We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Sweet Tomatoes”
Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
Ranked #7 of 294 Restaurants in Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Description: Sweet Tomatoes features made-from-scratch soups and salads and handcrafted muffins, Focaccia, breads, and desserts. The menu is built around freshly made, great-tasting, wholesome recipes with a 55-foot salad bar full of fresh, seasonal vegetables and tossed salads prepared exhibition-style every 20 minutes. Sweet Tomatoes provides its guests with an excellent value by offering unlimited access to its entire menu of high quality fresh items at a fixed price.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love Sweet Tomatoes”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had been in Clearwater for our grandsons wedding.There was 13 of us who went to Sweet Tomatoes on north 19.We had very good food and plenty of it.Love the soups,salads,breads and desserts.Will go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandraDavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    95
    41
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fresh Salad and Soup”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Top of the line in freshness. So many fresh vegetables and home made soup. Also, fresh muffins and breads. Make your own dessert.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Right idea but....”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I like the idea of this place because it seemed to put a healthy spin on the usual all-you-can-eat obesity feasts we normally see in the South.

It has some good features- I like the shredded beets, radishes, squash- things you don't always get in a salad bar.

But where I was disappointed was the lack of vegan options and labeling. Labeling their items also helps people with allergies and other dietary restrictions. But to be truly healthy, they would need a lot less cheese/butter/milk in their items. I probably won't go back unless they offered more vegan options.

I also wish they offered more organic ingredients. I know that will add to the expense, but you can selectively pick which foods it makes the most sense to buy organic (greens, fruits/veg where you eat the skins, etc.) and keep costs fairly low.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Salad Bar With Variety”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went there 2 times during an 8 day stay in Florida and found it very good and very easy to find something our grand children could find and enjoy. We make it a must do place to visit for lunch every time we visit Florida. The quality and variety is awesome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gator9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Salad Bar”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The consistancy is not there anymore. Sometime the soups are good and other times not so much. They need to make sure the cooks follow the recipe and don't just make soups by memory and not measure. The hot pasta dishes are terrible. But if your love a salad bar with lots of selections this is what this place offers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tellingasiseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tomatoes also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing