minor updates. Would we stay ther again? Only if unit 1 or 3 were available.

Room Tip: Pick unit 1 (first floor) or 3 (second floor walkup)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CityBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us in March, and thank you for your positive comments. To address your concern specifically regarding providing salt & pepper, I have worked in the public health arena for decades, and the health and safety of our guests is paramount. As such, we provide NO condiments of any kind as they cannot be properly cleaned between guests. I can assure you that anything that is left over by previous guests is destroyed for health reasons - cleanliness is our highest priority and destroying any food or liquid items is part of that commitment. Regarding the noise, being on a corner we realize that can be an issue, however we did install impact resistant doors and windows in order to help mitigate it, and when they are closed it is usually very quiet in the rooms. As for other maintenance concerns, we try to take care of small things immediately, but we make most improvements during low season after May 1st, when there is more time to do so. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sea Spray Inn for the first time and were delighted with the experience right from the start. Suzy gave us a warm welcome and was very attentive and helpful throughout our 16-night stay--her interest in our comfort and well-being was genuine from beginning to end.

We stayed in the one bedroom apartment on the first floor which had all the creature comforts one could want and more--a surprisingly well-appointed kitchen with quality appliances, cookware and knives; lots of storage throughout the unit; a spacious closet with plenty of hangers; a very comfortable king-size bed accompanied by two well-placed reading lamps, and a TV in both the living room and bedroom which enabled my husband and me to watch our favorite shows. I also liked the plentiful supply of fluffy towels in the bathroom while my husband appreciated that each unit had an assigned parking spot.

The Sea Spray itself is on a great location--a short walk across the street to the beach, around the corner from the laundromat and close to the friendly block party atmosphere of the restaurants and stores of downtown. We enjoyed relaxing on the front porch whether sipping coffee or wine, watching people go by, or chatting with our new friends in the other units.

We have stayed at six other hotels in the Fort Lauderdale area over the past 8 years but none compare to the Sea Spray--in character, comfort, cleanliness, convenience and camaraderie.
We are looking forward to coming back next winter and understand why those we met there return year after year. You arrive as a guest and leave feeling like family--but without the drama!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your first stay with us at the Sea Spray Inn, and appreciate your taking the time to write. We are especially pleased that we have exceeded your expectations and you found our property to be the best you have visited in 8 years! That is quite a testament to our having successfully met your needs, and we hope to see you again someday in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just finished a 2 week stay at the lovely Sea Spray Inn. Overall, I am very happy with my stay. You cannot beat the location!! Just steps to the beach (with good snorkeling!) and a very short walk to the shops and dining area near the pier. The place is adorable! Sitting on the porch drinking coffee, we were the envy of everyone passing by. We stayed in two different rooms - each with all the amenities we needed (one kitchen did not have an oven, but for us, this was not an issue). Franz and Susan were amazingly nice and willing to help with whatever we needed.

I only have minor complaints: the Internet was free but fairly slow. When the place is at full capacity, you may run out of hot water. Also, maid service more frequently than once per week would be nice. But I nit pick...

Wir haben veil Spass gehabt. Vielen Dank!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Acjanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We are so happy you chose the Sea Spray for your winter getaway and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you and your lovely family back again someday soon for some more snorkelng!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saanich, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
377 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

When I was looking for a nice quiet spot for us to stay in and around Fort Lauderdale for a few days after arriving on a cruise ship, I checked hundreds of sites on Trip Advisor as I normally do. Lauderdale-by-the-Sea looked to us to be a quiet, relaxing area with lots of beach to walk on and a good base to also do some shopping. The Sea Spray Inn had exceptional reviews from a lot of guests who had stayed more than once. Based on the location and the reviews I booked with the Sea Spray.

We arrived by cab and were met by Franz, the owner, at the curb. He greeted us and took our luggage up to our room (number 4). As we did not have a car, he immediately offered to drive us to a local supermarket so that we could get some provisions for our stay, and we took him up on that offer. On the way he gave us a bit of a tour to familiarize us with the area. He dropped us off at Publix and arranged to pick us up about an hour later. By then we were feeling like we had really made the right decision to stay at the Sea Spray - great location and extremely helpful owner.

The hotel itself is quite small (7 rooms) but this is a real advantage as far as we are concerned - a nice quiet place where you are treated as people not as part of a herd. It is located right across the street (very easy to cross as there is a stop sign right in front of the hotel) from a marvelous sandy beach that stretches for miles in both directions. Our suite was a very clean unit that consisted of a bedroom, bathroom and combined kitchen/living room/dining room. There was also a very large walk-in closet that was great for storing all of our luggage and clothes. The kitchen was fully equipped with good quality dishes, cutlery and cooking equipment (not a lot of cheap stuff like you often find in hotels). The sheets and towels were also good quality. We had a wonderful sleep each night and woke up to beautiful views of the ocean from our front window and balcony. The balcony was a nice sunny spot for the first few hours of the day and later provided some shade for reading or just sitting.

The town of Lauderdale-by-the-Sea is only a short (2 blocks) walk from the Sea Spray and there you will find a few shops and restaurants. There are also many more restaurants and stores located only a short walk away. For those without cars, bus transportation is close and is easy to use.

The hotel itself is really nice and the location is also unbeatable but what made this vacation special for us was Franz. He went out of his way for us from the moment we arrived right up until we left. Our visit was not without a problem or two but, without going into details, the key point to be made is that these issues were addressed promptly by the Sea Spray, and one of them (phone service) was beyond their control entirely. It is difficult to imagine anyone who could be more responsive and apologetic than Franz. He did his utmost to look after us (provided a lovely teapot on request, loaned us his cell phone when the landline was being repaired, drove us all over town, chatted with us each day as if we were long-time friends and took us to the airport on our last day). You can never expect things to work out perfectly; all you can hope for is to stay at a place that treats its guest properly, and the Sea Spray did this for us in spades. As a result we would not hesitate in the least to return to the Sea Spray or to recommend it to anyone. Our only regret is that we did not stay long enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BCtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our property. As you indicated, we had a couple of "hiccups" during your stay, but we very much appreciated your patience and good cheer. We take great pride in our personal service, and are very happy that you were satisfied with our service, location and accommodations. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again some day soon at the Sea Spray Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#15 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Cliff Resort
Sea Cliff Resort
#6 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windjammer Resort
Windjammer Resort
#3 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Inn

Property: Sea Spray Inn
Address: 4301 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5019
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Spray Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful suites with ocean views are the highlights of this charming seaside inn. An intimate tropical atmosphere featuring immaculate accommodations and personal service make your stay here truly a "home away from home. "All suites have full kitchens; private balconies or patios with ocean views; and flat panel high definition TVs and cable service. Also included at NO EXTRA CHARGE is Wireless Internet; assigned, off street parking; weekly housekeeping service; and beach chairs and towels. We have no resort, parking, telephone or hidden charges - everything is included in the rate except 11% applicable taxes. We are proud to be a six time repeat "White Glove Award" winner from the Superior Small Lodging Association, representing outstanding commitment to cleanliness and guest service. Once you have been our guest once, you will definitely return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Spray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing