We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turtle Park”

McGough Nature Park
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed January 19, 2017

Great place to see rescued big birds like owls, hawks, and even a bald eagle. the turtle pond is a great place to go and feed them. There is a beautiful Alligator snapper in there as well, watch ya fingas.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank MickNick1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"turtle pond"
in 18 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 17 reviews
"turtle food"
in 10 reviews
"zip line"
in 7 reviews
"intracoastal waterway"
in 5 reviews
"hidden gem"
in 13 reviews
"small playground"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 9 reviews
"function room"
in 2 reviews
"great turtle"
in 2 reviews
"red tailed hawk"
in 2 reviews
"community garden"
in 2 reviews
"american bald eagle"
in 2 reviews
"indian rocks beach"
in 4 reviews
"inside the building"
in 2 reviews
"overlooking the water"
in 2 reviews
"great trails"
in 2 reviews
Filter

63 - 67 of 109 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2016

This was such a nice surprise to find not far from our Indian Rocks beach visit. Sometimes its nice to breakaway from the sandy beaches and amusement parks and do something very different and this nature walk was just perfect.

This lovely nature park is home to a large population of turtles as well as some Florida birds of Prey enclosures and a butterfly garden.

There is a playground and you can rent canoes and kayaks. There is a small nature education center with all types of exhibits and friendly staff to answer questions. There are also restrooms onsite.

A very long well-maintained boardwalk meanders throughout the mangroves and hammocks - giving you a real sense of what Florida is all about. Sounds, smells and wildlife sightings make you feel like you are miles away from the beach when you are only a few minutes away.

One of the walkways leads you out to a inter coastal body of water (I believe) area surrounded by homes. You can watch large and small boats sailing and even fishing. An abundance of wildlife all around - Just lovely and breathtaking.

Its fun to visit all of the tourist sights of Florida - but many times visitors to Florida miss out on the natural beauty tucked away in places like this. Make it part of your visit to the Largo/Indian Rocks Beach area to stop by and treat yourself to this amazing place - and its FREE of charge.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank fltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Really good paths. If you want to see the animals (except outdoor turtles) avoid Mondays. My highlight had to be a close encounter with the 8yo python. Huge smile on my face!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016

My friend took me here. We saw many birds who had had some type of injury and could not be returned to the wild. So they live a nice life at this place. You can get up close to many of the birds when they are being fed or being taken for a walk around the grounds by volunteers. We saw a Bald Eagle, two Great Horned owls being fed lunch in front of us, and we saw two screech owls being taken outside for a walk around the grounds. It's a nice place that cares for our wildlife.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Great park with opportunity to see bald eagle, owls, hawks outside of cages with handlers. Super turtle viewing area

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Wendel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McGough Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing