We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A First-timer's Look At Caliente Tampa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Land O Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caliente Club & Resorts
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Overall Caliente was a fun experience. Knew about swinging going in and it was no big deal. I would have preferred to know that club attire was needed to not stand out in club. Next time I will act accordingly. Wasn't fond of how strict access was even when nothing was opened. Had a little trouble finding water before anything opened. We got along better than fine with others and it was a fun time. If you can't handle the wild people you might want to avoid it. Although we aren't "lifestylers", we still had fun and the stylers left us alone when we said no.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank warmonger44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 281 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were there in June, and unluckily the first tropical storm Andrea hit the same day that we arrived ! So, the two days that we had planned for the visit saw rain, rain and more rain. The resort was nicely kept. We really would like to visit again, perhaps in the Jan-Mar time frame. The rain kept other people away, but we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was really very good there. And you don't have to leave the resort, unless you choose to. The hotel room that we had was just fine. It could use some updating, but the screen porch is a nice touch. It wasn't the Hyatt, but then it wasn't Motel 6 either. Somewhere in between.
Only disappointment was that both the Steam Room and Dry Sauna were not working during our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flabeachfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice clothing optional resort. But very very expensive to the middle class, and the place was DEAD..!!
No one in the pools, no one playing volley ball, tiki bar closed, no entertainment either. Thank goodness my date was patient to the 6 1/2 hour drive from Atlanta. Oh yes, we have a very nice clothing optional resort an hour north of Atlanta. After spending over $400 for an evening at CALIENTE, I think we'll just hang out at "The Valley" here in Atlanta.
A plus was the good food & dance on Thursday evening. My Lady received free drinks from 8 - 10 pm. Guys get nothing but the huge tab as always!!
Pole dancers were fun to watch & as the evening went on, the cloths came off. DJ does not do requests so don't ask or even bother him.
Most FUN & memorial moment was in the hot tub outside on the upper level. We had a fantastic time there so pace yourself & go hang out @ the hot tub!
Again, very pricy which probably has sent people to other nude resorts through out Florida. We continued our trip at Clear Water Beach before returning to Atlanta.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FLYBOYFREDDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

New to nudism and I'd recommend this place above others. Some say antiquated I say amazing! We came for just a day and plan to come back again. Yes the pool is cold, but its Florida, you want a cold pool. Everything about this place makes you feel like your in a tropical wonderland without the price. The food is great no matter where you dine. The fine dinning restaurant has some delicious upscale food at about the same price if not a little lower than you pay at any other find dinning establishment and staff is more than happy to cater to your needs. The clothing optional aspect is great for new comers like us and allows us to go nude at our own pace (some go nude some don't its a matter of preference). The conversational pool area and jacuzzi rocked it and the club was great! With three poles,a great mix of music, and everyone is so friendly. Didn't get to try the Spa but heard it is well worth it from a lot of people. We've gone to one other resort and looked at others, but realized if you live in Florida and want to get away without having to fly away this is the place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank summertimes2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

In an earlier very positive review about Caliente I said that the high-value way to enjoy the place is to rent a condo, understanding you'll have to pay an additional daily fee to enjoy the many amenities here. But a surprise turned up during our present visit - no Wi-Fi in the rental condos. I suspect if you rent directly from an owner (if you can), there will be service. But most of the condo rentals are owned by the Caliente Corporation, and they do not pay for Wi-Fi. It is available in the hotel and the clubhouse area. But that's pretty antiquated in 2013.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank vball5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We love Trip Advisor and after reeading some of the reviews on here we were excited about our Trip but not exactly sure what to expect. Well needless to say this place exceeded our exceptations. We arrived on a Thursday and left on a Monday. Check in was quick and effecient. We recieved a discounted grounds fee each day due to our allifiation with a lifestyle group and the party that was occuring that Saturday. We stayed in the hotel knowing that we probably wouldn't spend that much time in there anyway.The room was clean and comfortable now its not the Ritz or JW Marriot but then you are not paying those prices either. We had read of the food and drink prices were high as well compared to eating at home they are but to comparable resorts they are very reasonable. The grouds are beautiful and when you sit back you think you are on a island some where in the Carribean. Thursday was cool so we didn't get to enjoy the pool. The club has ladies night on Thursday with free well drinks (well liquor, house wine or draft beer)for the ladies from 8-10. We had a great time danced and the dj really mixed up the music. We then went to the hot tub this is about the only place late at night that you will see and overt sexual acts which were fun to watch and participate in. Friday we had a couples massage and it was incredible followed by champange and fruit. It was still cool so we sent the rest of the day in Tampa. Friday night was quite at the night club we had planned no going to another Lifestyle club in Tampa but just decided on a low key night. Saturday was the big party day not sure how many people were at the pool but it was hundreds. Some had complained that the main pool was cold in prior posts (they actually heated it for Saturday and Sunday) it was refreshing still while the other pools which are all heated were very warm. Terry was our waitress at the pool Saturday Sunday and Monday and did an amazing job! She never let our drinks get empty. Watch out for the large drinks they are incredibly good but pack a huge punch! Sunday was just as busy at the pool if not more so and the band playing pool side was awesome. Monday was much slower and they had turned the heater off to the main pool while it was much cooler it was nice since it was 85 that day. We ate most of our meals here execpt for 2 dinners off site. The variety and quailty of the food was actually suprising and better and a lot of national chains. The blackend taplia sandwhich was cooked perfect and had an entree sized piece of fish on it. The fried ravioli was delicous so were the shrimp bites. The staff is what really makes this place stand out it was a very busy weekend but they were all so friendly I can't remeber everyone's names but Terry at the pool Shawn, Chris and Cali at the bar were great! As a lifestyle resort this is probably not my top choice (Hedo or Desire are better) but for a long weekend get away that you can get to in a matter of hours you can't beat the experince. We will be returning soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cltplaythings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

All and All the resort is average. My main hang up were the fees. If you are not a member they charge a couple $100 a day membership fee for being on property and using their pools. This is on top of the $165 per night that the resort already gets for the room that you are staying in. I had no real problem with that arrangement but during the time I was there they were running specials of $35 a day for people wanting to try it as a day tripper. Well I asked why I was being charged the extra amount, I was told it was because I was staying on the property and the special was only for day trippers to try the resort. Now I am not cheap but whats good for one should be good for all. Rather than take care of the customer that is already spending dollars in their hotel and bars they charge them more than a person who can show up at the crack of dawn and stay until the early morning hours and leave. In the end I suggest only trying this place as a day tripper and stay elsewhere. If you are not a local this place just doesn't take care of there guests that are staying on property. Very bad management decision to charge people different rates for the same thing. We felt very taken advantage of and will most likely not be going back to this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ndaydreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Land O Lakes
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa-Wesley Chapel
4.9 mi away
Paradise Lakes Resort
Paradise Lakes Resort
#1 of 1 in Land O Lakes
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
Saddlebrook Resort Tampa
#4 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
800 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
434 reviews
20.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Club & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Club & Resorts

Address: 21240 Gran Via Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 34637-3287 (Formerly Caliente Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Land O Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Land O Lakes
Price Range: $250 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caliente Club & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caliente Tampa is a captivating blend of clothing-optional solitude, exhilaration, and sizzle that is ideal for the seasoned clothing-optional traveler and first-timer alike. Inside Caliente Tampa, you will be pampered, wined, dined, and treated with world-class respect and sensitivity you so richly deserve. Beautifully appointed Villas, Condominiums, vacation Casitas and Hotel Suites will become your secluded home away from home for a stay that might last a weekend, a week, or even more. And yet the memories will last a lifetime. Just outside your door, turquoise lagoons, a sapphire lake, sports and fitness facilities, tiki bars, decadent cuisine, and relaxing Spa Sereno are just a few of the many opportunities that beckon. Come enjoy music by the pool, drinks with friends in our Piano Bar, a game in our Sports Bar, or dance the night away in our sexy night club. From theme parties to fitness classes, from karaoke to tennis, you can do it all at Caliente Club & Resorts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caliente Resort All Inclusive
Caliente Hotel Land o Lakes
Caliente Club & Resorts Florida/Land O Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing