We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geeting Run Down”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Land O Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caliente Club & Resorts
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have gone to Caliente for the past 6 years. It’s is definitely getting worse by the year. Ths used to be a well -run well kept clothing optional resort. Those who havn't been there in past years wont appreciate the point that it is starting to get ragged there. Plus a $100 a day for a couple . not worth it.. We are told the owners have the mortgage paid off on thsi place. I thinbk they are just hungry for profits and are investing as little as possible to keep the place up. Some basic examples. Outside the club house patio,. Ceilings are loaded with spider webs and bugs that are attracted to the building from the surrpounding wet lands. Go to any nice resort in Florida. These ceilings are kept sparkling clean. Not at Caliente. The outside of the club house needs to be repainted. They painted a couple of outside walls of the building that face the pool. The paint does not even match well. And there is over spray all over the stairs. The did nt even mask the area. Looks like a redneck paint job. At the front desk, the girls seem more interested in gabbing with themselves instead of providing customer service. They seem to feel you are disturbing them when you approach the desk. Like you are bothering them. A lot of the landscape lighting does not work. We counted over 20 lights that need a light bulb. Again, just general maintenance that they are not will to expend. This still could be a first rate operation and place to go. But they need an attitude change and need to be willing to spend some money to get the place back in first class shape. And the $100- per couple charge. Thats got to go. We used to get in the for $20/ person and the place used to be packed. Now, unless there is a special event, not many willing to pay that kind of money just to walk in the door.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 280 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just returned from trip to Caliente, Tampa for a couple of days - resort is continuing to become more rundown each time we go. We have gone to Caliente for several years now and they have done nothing to clean up or remodel rundown conditions. There are rotten boards in the ceilings outside, dirty, the chairs outside of sportsbar are falling apart. Lounge chairs are filthy and not been cleaned. Food service was not good when we were there, new servers and they were more interested in goofing around with each other than taking care of customers. Food was OK not great. Husband got ribs for dinner one night and could hardly eat then they were so tough. Think our visits are going to end which is a shame because they had such a good resort for clothing optional visitors. And all this for a daily fee of $100.00 for a couple!! Not worth it anymore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kywomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have travelled to CO resorts throughout US and World-wide. All have their pluses and minuses. Caliente has 4 star pool, club, grounds. Restaurant is great, particularly Chef Rob, good personality, adds new menu options. Only drawback on restaurant/bar is no draft beer. Would love a good draft craft beer selection.

Hotel is convenient but could use a few upgrades - of course we didn't stay in hotel. Also have stayed in condos, villas and a couple of nice casitas.

I recommend everyone try this at least once. We did and wound up spending 4 weeks here over the last year. Vacation Cub is a good deal if you visit often. S and L

Room Tip: for more a couple of days, I would go with condo. For longer, I would consider a Casita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grzwlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After spending a month in Florida and getting back to Work-school Etc. our best memory was the time we spent at Caliente! We have visited the Property 4 years ago and although was beautiful,it wasnt our cup of tea.We met a couple in new orleans that run a group called sbbc and they agressively suggested we come back and try it again,We planned on trying Paradise lakes up the road a few miles but we said what the heck, When we found out Sbbc was at the resort putting on the party we said lets try it.Whats the worst that can happen?We Leave?
Well let me tell you When we got to caliente we were welcomed to find a great large group of people that were more fun then we have ever dreamed of encountering. a few hours later we met the couple that told us to come back and try it and we couldnt help but to thank them for the Idea and the heads up. We went to the disco that night and had even a better time( a little tired at this point but we couldnt stop dancing and Never wanted to leave!! We will be Back!!! Again And Again we are looking at new calander dates with the same group to book right now. If we Did'nt have prepaid reservations in ft myers we totally would have stayed as long as we can handle..lol

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Caliente is a fun filled environment for the open minded!!! Lisa the server is incredibly energetic and friendly...what an ambassador for Caliente!!! Anastasia at the front desk was especially friendly and courteous!! Dr. LG

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The atmosphere is relaxed when you prefer to be relaxed, and partying when you prefer to party. No-pressure atmosphere, lots of lovely couples of all ages to socialize with. Great pool, shuffle board, dances.

Room Tip: Get a casita
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank George3702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I had the experience of reviewing some of the feedback from other trip advisor posts. First I must say, I am bloody confused by some of the negative observations because they could not be more wrong. First, it has been my observation that the Thursday night DJ is horribly rude. As regulars, we just avoid asking him for anything. On the other hand, the Friday night and Saturday night DJ's have a good pulse on the feeling of the customers and keep up with scope of the wishes on the dance floor. My wife and I are nudist, but not lifestylers. It has always been my observation that the management staff is extremely diligent about keeping the night club as "appropriate" as possible. Certain weekends, Caliente will be a bit more risque than other weekends due to the size of some lifestyle groups. As a patron, I understand that the staff can only do so much to keep things clean cut because the lifestyler's are on the look out for staff if they misbehave. These groups have no affiliation with the resort itself and it is unrealistic to think they will turn down their business. You can not expect the resort to baby sit the patrons. During the day, I have seen staffers warn people about behavior that is too friendly and it is not unheard of to see people asked to leave if bad behavior persists. In the evening, the staff does not work outside and the conversation pool is not supervised. My advise is that if you are modest, avoid that area. The posting below makes a comment about the night manager. It is absurd because he is their saving grace. He has made great strides in improving the facility in a very few short months. He is the regular patrons "go-to guy." He should not be critiqued for hugging his wife behind the bar publically. I may be an old buzzard, but she is a pretty, smart, hard working girl and all the regulars are quite fond of her, especially my wife. She is generally working much harder than some of the other bartenders who are frequently chatting with the regulars. Knowing all the bartenders and servers, I can say with certainty that each one of them cares greatly for the level of service that the patrons receives. The only observation I could make is that the rooms could use an update, but they are adequate and tidy. Cheers!

Room Tip: If you are concerned with the ordeals of other visitor's actions, inquire about if a lifestyle p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Land O Lakes
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
4.9 mi away
Paradise Lakes Resort
Paradise Lakes Resort
#1 of 1 in Land O Lakes
125 reviews
8.0 mi away
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
#4 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Club & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Club & Resorts

Address: 21240 Gran Via Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 34637-3287 (Formerly Caliente Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Land O Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Land O Lakes
Price Range: $250 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caliente Club & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caliente Tampa is a captivating blend of clothing-optional solitude, exhilaration and sizzle that is ideal for the seasoned clothing-optional traveler and first-timer alike. Inside Caliente Tampa, you will be pampered, wined, dined, and treated with world-class sensitivity you so richly deserve.Beautifully appointed Villas, Condominiums, vacation Casitas and Hotel Suites will become your secluded home away from home for a stay that might last but a week or two, yet the memories will last a lifetime.Just outside your door, turquoise lagoons, a sapphire lake, sports and fitness facilities, tiki bars, decadent cuisine, and sumptuous Spa Sereno are just a few of the many opportunities that beckon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caliente Resort All Inclusive
Caliente Hotel Land o Lakes
Caliente Club & Resorts Florida/Land O Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing