We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Find”
Review of Sea Spray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Spray Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sea Spray Inn for the first time and were delighted with the experience right from the start. Suzy gave us a warm welcome and was very attentive and helpful throughout our 16-night stay--her interest in our comfort and well-being was genuine from beginning to end.

We stayed in the one bedroom apartment on the first floor which had all the creature comforts one could want and more--a surprisingly well-appointed kitchen with quality appliances, cookware and knives; lots of storage throughout the unit; a spacious closet with plenty of hangers; a very comfortable king-size bed accompanied by two well-placed reading lamps, and a TV in both the living room and bedroom which enabled my husband and me to watch our favorite shows. I also liked the plentiful supply of fluffy towels in the bathroom while my husband appreciated that each unit had an assigned parking spot.

The Sea Spray itself is on a great location--a short walk across the street to the beach, around the corner from the laundromat and close to the friendly block party atmosphere of the restaurants and stores of downtown. We enjoyed relaxing on the front porch whether sipping coffee or wine, watching people go by, or chatting with our new friends in the other units.

We have stayed at six other hotels in the Fort Lauderdale area over the past 8 years but none compare to the Sea Spray--in character, comfort, cleanliness, convenience and camaraderie.
We are looking forward to coming back next winter and understand why those we met there return year after year. You arrive as a guest and leave feeling like family--but without the drama!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your first stay with us at the Sea Spray Inn, and appreciate your taking the time to write. We are especially pleased that we have exceeded your expectations and you found our property to be the best you have visited in 8 years! That is quite a testament to our having successfully met your needs, and we hope to see you again someday in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 142 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just finished a 2 week stay at the lovely Sea Spray Inn. Overall, I am very happy with my stay. You cannot beat the location!! Just steps to the beach (with good snorkeling!) and a very short walk to the shops and dining area near the pier. The place is adorable! Sitting on the porch drinking coffee, we were the envy of everyone passing by. We stayed in two different rooms - each with all the amenities we needed (one kitchen did not have an oven, but for us, this was not an issue). Franz and Susan were amazingly nice and willing to help with whatever we needed.

I only have minor complaints: the Internet was free but fairly slow. When the place is at full capacity, you may run out of hot water. Also, maid service more frequently than once per week would be nice. But I nit pick...

Wir haben veil Spass gehabt. Vielen Dank!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Acjanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

We are so happy you chose the Sea Spray for your winter getaway and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you and your lovely family back again someday soon for some more snorkelng!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

When I was looking for a nice quiet spot for us to stay in and around Fort Lauderdale for a few days after arriving on a cruise ship, I checked hundreds of sites on Trip Advisor as I normally do. Lauderdale-by-the-Sea looked to us to be a quiet, relaxing area with lots of beach to walk on and a good base to also do some shopping. The Sea Spray Inn had exceptional reviews from a lot of guests who had stayed more than once. Based on the location and the reviews I booked with the Sea Spray.

We arrived by cab and were met by Franz, the owner, at the curb. He greeted us and took our luggage up to our room (number 4). As we did not have a car, he immediately offered to drive us to a local supermarket so that we could get some provisions for our stay, and we took him up on that offer. On the way he gave us a bit of a tour to familiarize us with the area. He dropped us off at Publix and arranged to pick us up about an hour later. By then we were feeling like we had really made the right decision to stay at the Sea Spray - great location and extremely helpful owner.

The hotel itself is quite small (7 rooms) but this is a real advantage as far as we are concerned - a nice quiet place where you are treated as people not as part of a herd. It is located right across the street (very easy to cross as there is a stop sign right in front of the hotel) from a marvelous sandy beach that stretches for miles in both directions. Our suite was a very clean unit that consisted of a bedroom, bathroom and combined kitchen/living room/dining room. There was also a very large walk-in closet that was great for storing all of our luggage and clothes. The kitchen was fully equipped with good quality dishes, cutlery and cooking equipment (not a lot of cheap stuff like you often find in hotels). The sheets and towels were also good quality. We had a wonderful sleep each night and woke up to beautiful views of the ocean from our front window and balcony. The balcony was a nice sunny spot for the first few hours of the day and later provided some shade for reading or just sitting.

The town of Lauderdale-by-the-Sea is only a short (2 blocks) walk from the Sea Spray and there you will find a few shops and restaurants. There are also many more restaurants and stores located only a short walk away. For those without cars, bus transportation is close and is easy to use.

The hotel itself is really nice and the location is also unbeatable but what made this vacation special for us was Franz. He went out of his way for us from the moment we arrived right up until we left. Our visit was not without a problem or two but, without going into details, the key point to be made is that these issues were addressed promptly by the Sea Spray, and one of them (phone service) was beyond their control entirely. It is difficult to imagine anyone who could be more responsive and apologetic than Franz. He did his utmost to look after us (provided a lovely teapot on request, loaned us his cell phone when the landline was being repaired, drove us all over town, chatted with us each day as if we were long-time friends and took us to the airport on our last day). You can never expect things to work out perfectly; all you can hope for is to stay at a place that treats its guest properly, and the Sea Spray did this for us in spades. As a result we would not hesitate in the least to return to the Sea Spray or to recommend it to anyone. Our only regret is that we did not stay long enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BCtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property. As you indicated, we had a couple of "hiccups" during your stay, but we very much appreciated your patience and good cheer. We take great pride in our personal service, and are very happy that you were satisfied with our service, location and accommodations. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again some day soon at the Sea Spray Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

It must be our 6th or 7th stay at the Sea Spray Inn, and we keep coming back! The inn is just across the road from the beach and offers well-appointed rooms and kitchens with all the conveniences ones could wish for, friendly atmosphere yet plenty of privacy. We have known the owners for some years now, and they have always been very attentive to us the returning guests, adding nice touches to our stay. Carroll, the Manager, has been great in all the respects! We are still here, enjoying our relaxing beach vacation and are looking forward to coming back again some time soon.

Room Tip: Over the years, we have stayed at all the rooms: efficiency, 1 bedrooms and the upper floor suite, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

What a nice surprise that you took the time to write a review before you even left! We have enjoyed your company each year and hope to contunue to host you every April for the forseeable future! Thank you for your lovely comments and we wish you a wonderful summer in Switzerland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Sea Spray Inn!

SERVICE: After reading many reviews of nightmarish service at hotels in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, we chose the Inn because of the rave reviews of the manager. We were not let down! Carroll (the property manager) was a delight and made us feel welcome for the entire week.

LOCATION: The Inn is literally across the street from the beach. I was worried it would be a hassle to lug everything to and from the beach (I'm a big fan of oversized beach bags, bringing coolers to the beach, etc.), but it is such a short walk! Also the road you have to cross is a very easy one--Google maps made it look like it was a large road, but it actually has a four-way stop right in front of the Inn and we never had any trouble crossing. The Inn is also a VERY short walk from the downtown area of L-B-T-S, which has lots of nice restaurants and ice cream shops. (Do yourself a favor and give Jojo's Tacos a try. It's around the corner from the main square, but it was by far the best meal we had on our trip!)

ROOMS: We stayed in Unit #1, which is on the ground floor. It is a great size for a couple. We had everything we needed in the kitchen, except paper towels/paper products. I think most people stay longer-term at the Inn; we were there such a short while that we did not buy any, but that is easily fixable. The Inn is definitely not brand new, but it has a lot of character. There were a few minor flaws (some of the baseboards appear to be missing in the hallways) but nothing that made the room unpleasant.

SLEEP QUALITY: We actually had a bit of trouble sleeping most nights - probably a combination of being somewhere new, and the fact that if you want to sleep with the windows open (it was very pleasant during the evenings), you'll hear every little passerby on the street, not to mention the constant clicking of the blinds. After two nights of that we gave up and used the air conditioner at night. Much better sleep then!

There is no pool, but you really don't need one with the beach right there! The Inn provides beach chairs (though they're not chaises, they do the job), free Wifi which worked great (we didn't use our laptops too much, but it was nice to be able to reload my Kindle on the network!), and assigned parking. Really great amenities.

We will definitely consider the Inn when we plan our next beach vacation, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a casual, really enjoyable stay at a beachside Inn!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room at the Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustALawStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasprayinn4245, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Sea Spray service and amenities, and hope to see you back again for your next getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The Sea Spray Inn was wonderful, comfortable and clean. Totally relaxing and in a perfect location to walk to shops, restaurants, drug stores and the grocery. Locals in the area are friendly and security in LBTS was very good. Carol was a great hostess and provided anything requested and went above and beyond. I stayed a month and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwendolyn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

We appreciate your taking the time to write Gwen! It was a pleasure having you here for the month and we are glad that you enjoyed your summer getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The Sea Spray in is your perfect get away!! Location, location location...what more can I say. It's directly across the street from the beach and a very short walking distance to restaruants and shops. Carroll the Inn keeper is amazing. She's there to make your stay the best it can be; who could ask for better customer service. The units are very nice accomadations with everything you need; and the bedding and linens are not your normal hotel quality---quite upscaled from what you normally get. I'm a travel snob going all over the world for my work and I have to say I was pleasantly surprise with this little inn.....so much so that I stayed the whole month and it felt like home! I will definately be back! Thanks for such a great time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect location and equally as nice....of course the if you can afford it the Pen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotlan_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

We are so glad you decided to extend your stay with us and that you have enjoyed your getaway at the Sea Spray. It has been a pleasure to host you and are very happy that the Sea Spray provided the break you were looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#9 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Cliff Resort
Sea Cliff Resort
#7 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#18 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#21 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Inn

Address: 4301 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5019
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: $142 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Spray Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful suites with ocean views are the highlights of this charming seaside inn. An intimate tropical atmosphere featuring immaculate accommodations and personal service make your stay here truly a "home away from home. "All suites have full kitchens; private balconies or patios with ocean views; and flat panel high definition TVs and cable service. Also included at NO EXTRA CHARGE is Wireless Internet; assigned, off street parking; weekly housekeeping service; and beach chairs and towels. We have no resort, parking, telephone or hidden charges - everything is included in the rate except 11% applicable taxes. We are proud to be a six time repeat "White Glove Award" winner from the Superior Small Lodging Association, representing outstanding commitment to cleanliness and guest service. Once you have been our guest once, you will definitely return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sea Spray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing