We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Largo Cares About Their Park”
Review of Largo Central Park

Largo Central Park
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Largo Cares About Their Park”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A reviewers review of what it is...

• A great place for kids and adults as well since the park is next door to the Cultural Center.

• Exceptionally well kept grounds and exhibits and seasonal displays like at Christmas are unique. Parking is easy.

• It is wheelchair accessible, there are security fences, police do patrol there and in the children's section, the kids playground equipment, is well enclosed.

• The Largo Military Memorial in the park was built by two Largo businessmen to commemorate the work and sacrifice of our servicemen. One of whom was my mentor, Mr. Richard Leandri aka the Godfather of the Army Rangers. He is well acknowledged at FT. Benning, Ga. It represents Largos commitment to the Armed Forces and is featured once a year at the park, Veterans day etc. one of the first Memorials of it's kind.

• The Largo kids train rides are for kids and adult train lovers alike. They (the train club) are well known for their expertise in miniature trains throughout the country. Built to scale and they run on real fuel. Scale miles of track and switches are artfully woven through the park

• For special events/times and some more information see Largo's web page. They have year long, plays, concerts, comedy shows, you name it, something for most.

• There is always something doing there in the park, concerts, clown day, and the bottom line is the park is:


SAFE for Children, GOOD environment, NICE Kids with Parents watching, and WELL maintained. The park is a credit to the city. I take the little grand ones there whenever I can.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aljacobs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    61
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Adults Too!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

As most reviews state;it is a great place for Kids.(I do disagree with "The Merry-Go-Round Issue!!") Many of us "Older and Younger Adults" love to just go there and walk around and RELAX. The "Grounds" are always kept in a beautiful state.(Mowed/No Garbage scattered/Etc.) Besides "The Park",there is "The Cultural Center"(nearby) which offers Fantastic Venues at very affordable prices!!! Places like this make us happy to live in Largo!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leon47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well groomed community Park”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This City Park makes locals proud. With beautifully landscaped grounds encircled with paved sidewalks prefect for walking or a wheelchair. A variety of areas around the park offer statutes, open grassy play spaces, a Veterans Memorial area, kids playground equipment, kiddie train rides for special events/times and some mature treed portions for shade and squirrel perches. I toured my Father around in his wheelchair on a sunny, but cool Autumn afternoon and he thoroughly enjoyed the outing and variety. Our family counts walking the paths for Christmas Holiday seasonal light display as a tradition and great way to work off those over-indulgent Holiday meals and desserts and we really look forward to it. It is a city park and while it is a good size, it is bordered on two sides by major city streets. Our experience is only occassionally distracted by street noise and when we neared the street-side pathways or displays. I love this park and Largo and it's residents are surely proud.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Markboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well desinged and fairly safe palyground”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The playground is well laid out for children of all ages. It has secure fencing and is located within a larger park so it is well insulated from motor traffic. The only drawback is the merry-go-round. It is dangerous and should be removed. My husband and I have both had to rescue small children who were thrown off or fell while trying to get on the equipment. Much larger children spin the merry-go-round at top speed and small ones who fall off can easily become trampled. I will not allow my grandchildren to go on it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank thedoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful family centric park...”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The best in the Tampa Bay area. Period. The free train rides run the first weekend of the month. This is a special treat for kid and worth the look.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Largo Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing