We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McGough Nature Park
Save
Review Highlights
Franklin The Owl

A visit to my then living Uncle Frank, and Aunt took us here to this gorgeous Sanctuary habitate of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
IrishStep
,
Aurora, Colorado
Great for Nature Trails but Not for a Picnic

Since Covid-19 we started going to different area parks for either a walk, picnic or both. This... read more

Reviewed July 4, 2020
William W
,
St. Petersburg, Florida
Read all 151 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Largo
from $32.00
More Info
from $20.26
More Info
from $550.00
More Info
from $650.00
More Info
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
112
35
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
112
35
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turtle pond birds of prey zip line turtle food intracoastal waterway hidden gem small playground great turtle community garden indian rocks beach all ages watch the boats walked out nice morning marine life rescued animals inside the building
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 151 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2016

This was such a nice surprise to find not far from our Indian Rocks beach visit. Sometimes its nice to breakaway from the sandy beaches and amusement parks and do something very different and this nature walk was just perfect.

This lovely nature park is home to a large population of turtles as well as some Florida birds of Prey enclosures and a butterfly garden.

There is a playground and you can rent canoes and kayaks. There is a small nature education center with all types of exhibits and friendly staff to answer questions. There are also restrooms onsite.

A very long well-maintained boardwalk meanders throughout the mangroves and hammocks - giving you a real sense of what Florida is all about. Sounds, smells and wildlife sightings make you feel like you are miles away from the beach when you are only a few minutes away.

One of the walkways leads you out to a inter coastal body of water (I believe) area surrounded by homes. You can watch large and small boats sailing and even fishing. An abundance of wildlife all around - Just lovely and breathtaking.

Its fun to visit all of the tourist sights of Florida - but many times visitors to Florida miss out on the natural beauty tucked away in places like this. Make it part of your visit to the Largo/Indian Rocks Beach area to stop by and treat yourself to this amazing place - and its FREE of charge.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank fltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Really good paths. If you want to see the animals (except outdoor turtles) avoid Mondays. My highlight had to be a close encounter with the 8yo python. Huge smile on my face!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016

My friend took me here. We saw many birds who had had some type of injury and could not be returned to the wild. So they live a nice life at this place. You can get up close to many of the birds when they are being fed or being taken for a walk around the grounds by volunteers. We saw a Bald Eagle, two Great Horned owls being fed lunch in front of us, and we saw two screech owls being taken outside for a walk around the grounds. It's a nice place that cares for our wildlife.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Great park with opportunity to see bald eagle, owls, hawks outside of cages with handlers. Super turtle viewing area

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Wendel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Free adventure in Largo. The indoor part is closed on Mondays. We had plenty to see and do. We loved the turtles and took a ton of pictures. Nice trail to hike; some paved, some shelled. Picnic areas and the playground are very nice. They sit near restrooms. The caged birds can be seen behind the information center.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Bob19512014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews