We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasty fish dinner!”
Review of Grumpy Grouper Grill - CLOSED

Grumpy Grouper Grill
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great tasty fish dinner!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It's nothing fancy but if you are looking for a great size of fresh fish, blackened on top of a bed
of lettuce this is your place! Enjoyed a very healthy meal. Will go back again and again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Islandprincess28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good portions of fresh fish, lunch specials”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We heard about this place from some locals and ate here for lunch. They cautioned us that it was kinda a dive inside and had bar area but we were not turned off. We are always game so off we went and we were not disappointed. I ordered a grouper sandwich and it was huge! I could only eat half. My husband got the lunch special fish sandwich which was panga and he was satisfied as well. You can get a variety of sides and I tried the cole slaw with pineapple which was very good. I would go here again if I was in area for awhile.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tallygirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A True Best Buy”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We started with Fresh clams, $5 a dozen. Big fresh and juicy...just as good as in an upscale restaurant the night before for $12. We went at lunch time. I ordered the most expensive entree, blackend grouper with black bean sauce over rice. It was exquisite. Had they charged $20 I would not have complained, but it was $7.95. My wife had fish and chips, again with fresh grouper...delicious and a dollar less. Just for grins we ordered a 3rd entree...fried clams. Very good and also very fresh.

The waiter was also great. If I lived in south Florida, I'd dine here weekly...at least.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M3Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Some of the best fried fish around! Very large portions at a very reasonable price. Great lunch menu, I usually go to the new location in Lake Park which has the same menu. Its a hidden gem you do not want to miss!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank unknown396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“inexpensive but not good.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We ordered the baked clams, a grouper salad, grouper fingers, and I'll tell you the salad was so old. Not yesterday's salad, but from 2-3 days ago. The lettuce and cucumbers were transparent and the salad bowl had a pool of water at the bottom of it. Then to top it off the grouper on top of the salad was cold and rubbery. The grouper fingers came with fries. The fries were perfect and delicious, but the grouper fingers were barely warm and they were rubbery and limp. The clams were quite expensive. I think it was 10 dollars for 6 or something like that. They too were cold and the butter served with them was cold. Our waiter was older, and he was really good. He kept filling up our water and ice teas. He was attentive, except he never asked me how the food was. If he had asked me I would have told him. The whole bill was very reasonable, but the food was so poor that I wouldn't go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank erik p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing