We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to see room first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tampa Bay Extended Stay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Largo
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The rooms are old and worn out. The fridge will not keep the food very cold, and they are too small for anyone staying more than a day or two. They will not make ice in the freezer.
I have stayed in other Suburbans, and these rooms are half the size, for the same or a little more money. If you walk barefooted in the room your feet will be black on the bottom.
They claim to have remodeled rooms, but they won't give you one if your staying more than a day or two.
Look for a coupon to Homestead down the road, and for thirty dollars more per week, you will be much happier.

Room Tip: If you stay here, don't get a room near a staircase or ice machine.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doak W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Tampa Bay Extended Stay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 55 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had booked this place so we could be close to the International Aviation Academy. This is not the place to stay if that is your goal, or for any other reason. First off, the desk clerk was clearly either not prepared to be a customer service oriented person or was having an off night but her demeanor when checking us in was less than friendly. Once we were in our room, we could hardly breath due to the stench of mold that was very present. We tried moving to another room, but by that point we had gotten a load of the clientele in this place and it either was an open-door policy amongst many who had befriended themselves and were now sharing space or a half-way house for those either entering or exiting rehab. I'm not kidding, run, do not walk if you happen to mistakeningly book this place sight unseen.

Room Tip: There are no tips except to leave as soon as possible. Do not pass Go, do not collect $$'s.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UPSnoFn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The room was dirty, there were bugs in the room, and the walls were paper thin. Great room for transients, not for the business traveler or family. I ended up leaving at 2 in the morning to find another hotel due to the adjoining room's all night partying...

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darlakt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This propery has the fastest internet access of any hotel in America I have stayed at. The rooms include kitchens with stove, microwave, refrigerator and pots, pans and cutlery. Housekeeping only provided once a week. I did not interact with any other guests. The front desk and housekeeping personnel are all first rate. The staff resolves problems quickly. The rate are reasonable. In addition to the internet HBO is available and local phone calls are free. I highly recommend this property for anyone visiting the Largo/Clearwater/Pinellas Park/St Petursburg Area.

Room Tip: Ground Floor please.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DIxiehollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

When I first gave Suburban Lodge my business (in 2010) I was treated very nicely, and was given a decent room. Went back several times and even stayed up to three weeks within any given month.
Then about a year ago, I needed to rent a room for about a week. The desk person was very nice and had a room ready that was cleaned and ready to go. How do I know? He checked.
But then he got a phone call from someone in housekeeping named Yolanda. The conversation between him and her were very easy to pick up on. She asked if the 'customer' was in the lobby and the desk person said 'yes'. Then he looked perplexed and sad ok and hung up. Well...
here comes 'Yolanda' and takes a peek into the lobby and there I am in all my glory - tote bad, hair mussed from the humid weather and basically looking withered. That was all that 'Yolanda' needed to see. And get what??? They gave me a different room from the one the desk person was going to give me. Yep, you guessed it!!! The worst room for 'Ms. Bag Lady'. Happened two more times - thanks to Yolanda the second time, the third time was probably a red flag under my name/folio. I'm stereo-typed/judged. True story.

Room Tip: Where a formal gown, a suit, and rent a limo. Oh by the way...the place isn't the Taj Mahal.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hilda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Don't know what the other reviews were about but this place is terrible. It's the first time Trip Advisor has let me down. The room stinks of hooker sweat (or dead body, not sure which). Filthy bedding and room, looks like it has not been washed in a month. Look like crack addicts covered in tattoos standing on the balconies drinking beer in their bath towels.

The sign at checkin says "No Sex Offenders Can Stay Here", and they ask for your ID to do a background check.

There is a 3 inch circle cut in the carpet between the beds. Think that is where the stripper pole used to be.

TV didn't work but didn't even bother asking about it.

The area is terrible too.

Probably the worst hotel I have stayed in, in a very long time. Might be ok for a trucker looking for a shower but that's about it.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank riprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Good place to flop in and get out fast. Gotta wonder what smell they were trying to hide with that machine. Wi-fi is free though and it has a kitchenette. The whole room smells like one of those urinal cakes. I had to unplug it. Sickeningly sweet mint smell. Yuck.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marconilemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largo
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Largo
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#59 of 98 in Clearwater
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater East - Icot Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Bay Extended Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Bay Extended Stay Hotel

Address: 6500 Ulmerton Road, Largo, FL 33771-4940 (Formerly Suburban Extended Stay Largo-Clearwater)
Location: United States > Florida > Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Largo
Price Range: $54 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tampa Bay Extended Stay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an Extended Stay Hotel. All of our rooms are studio efficiency and include a kitchen with a two burner stovetop, microwave, dorm size refridgederator, coffee maker, pan & pans and dinnerware. We offer free highspeed wireless internet, local & long distance phone calls (Within the USA and Canada) as well as Spectrum cable television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Tampa Bay Extended Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Largo-Clearwater Hotel Largo
Extended Stay Largo
Largo Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing