We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect mix of relaxation..luxury ... pampering with a hint of naughty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Land O Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caliente Resort and Spa
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect mix of relaxation..luxury ... pampering with a hint of naughty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Caliente is a world class resort with a small home town feel. The people that live on property year round give Caliente On Site Ambassadors that will welcome new people like they are their own personal guest. There are people that live close by but spend their leisure time inside the walls of Caliente and those that travel several hours to get there and are enjoying the Caliente life every weekend.

The nighlife is great - from JC doing comedy to The Honeys and their "Broadway" style shows to the pulsing music of the nightclub. You can sit back and watch the "Guests Entertainment", it is alot of fun to watch a conservative person lose their inhibitions.

The pools are great... The main pool is stunning and the hub of the afternoon party - the winter pool is nicely heated on those cooler days... and the conversation pool and hot tub can either be laid back and relaxing or where the night time party is... You never know what fun you might be witness to - but there is never any pressure to join.

I am not going to call the people that work at Caliente - The Staff, they are friends that if you treat like a friend, then you will never be in need of anything while you are at Caliente. Everyone is very professional but also very fun and will make you feel like you are at your neighborhood bar.

Caliente blends the luxury and relaxation just perfect and you can indulge in the naughty as little or as much as you would like.

Room Tip: If you are staying just for the weekend then the hotel is great - but if you are staying longer try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    78
    34
    31
    27
See reviews for
8
227
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

That's right... another return to Caliente. Yes, we are Club Members and happy with our membership. We are a quiet and conservative couple who just enjoy be clothes-free. We don't party... we just like the freedom... we like being able to walk around the resort without restrictions of clothes... morning and evening... we like the water and no swimsuits. I've heard that there are activities that we may find offensive... have seen a couple of activities that would have been more approprate elsewhere. We go during the week: Mon-Fri. Told my wife this time that I 'reserved the whole place' just for her. Not many people during the week 'cause they party on the weekend.

We noticed lots of improvements going on to the grounds and the buildings... I am sure that Caliente has felt the downturn in the economy too... the upkeep on this place is huge and they really do a good job... the motel rooms: clean and adquate. 5 Star they are not. But then we are outside by the pool or walking - who needs the room except for sleeping and ??. We come here to be relax and be naked. Mission accomplished. Will be back again in the spring. Until then... off to Caribe.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the top floor, not the ground floor... good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent 4 days here. October 18-21st. We had a fabulous time! It was clean, friendly and most of all fun! We traveled with a large group of people and were treated by "regulars" and staff with consideration and respect. The drinks were plentiful, the grounds were well kept, especially for such a large resort, and the service was outstanding! We will return again....very soon!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hethscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Caliente is alot of fun to party by the pool, go to the spa and the parties at night. However I recommend getting day passes and staying elsewhere. If you do stay there just don't expect much. The casitas and regular rooms are very outdated. Dinner wasn't great. Maid service is limited with odd rules. I left a nightgown on the bed and they refused to makeup the room b/c 'personal item were left on the bed'. Perhaps they could move the nightgown, make the bed and put the nightgown back lol.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a condo or villa if available. The casitas and regular rooms are old and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EmilyCaprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

By running (you can walk) in the Bare to Dare 5K, Caliente gave a great rate for a two day one night stay. This upscale nudist resort had great facilities, good food, and wonderful staff. The general atmosphere led to friendly interaction with other guests. The large ceiling mirror was a unique feature in each room. ADULT CONTENT WARNING: Though tame and subdued during the day the evening party/dance was of an adult nature. Highly erotic attire and dancing was sexually explicit, enough to even make this card-carrying nudist a little squeamish.

Room Tip: All hotel rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I (mid 40's couple) just spent our first weekend at Caliente (Tampa). 9/6-8/12. We are relatively new to the clothing optional type of lifestyle, but were interested enough to explore the possibility some more. We have been to a totally nude beach once before and enjoyed it, so we thought we would actually try a clothing optional resort to see if it's something we wanted to continue to pursue. We read most of the reviews; some good, some bad but went into it with an open mind.
Our main concerns were being pressured into joining a membership or having to set through a time share pitch. Neither any staff member or "planted guests" ever approached us about either of these issues. We were also a little concerned about "Swingers" as we are not interested in that type of lifestyle but to each their own. Here again we never felt pressured by anyone to do anything we were uncomfortable doing.

Accomodations: We stayed in the hotel and although not 5 star quality it was a nice clean room and very comfortable. The only negative was the housekeeping service. They showed up in the middle of the afternoon when we were resting and we asked them if they could come back in an hour. They said "we can, no problem". We left the room shortly there after and when we returned several hours later they had never came back. At that point we needed fresh towels to get ready for the evening so we had to call the front desk three different times and finally got fresh towels an hour later.

Food/Drinks - The meals we ate there were very good and moderately priced. The drinks never seemed watered down and again the drink prices were very fair.

Staff: Overall the staff members were very friendly, courteous & professional. As stated before the only real negative was the houskeeping issue the one time.

Facilites: Minor blemishes here and there but overall very nice facility. Pools were great and clean.

Activites: During the day in the main center; i.e. front desk/bars/dining rooms/patio etc... I would say a pretty tame atmosphere with people in various forms of dress or complete undress (which still takes some getting use to). By the pool during the day most people were completely nude with a laid back type of atmosphere, not overtly sexual. Friday it was mostly couples our age or older. Saturday at the pool the crowd seemed somewhat younger and there was definetly a more "swinger type atmosphere" but they mainly stayed to one section of the pool area and we only noticed one overtly sexual act.
At night the atmosphere was heavily influenced with the "swinger lifestyle". Thursday night seemed to be the most popular at the night club with members and guests because of drink specials. The dress was casual, to very sexy, to totally nude, but it makes for great people watching. Friday night was very tame, with not much going on, but then it got busy again Saturday night.
At night by the "conversation pool" and "hot tub" it is much different than during the day. Although signage states that overtly sexual acts are not permitted, there was certainly alot of it going on. My wife and I didn't really mind but kept to ourselves. Although spoken to by a couple who were clearly wanting us to engage with them we never felt uncomfortable and they got the hint pretty quick that we were not "lifestylers".
Overall: We had one of the best times of our lives and are already making plans to go back. If you have an open mind about nudity I would certainly encourage you to try the Caliente Resort (Tampa).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank NewCouple748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
262 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed over Labor Day weekend in one of the hotel rooms...from the outside they look old & need to be renovated, but the room, even through small, was fine. The bed was comfortable even though the bedspread needed to be replaced. We had a large flat screen TV. The staff handled the large number of visitors throughout the weekend with competence & obvious experience. The main pool was nice...really beautiful with a waterfall. On Saturday & Sunday was a really awesome live band, Bobby Friss. We ate a couple of lunches at the pool...food was delicious. Drinks are higher priced than we're used to. The ate once in the restaurant...my raviolis & salad were good, but my husband's pork chop was just average (but they looked good). Our server, Lee, was excellent. We weren't approached by the "time share" sales people. The club house music was quite repetitive if you attend each night...also loud, but I guess that's what the "younger" generation might like. We have been to Caliente before (been about a year though) & probably will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Their condos are much better than the hotel rooms. No elevator for the second floor of hotel...try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muchfuntravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Land O Lakes
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa-Wesley Chapel
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
10.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
11.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Trinity
6.7 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa Suncoast Parkway at NorthPointe Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Resort and Spa

Property: Caliente Resort and Spa
Address: 21240 Gran Via Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 34637-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Land O Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Land O Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caliente Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caliente Tampa is a captivating blend of solitude, exhilaration and sizzle that is ideal for the seasoned naturist and first-time nudist alike. Inside Caliente Tampa, you will be pampered, wined, dined, and treated with world-class sensitivity you so richly deserve.Beautifully appointed Villas, Condominiums, vacation Casitas and Hotel Suites will become your secluded home away from home for a stay that might last but a week or two, yet the memories will last a lifetime.Just outside your door, turquoise lagoons, a sapphire lake, sports and fitness facilities, tiki bars, decadent cuisine, and sumptuous Spa Sereno are just a few of the many opportunities that beckon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caliente Resort All Inclusive
Caliente Hotel Land o Lakes
Caliente Resort And Spa Florida/Land O Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing