We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved every minute of our stay”
Review of Sea Spray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Spray Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved every minute of our stay”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was my first stay at the Sea Spray Inn (6 weeks) and if felt like home. The view is remarkable, accross the street from the beach. The Inn is clean and quiet. Best of all is Carroll The property Manager, she insured that our every need was met. The Sea Spray Inn will always be my home away from home!
Carla Monroe 2011

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carla_d_monroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Thank you so much Carla. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family and we hope to see you again some day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
67
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

For eight years now, we have vacationed at the Sea Spray Inn and have thoroughly enjoyed our stays there.

The Inn is very clean, comfortable, and its location across the street from the beach is ideal.

At the Sea Spray Inn, southern hospitality is not just a catchphrase. Friendly, thoughtful and gracious, Franz and Susan go above and beyond to make their guests feel welcome and ensure that their needs are met.

So many examples of their attention to detail come to mind, but one in particular stands out. During one visit, I came down with the flu and felt poorly. When Franz found out, he left to get some of his homemade chicken soup to help me feel better. Since he is an accomplished chef, I can tell you that the soup was the absolute best I have ever (or since) eaten.

After only one visit, we felt that the Sea Spray Inn was indeed our “home away from home” thanks to the warm welcome we received.

We’ll be back in a few months, and are looking forward to staying at the beautiful Sea Spray Inn once again. It will be a pleasure to see Franz and Susan again, along with their on-site manager, Carroll, who also embodies the spirit of southern hospitality and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review and comments! It was our pleasure to provide you with that "little extra" to help make you feel better during your illness. We really appreciate your loyalty and so look forward to seeing you each year. It won't be long now until we will be seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The location and staff are execllent! I really lucked out this time. This winter, when I'm back in Colorado, on the slopes of Vail and Aspen, I'll tell friends and family where they MUST stay in the Lt. Lauderdale area.

"Tchuss"

Allen Salzmann
Golden, Colorado

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and promise to advertise us in Colorado Allen! It was great having you here and we certainly hope you return someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We had a wonderful stay. The host, Carroll, is wonderful and gracious. We loved the location, local night life, and laid-back neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFLLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Thank you very much! It was a pleasure having you here for your weekend getaway, and we hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Our visit to LBTS was absolutely enjoyable thanks to the Sea Spray Inn, Franz and his staff. Our suite was immaculate, and the location excellent, right across the street from the beach in a quiet area away from the high rises and noise, yet an easy walk to restaurants, shops, Franz is an exceptional host - - always has his guests in mind. I enjoyed his jovial outgoing nature and stories. During our second visit to LBTS, we were disappointed to say the least that the Sea Spray was all booked up; Franz made arrangements for us to stay at a different hotel/inn (which didn't compare to the Sea Spray) and even had a bottle of wine delivered to our room there. I recommend the Sea Spray in a heartbeat..And Franz is a gem.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bette072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANZELF, Owner at Sea Spray Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind words and recommendation! We do hope to host you again someday soon at the Sea Spray Inn when you next visit Lauderdale by the Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2009

My fiance and I stayed here for vacation summer of 07 - it was so great, we try to plan a trip back every year and stay in this same hotel! Amazing experience, rooms were clean beautiful, and within walking distance to restaurants and the beach.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjs97b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Sea Spray Inn was wonderful. Sorry we only stayed one night. Our host, Franz, was like family. He helped us with our bags and brought us beach towels and chairs to use. Comfortable beds and pillows! I will definitely stay there if I am in the area again.

Helpful?
2 Thank obxrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.6 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#13 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Cliff Resort
Sea Cliff Resort
#7 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#17 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Inn

Property: Sea Spray Inn
Address: 4301 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5019
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Spray Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful suites with ocean views are the highlights of this charming seaside inn. An intimate tropical atmosphere featuring immaculate accommodations and personal service make your stay here truly a "home away from home. "All suites have full kitchens; private balconies or patios with ocean views; and flat panel high definition TVs and cable service. Also included at NO EXTRA CHARGE is Wireless Internet; assigned, off street parking; weekly housekeeping service; and beach chairs and towels. We have no resort, parking, telephone or hidden charges - everything is included in the rate except 11% applicable taxes. We are proud to be a six time repeat "White Glove Award" winner from the Superior Small Lodging Association, representing outstanding commitment to cleanliness and guest service. Once you have been our guest once, you will definitely return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Sea Spray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing