We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caliente Resort and Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Land O Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caliente Resort and Spa
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We love Trip Advisor and after reeading some of the reviews on here we were excited about our Trip but not exactly sure what to expect. Well needless to say this place exceeded our exceptations. We arrived on a Thursday and left on a Monday. Check in was quick and effecient. We recieved a discounted grounds fee each day due to our allifiation with a lifestyle group and the party that was occuring that Saturday. We stayed in the hotel knowing that we probably wouldn't spend that much time in there anyway.The room was clean and comfortable now its not the Ritz or JW Marriot but then you are not paying those prices either. We had read of the food and drink prices were high as well compared to eating at home they are but to comparable resorts they are very reasonable. The grouds are beautiful and when you sit back you think you are on a island some where in the Carribean. Thursday was cool so we didn't get to enjoy the pool. The club has ladies night on Thursday with free well drinks (well liquor, house wine or draft beer)for the ladies from 8-10. We had a great time danced and the dj really mixed up the music. We then went to the hot tub this is about the only place late at night that you will see and overt sexual acts which were fun to watch and participate in. Friday we had a couples massage and it was incredible followed by champange and fruit. It was still cool so we sent the rest of the day in Tampa. Friday night was quite at the night club we had planned no going to another Lifestyle club in Tampa but just decided on a low key night. Saturday was the big party day not sure how many people were at the pool but it was hundreds. Some had complained that the main pool was cold in prior posts (they actually heated it for Saturday and Sunday) it was refreshing still while the other pools which are all heated were very warm. Terry was our waitress at the pool Saturday Sunday and Monday and did an amazing job! She never let our drinks get empty. Watch out for the large drinks they are incredibly good but pack a huge punch! Sunday was just as busy at the pool if not more so and the band playing pool side was awesome. Monday was much slower and they had turned the heater off to the main pool while it was much cooler it was nice since it was 85 that day. We ate most of our meals here execpt for 2 dinners off site. The variety and quailty of the food was actually suprising and better and a lot of national chains. The blackend taplia sandwhich was cooked perfect and had an entree sized piece of fish on it. The fried ravioli was delicous so were the shrimp bites. The staff is what really makes this place stand out it was a very busy weekend but they were all so friendly I can't remeber everyone's names but Terry at the pool Shawn, Chris and Cali at the bar were great! As a lifestyle resort this is probably not my top choice (Hedo or Desire are better) but for a long weekend get away that you can get to in a matter of hours you can't beat the experince. We will be returning soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cltplaythings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    77
    33
    31
    27
See reviews for
6
224
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

All and All the resort is average. My main hang up were the fees. If you are not a member they charge a couple $100 a day membership fee for being on property and using their pools. This is on top of the $165 per night that the resort already gets for the room that you are staying in. I had no real problem with that arrangement but during the time I was there they were running specials of $35 a day for people wanting to try it as a day tripper. Well I asked why I was being charged the extra amount, I was told it was because I was staying on the property and the special was only for day trippers to try the resort. Now I am not cheap but whats good for one should be good for all. Rather than take care of the customer that is already spending dollars in their hotel and bars they charge them more than a person who can show up at the crack of dawn and stay until the early morning hours and leave. In the end I suggest only trying this place as a day tripper and stay elsewhere. If you are not a local this place just doesn't take care of there guests that are staying on property. Very bad management decision to charge people different rates for the same thing. We felt very taken advantage of and will most likely not be going back to this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Ndaydreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is our second extended stay. It can't be beat as a nudist resort for its facilities; pools; hot tubs; tennis and volleyball courts, bars, dance club, and spa. The grounds are beautiful. The wait staff and bartenders are friendly and attentive. The hotel rooms are just ok (they are clean but they could stand an update or even better the addition of premium suites) and the food is on par with an Chili's, and the drinks are generously strong. The nicer restaurant on the property is only open on Thursday thru Sunday so if you are staying for a long period, plan a few meals there or you will tire of the bar and grill menu of the sports bar.

Guests and full time residents are always friendly even when it is a take over. There is always something going on and the place is large enough that when they have a group takeover it doesn't feel that way.

What can't be missed is the couples massage of facial at the spa. This is no fluff and buff. They can do relaxing and deep tissue. I have been to some 5 star resorts and no one was as good. We both get sports massage weekly and can tell when someone understands bodywork. We had different therapists each time and they were consistently great.

The one thing that did change is the towel policy. You used to get a towel card to switch out towels now you have to bring the towels from the room. I wouldn't mind paying extra for better towels and easier way to change it out.

The other tip is that if you are flying in call the resort to arrange a shuttle. A car service or taxi will cost you from $70 to $90. The shuttle is around $50.

Room Tip: We have only stayed at the hotel, they are dated, but are close to the club house. Oh and they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachNatural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have stayed at Caliente many times since it opened. We always have a great time. The neighborhood has a paved walking trail that is fun to do several times a day. The grounds are simple, but well kept. The main building is well designed and functional as well as beautiful.
The pools are as nice as you will find anywhere. The staff is helpful for the most part. The food has always been good. The main problems are in management, which will not directly affect your vacation. They have in the past couple of years gone after the swinger clientel but have not learned how to do that without losing their current client base. They have tried a timeshare system, dj parties at the pools, allowing clothing in pool areas(most swingers are not nudists), buses from Orlando, etc. Many nudists have stopped going for that reason. But you should go and make up your own mind. Any couple would enjoy the ameneties and have a fun experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CRB7291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

A really fun place. Better to rent a villa than hotel. Much nicer. Luxurious!
You have to be open minded to some different kind of vacation. So laid back, you will want to stay a while. Rent from owners if you can. Better value and nicer accommodations. The club rocks!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank cachirulatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Have stayed at the resort since its opening, sometimes once a month in the summer and sometimes only a couple of times a year. Nothing like it in the US, you would have to go to Mexico Desire or Jamaica (Hedo). We both don't like air travel and refuse to do it so as nudists this is the only 1st class resort in the US, although not comparable to overseas resorts like those mentioned above it comes close. We actually go between Paradise Lakes - another older nudist resort about 6 miles south and rent a condo in the complex there while travelling between the two. It's more expensive to stay in Caliente and we prefer one day in Paradise and the next in Caliente. I must admit with the $100 a day fees we have taken advantage of specials that can be found on some of the lifestyle sites, although not lifestylers we enjoy the company of all, you will find that the crowd there is for the most part just flirtatious and it’s hard to decipher who is who which is how it should be. Love the Friday night meet and greets at 5pm by the piano bar, we normally arrive there at 6ish (cheaper after 6 only $20 a couple) then stay for dinner with a spot of dancing at the club afterwards, then end up in the hot tub. We tend to spend Saturday at Paradise and then Sunday we head over at noon for a free afternoon at Caliente (Sunday splash party-get your name on the guest list and its free before noon) where we have lunch and a few drinks. I think this year we will rent a condo in the complex and stay for the entire weekend a couple of weekends. Great people, good food and great ambiance what more could you ask for a

Room Tip: check out Paradise for accomodation first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ciri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I must start by saying the resort was very clean and very well kept. It is about 35 mins outside of Tampa. That was a bummer for me but there is a publix grocery right down the street, A liquore store right beside the resort and restaurants all nearby in Land O'Lakes. I did not eat at the resort due to the reviews I saw of the food price and quality. The staff are welcoming and they have a service that comes to pick you up if you don't want to walk or drive to the clubhouse. Yes, one of the cons is that you can be far enough away from the clubhouse where you have to drive there and a lot of people do. The clubhouse is the only place that has adequate wifi. They said he motel does also. It was next door to the clubhouse but looked unkept. I stayed in the Casitas, which look like mobile homes but well kept. Full kitchen, dining room, living area, and bath. It was nice. Nice big lake to take walks around and people did. Clubhouse has a sports bar, club, restaurant upstairs and downstairs there's a spa/boutique, gym, sauna and steam room and shower. Thurs night is ladies night at the club. If you don't want to 'swing' and see any of that then don't stay around when it gets late. Saturday was the best day. Everybody was at the two level of poos listening to the live bands and having fun. If single you have to be aggressive to meet people. It's mostly couples and they stick together. Also it's mostly people up there in age also and mainly all white. There were only 2 other different race couples there besides myself. It was nice but I'm sure there are resorts that are more diverse and personal and I will keep looking. This was my first.

Room Tip: Do not choose the motel. Chose the Casitas or the Condos. It's a higher price but you wont reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank JoJo30058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Land O Lakes
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa-Wesley Chapel
6.7 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa Suncoast Parkway at NorthPointe Village
10.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
11.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Trinity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Resort and Spa

Property: Caliente Resort and Spa
Address: 21240 Gran Via Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 34637-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Land O Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Land O Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caliente Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caliente Tampa is a captivating blend of solitude, exhilaration and sizzle that is ideal for the seasoned naturist and first-time nudist alike. Inside Caliente Tampa, you will be pampered, wined, dined, and treated with world-class sensitivity you so richly deserve.Beautifully appointed Villas, Condominiums, vacation Casitas and Hotel Suites will become your secluded home away from home for a stay that might last but a week or two, yet the memories will last a lifetime.Just outside your door, turquoise lagoons, a sapphire lake, sports and fitness facilities, tiki bars, decadent cuisine, and sumptuous Spa Sereno are just a few of the many opportunities that beckon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caliente Resort All Inclusive
Caliente Hotel Land o Lakes
Caliente Resort And Spa Florida/Land O Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing