We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Shape in years”
Review of East Bay Golf Club

East Bay Golf Club
Ranked #5 of 12 Outdoor Activities in Largo
Attraction details
Largo, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Shape in years”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Love this layout, and in the best shape in many years. New ownership has really improved greens. Best value and always friendly staff. Check it out

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Scot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    6
    3
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Much Improved Greens”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Played 18 solo today. I think it was $26 with Cart and GPS. Gorgeous hot day with a little breeze. I think I was 1 of ten on the course this Monday afternoon. Course is much green with the rains. They purchased a green roller so they are in much better condition.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beechjetdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ripped Off”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We play this course all the time but yesterday we went after work like we have been doing lately and paid for 18 holes. We were told to play the front nine twice since there was a golf league on the back nine. We made it through the front nine by about 7pm and teed off at the first hole again to start our second round. While halfway to the green on the first hole we noticed they were picking up the flags. We went back to the starter (Dick Carter) to see what was going on. He stated they have to pull the pins before dark. We explained to Dick Carter that there was still over an hour of sunlight left and we paid for 18 holes. He made some rude remark and ignored us and walked away. At this time there was nobody in the pro shop to talk to about it like maybe the guy that we paid for 18 holes. Because of Dick Carter, we will not be going back. I am very upset that we won't be back as we played there atleast 4 times in the last two weeks. There are too many other courses in the area that will gladly take our business and treat us better. Thanks Dick Carter

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very unwelcoming”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked this golf course through golf now.com whilst on holiday in treasure island for 3 players I myself am a non golfer but usually ride with the 3 players, on arrival at the pro shop to check in we were greeted by an abrupt attitude from pro shop worker who pointed out we had payed for 3 and he could see 4 people said we would need to pay $15 dollars for a rider in a very rude manner,we pointed out we have never been asked to do this anywhere else but payed. Once outside the starter was even more abrupt don't know which charm school they went too but they were robbed!!The golf took 4hrs 45 minutes to complete.this isn't a golf course we would recommend there are a lot more friendly places in the area

Helpful?
1 Thank minnieDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Gem in Largo.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very reasonable rates for a challenging course. 18 good holes, some challenging some not so. some of the course is flanked by water with Sphagnum moss covered live oaks. The drought in Florida has really taken its toll on the less expensive courses and some of East Bay's greens are in poor shape and crabby. GPS on Golf Carts. Friendly staff, for the most part. Playing after noon will get you a discount. Easy online reservation system.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beechjetdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Bay Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to East Bay Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing