We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9 days of relaxation.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Land O Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caliente Club & Resorts
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We just spent our summer vacation at Caliente. The nicest clothing optional resort in Florida. ( my opinion). Not having to figure out what to wear each day is a big plus. The staff is awesome!!! The resort is first class. The sports bar the restaurant the multiple pools the spa really makes for a pleasurable experience . Don't forget the hot tub and the conversation pool, tennis courts, volley ball courts ( 2 sand and 2 water) shuffle board, sauna, steam room and the walking trail through the resort . The part I like the most is you can do all the the above with out a stitch of clothing on. (yahoo) . I forgot to mention the night club and piano bar and the tiki bar, as you can see I could go on and on and on .... Definitely one of the nicest place to take a vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonyrenate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 282 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting Caliente since 2004, and just love the place. We spend most of our weekends when we are in town there to enjoy the great people, conversations and wonderful friends. Having been a member a number of the Adult clothing optional clubs, and visiting most of the ones around the world, Caliente definitely stands head and should above them all, with only Desire in Cancun and Spice resort in the Canary islands as resorts above the typical rustic style of such resorts. I often refer to it as the Hyatt Regency of Clothing Optional resorts, given its grand entrance which makes you feel like you are arriving at a very exclusive private club. It is a great getaway to escape the hustle and bustle of the real word. Many such clubs offer condos that you can rent or buy, Caliente offers their vacation club, where unlike a timeshare, you are not locked into a week like a traditional timeshare, but rather points that you can use for a night a weekend or longer, which offers substantial discounts from the rates offered to the general public. I have had friends that had purchased a condo at a resort and then after a few years, realized that they were not spending enough time to warrant the expense of a full time condo, Caliente’s vacation club is the perfect answer to not being tied into a long term commitment. Come when you want, stay how long you want without feel that you have become a prisoner of some resort. Perfect for those that truly enjoy getting away from it all occasionally. My wife and I believe in it so much that we purchased enough points to make us Diamond members, which we can use for weekends at the club, or for cruises or to stay at resorts around the world. Truly the greatest in flexibility for those of us that have worked hard to obtain our own degrees of success in life.

The amenities are amazing, from a top notch spa offering all the services that you would expect, to a very modern and well equipped fitness center, even daily classes from yoga to aerobic in a huge mirrored exercise room. You arrive to the main pool, which is a rolling pool that curves its way around islands abundant with manicured vegetation with many points of entry and a gorgeous waterfall, that provides not only abidance of being in some remote island, but just adds that sound of flowing water to help you forget the stresses of your life. By the water fall you'll find the grotto bar staffed with the nicest people who all have been there for many years, making you feel welcome each time you arrive. They even write your names on your cups (which is helpful in trying to remember the names of all the people you meet from around the world that visit) On the other side of the main pool is a band stage, where on most weekends they have a live band playing in the afternoon, weather permitting. You will stand in the pool looking either at the club or over a lake with a sandy beach, that really makes you feel that you are in Caribbean. farther back is another bar, the Tiki bar, which hosts karaoke (though I am not a karaoke fan, they do pack them in there in the evening. During the day you can hear the sounds of Jimmy Buffet by the back pool. Which beyond that are multiple professional water volley ball pools and plenty of sand volley ball courts. If Tennis is your thing, they have over 12 tennis courts where you can always find a game or enjoy a friendly game of poker in the grotto bar. Above the waterfall is a terrace with a 120 foot long conversation pool, where you can sit and relax in entertaining conversation, as well as hot tubes to sooth those aches from working out, sport activities or simply from dancing the night before in their New York styled discothèque. If dancing is not your thing, then they have a sports bar, with pool table and seating inside and out with a ton of TV’s. Between the activities, the grounds, the employees, and the other guests/members, Caliente is definitely where you can truly unwind and escape the stresses of your life. We give it 5 stars. There is so much more that we could say about this place that makes it stand out above the rest, but it truly is the trifecta of a beautiful environment, great staff and a consistent flow of very interesting people. If you have never tried a clothing optional resort, maybe it’s time that you escape from your kids and don’t tell them where you are going for the weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WyattDonLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I have been to Caliente Tampa now a few times and find this to be a very high end resort. The last time we visited was September 2011. We were so impressed with that facility that we became Vacation Club Members a couple of years ago..
The accommodation especially the condos are gorgeous and the food in both the main dining room and the sports bar is excellent. The hotel rooms are needing some updating and don't quite meet the 5 star category but are more that adequate and close to the main resort as well.
This is a place to be naked and nudity is common almost anywhere in the resort, however most like to wear something at dinner. The dress code is basically whatever you fancy from almost nothing to fully dressed.
The bars at night can get pretty interesting and modesty is not an issue. It's lots of fun and you can do whatever you like including nothing at all. It is fairly quite during the week and suits us to a tee.

If you wish to get off the resort there are many places to shop and dine in the immediate area. There is lots of tennis and water aerobics etc. on site
Weekends are very popular with e more adventurous set(meaning the younger crowd) and sometimes a few folks do get a bit overzealous if you catch my drift If this isn't your scene just head in another direction.

The staff are great and make you very welcome and comfortable immediately. I recommend you give Caliente Tampa a try I don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: The one bedroom condos are worth the upgrade from the hotel room and have full kitchens for those yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I went to Caliente for a few days at a reduced price but had to sit through a presentation to hear about the resort and how to become a member or so we thought. This is really a Timeshare presentation. The person that we had to sit with was a guy named "JC". He was nice enough in the beginning but when he found out that we weren't interested in buying his whole demeanor changed! He basically told us that we would not be welcomed back if we didn't join which is what I have read from other reviews as well. When we inquired about not being able to come back we were told that this wasn't true that this is just his way to try and get people to join! The management needs to get rid of this guy quick! Why would management "allow" this to continually happen and not do anything about it? This says something about the people running this resort!

Some of the staff were excellent and we thought the food was excellent! The chef went out of his way to accomodate us and so did our server. The bartender was great as well. The front desk staff were horrible and not friendly in the least!

The resort itself is in need of a major overhaul from the "motel" rooms to the clubhouse! The resort was dead the whole weekend so I guess they don't have the money to do any upgrades which is scary!

We went down the street to Paradise Lakes. There was definitely more going on down there from the games out by the pool to water volleyball in the pools! Caliente is going to lose a lot of customers to this resort and they deserve to. If you as management allow your sales people to lie to potential customers and they are not fired then you derserve to lose them! Shame on you management for allowing such behavior! We will never be back to Caliente. They do not care one bit about their members, customers or reputation and it shows!

If you do go to Caliente and have to sit and listen to a Timeshare presentation and you get JC ask them to give you someone else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank BICouple T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our first time my wife and i traveled to this location there system was down and it seemed no one was able to help us check in no wifi and things seemed to roll down here for point of check in. the staff seem nice at first but not willing to go that extra mile to accommodate us very disappointed with our first time in a place like this heard threw a few locals of another place close by so went there instead please double check this place before you even arrive make sure every thing is in working order or you'll be sent packing ! and make sure you bring your life savings ! your gonna need it !

Room Tip: ask to see the room before you check in or sign any papers !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Lana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I are not new to the nudist thing, but this was out first time going to Caliente. It is very pretty, lanscaping is pretty and the pools are pretty. For the money they charge they need to do a better job picking things up on the pool decks. There were multiple floats all over the place and many lounge chairs/chairs that were broken. Certain parts of the buildings need serious power washing. The music they play was awesome. We are 44/51 years of age. It was current music. The dance floor with 3 poles was pretty cool. Just bring some dress clothes, ladies bring your heels. We were not prepared for that. A lot of the women dress sexy. They go all out. With the garter belts/stockings. Very neat. We knew before going there you could not bring drinks/food to the pool. When you go through the doors and if you have a bag/purse they will inspected it so be prepared for that. Some of the workers there were no friendly at all. The front desk lady when we got there was not a very bubbly person. However, it is like that no matter where you go. We just over look that. Friday Night the dance floor was full and people having a great time. We met a lot of people. Late Friday Night we went the heated pool (conversation pool). There was girl on girl action, swingers, couples having sex, oral sex, etc. My husband and I were not offended, but we are not into the life style. People still talked to us and when they made their advances they understood NO. About 1:00am it was getting very hot and heavy (sexually) so my husband and I just got up and left. If you are no opened minded this is NOT the place for you. I must admit it was very exrotic!

We were here on a special because at the end of the visit you listen to a 45 minute sale pitch on their timeshare/point system. We were not interested in spending over 18K on a time share, since we just sold out RCI Timeshare a few months ago. They were some what pushy and gave us the feeling if we dont join their membership or buy their point system DO NOT think you will ever be back to Caliente. We just wanted time to think about it, but they wanted a 3K check right then and there. We are not impulsive so we just sad no.

However, it is a pretty place, relaxing and very sensual there. I would go back in a heart beat but it is NOT cheap. It can be almost $400.00 a night with your days fees. We will be checking more places out soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dawnesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Overall Caliente was a fun experience. Knew about swinging going in and it was no big deal. I would have preferred to know that club attire was needed to not stand out in club. Next time I will act accordingly. Wasn't fond of how strict access was even when nothing was opened. Had a little trouble finding water before anything opened. We got along better than fine with others and it was a fun time. If you can't handle the wild people you might want to avoid it. Although we aren't "lifestylers", we still had fun and the stylers left us alone when we said no.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank warmonger44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Land O Lakes
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
15 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa-Port Richey
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Suncoast Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Paradise Lakes Resort
Paradise Lakes Resort
#1 of 1 in Land O Lakes
127 reviews
8 mi away
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
#4 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
820 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Club & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Club & Resorts

Address: 21240 Gran Via Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 34637-3287 (Formerly Caliente Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Land O Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Land O Lakes
Price Range: $250 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caliente Club & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caliente Tampa is a captivating blend of clothing-optional solitude, exhilaration, and sizzle that is ideal for the seasoned clothing-optional traveler and first-timer alike. Inside Caliente Tampa, you will be pampered, wined, dined, and treated with world-class respect and sensitivity you so richly deserve. Beautifully appointed Villas, Condominiums, vacation Casitas and Hotel Suites will become your secluded home away from home for a stay that might last a weekend, a week, or even more. And yet the memories will last a lifetime. Just outside your door, turquoise lagoons, a sapphire lake, sports and fitness facilities, tiki bars, decadent cuisine, and relaxing Spa Sereno are just a few of the many opportunities that beckon. Come enjoy music by the pool, drinks with friends in our Piano Bar, a game in our Sports Bar, or dance the night away in our sexy night club. From theme parties to fitness classes, from karaoke to tennis, you can do it all at Caliente Club & Resorts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caliente Resort All Inclusive
Caliente Hotel Land o Lakes
Caliente Club & Resorts Florida/Land O Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing