We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pulled Pork In Tampa Bay”
Review of Smokin Rib Shack - CLOSED

Smokin Rib Shack
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Pulled Pork In Tampa Bay”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Best pulled pork in Tampa Bay period. Fantastic home made sauce. Not sure about the bad reviews...Baked beans and potato salad are great...I travel extensively for work and have BBQ all over. Top five nationwide.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christosintpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    14
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You know when you got something good!”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Excellent BBQ! I prefer eating ribs at home so we always get this to takeout. Excellent taste, huge portions, and good pricing. These guys know good BBQ! Only disadvantage for some would be small indoor eating.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mirken05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ at a good price”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I had a chicken and ribs combo and it was good quality BBQ at a decent price, not the best I've ever had (A&R in Memphis or even dry rub ribs at Red Hot and Blue) but the best I've had in the Tampa area.

Definitely a bit of a dive place, but friendly service and good food so not complaints.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach, FL
1 review
“We love it!”
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Moved to Florida 5 years ago, found this place two years ago and we LOVE it. The potato salad is awesome, the baked beans incredible. We usually order the ribs, last night we switched it up a bit and got the combo ribs and chicken. Couldn't stop eating it!! Everythig is delicious! I actually liked the chicken more than the ribs now, my husband still liked the ribs, but ate some the the chicken and he enjoyed both! I agree the place is a shack as it's name, but the food they turn out is incredible!! The guys that work there are great! Thank you guys for the great food and friendly service!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jordinsgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Southern BBQ at its BEST!”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

When I want some serious Q, this is where to go! This is down home southern BBQ fare at its best. The food is awesome and their sides you won't find in any franchise chain. Its taken a long time to find potato salad this good. They run out of it which shows you how good it is!
I must admit it does lack in ambiance and I normally pick it up to go. Its fantastic for picnics or a quiet dinner at home.
Do yourself a favor. Pick up a bottle of Johnny Macks homemade BBQ sauce while you are there!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobclar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin Rib Shack also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing