We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the trick and free breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Needed to spend time with people visiting with a dog, place was nice and did the trick. Clean room, comfortable bed, guest without guest are on separate floor and don't even know they are in the same hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kflan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavara S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Fkg331,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding our property and pet policy. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you again,

Tavara S.
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 231 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel has several pros and cons. More pros than cons. My friend came in from out of town to visit her mother at a nearby hospital and she booked a suite at this hotel for two nights.... Being from the area I knew the hotel was relatively new and Holiday Inns have nice comfortable suites, but I warned her that is was not a great choice of hotels (because of the neigborhood) considering everything our area has to offer.

If you are here on business and need to be in this area, it is a great hotel. If you are visiting family who live nearby the hotel, its great. but if you are here with children to visit the beach and do all the touristy things you may want to stay somewhere closer to the beach....this hotel is not for you.

The pros are: it is a clean spacious suite. They offer free coffee and juice (there was breakfast offered, but not the type of food I would ingest, bland and instant looking food) the staff is very nice and very helpful. Housekeeping is friendly and do a great job keeping the place clean. It is a very quiet hotel-- families with children on vacation usually do not stay in Largo. It is really a business persons hotel.

I read some of the other reviews here ....and I want to comment on some of the things others have said. Yes, it is true that this hotel is located in a "not so great" neighborhood....it is not the worse neighborhood in Pinellas County, but it is a poor area...lots of people walking around who look ...well...ummm...let's put it this way...they look worse than they are. It is a relatively safe location....just be careful. At night when you are coming into the hotel, pay attention and be aware of where you are. I wasn't crazy about the parking lot formation. Unless you have a handicap tag there is no parking close to the front door.... along the side of the building they have "compact car" spots, i parked there even though I didn't have a compact car because it was directly in front of the side door. I refused to walk through that parking lot at night. Again, remember I live on the beach, so I was very aware of where i was and what type of people live in the sorrounding neighborhoods.

Largo Park is right next to the hotel....it is lovely to walk around during the day....(although I would not walk around that park at night-- unless it is Christmas time and you are there to see the lights, then there are hundreds of people walking around the park).

The beds are a little hard. They are not as hard as a rock, but they are not plush and soft. I would say they lean toward "firm". I just sat on the bed, but my friend told me she thought they were a little firm for here taste. They give you a choice of pillow: a firm and a soft pillow. That was a nice touch.

There is a strong strange chemical smell in the lobby area. It is indescribable. Like glue from a carpet? Or something they are cleaning the floor or rugs with. not sure if all the floors smelled that way (her suite was on the 1st floor)...but the smell did not permeate into the room, so that was good.

The toilet would not flush properly. The staff did everything they could to help. The maitenence guy was busy when she told the front desk about it and we refused to wait for him to finish the job he was working on (she was only in town for 36 hours and didnt have time to wait for him to repair a toilet) so the issue didn't get resolved but that was our fault for not waiting -- not the hotesl fault. Also, the biggest issue is pinellas county building code requires Low Flow water saver toilets and they are horrible toilets with no pressure at all, so this is a county wide issue....they easily clog.

When you are leaving your room, make sure you pull the door shut as it does not close behind you like most hotel room doors...if you don't, it will not lock and anyone can access your room.

I would never stay here alone as a single female because of the neighborhood. My friend ended up sleeping at my place on the beach the second night but used this as a landing pad/home base for the two days she was in town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2ChildrenOfTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavara S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear 2ChildrenOfTheWorld,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you were happy with the housekeeping services provided at our hotel. We are sorry that you found our breakfast buffet less than satisfactory. We have taken note of your comments and rest assured, they will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again next time you are in the area.

Thank you again,

Tavara
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

First of all, I would like to comment on those who rated the property as poor. A theme in common of those two reviews was that the bed is hard. I wonder what their metric is or the bed they sleep on. I have a Sealy Plush bed and a Memory foam bed which are both soft, and I couldn't even imagine saying the beds at this establishment are hard. Are this reviewers just complaining to complain? They staff was great. They staff was so wonderful that when a family came in whose house burnt down, they gave them money and gift cards out of their own pockets. At this point, nothing more needs to be said because I know many hotels that won't even right their wrongs let a lone give people they never meet they money out of their pockets.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5traveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavara S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear 5traveler12 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. We are so pleased you found the beds comfortable and the staff "wonderful." We really appreaciated reading your kind words. Thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon.

Tavara
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I came to Clearwater/Tampa/St Pete for Christmas vacation and stayed in this hotel for 9 days. Although the weather wasn't always sunny, our stay in this Holiday Inn Express always brightened our day.

Location: It is a short drive to pretty much everywhere, especially the beaches. It was also right beside a nice park beautifully decorated with Christmas lights for the holidays!

Staff: We received nothing but excellent service. We appreciated the friendliness of the entire staff. They greeted us as we came and went throughout the day, were knowledgeable about the area, and were kind enough to give us weather tips so we could adjust our day's agenda.

Parking: Parking is free and many spaces are available- we never went searching for parking and all spaces were close to the main entrance.

Room: The room was very clean, large king bed with both soft and firm pillows. We really loved the modern sophisticated color scheme! Great movie options for in-room watching, movies that were in the theaters only a few months ago. We were able to control the temperature with our in-room thermostat, which was awesome, especially because I caught a cold in the beach. There was also a mini-fridge, microwave, and microwavable dishes to reheat any take-out food we brought back from restaurant outings.

Breakfast: The free breakfasts were delicious- cinnamon buns, pancakes, eggs, bacon/sausage, hot biscuits, coffee/hot cocoa/tea, apple/grapefruit/orange juices, cupcakes, toast w/jam and butter, bananas, oatmeal, etc. They are really attentive to refilling any food that runs low during any busy morning.

Extra Touches: Our bed had a swan-shaped towel- really nice touch! They delivered the USA Today to our door every day! Also on our final day, we received a rapid checkout slip, which made our check-out really smooth and quick.

We would definitely both come again! Thanks for making our Christmas memorable!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AnneA603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavara S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear AnneA603,

Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas Vacation at our property. It makes us so happy when a guest is 100% satisfied with their stay. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff. We hope to see you again next time you travel to the Largo area. Thank you again and Happy New Year!

Tavara
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We did get a negotiated travel industry rate and I realize that not everyone pays the same, but even at their published nightly rate, it is a good deal. The location is perfect for our needs. My mom is in an ALF a few blocks east. Our travel party consists of a family of 4 (2 young boys) and a 49 pound dog. It is right next to a dog friendly park and the courtesy breakfast offerings are fine. The juice at this location is much better than the HI Express on Ulmerton Road. The hotel staff is very friendly. Our only complaint is that the halway carpets were filthy. We have reservations to stay again later this month and we are looking forward to it...we just hope that the carpets have been cleaned.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavara S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. You will be pleased to hear that the carpeting throughout the hotel has recently been cleaned and we are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

this hotel is only three years old ..housekeeping spot on ,,pool gym fine //breakfast ok ,,location suited our purpose reception helpful,,,,we spent seven days at this hotel to take in the surounding areas clearwater, st petes, st petes beach ,fort de soto,and ellington outlet shopping mall,,we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would stay here again,, plenty of places to eat

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retiredpeople611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavara S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments. It is nice to hear that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. I have forwarded your comments to the housekeeping department regarding the hotel cleanliness. We hope the next time your travels bring you to the Largo/Clearwater area, we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel was a great bargin for the price. Rooms were nice and the breakfast bar was very nice. I think the previous people complaining about it did not get up early enough to enjoy it. It is a short drive to the surrounding beaches and the hotel has a nice pool. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeep1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavara S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your feedback for your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and the location. We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largo
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Largo
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
836 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tampa Bay Extended Stay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater East - Icot Center
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater

Address: 210 Seminole Blvd, Largo, FL 33770-3617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Largo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Largo
Price Range: $106 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the leading Largo Florida hotels located in the heart of Largo and within minutes to the Fabulous Pinellas County Beaches, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Tampa. The hotel features a 24hr business center, outdoor pool, wired Hi Speed Internet Access in guest rooms, laundry facility and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Largo-Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Largo-Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing