We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must check this place out”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Land O Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caliente Club and Resorts
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must check this place out”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stopped here after the summer, and it was a great vacation away from the rest of the family. The place was comfy and warm, The room was great. Pools were clean and the people were nice. the bathrooms were spacious, and I'd go again

Room Tip: Motel rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    78
    34
    31
    28
See reviews for
9
228
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have been to Caliente several times and are now members. We had great fun as usual, but for the first time we stayed in a "casita". Usually we rent a condo; the 2-bedroom condos have lots of room, two bathrooms (one with a large shower good for 2 or more) and a BIDET. But this time there were no condos available.

So we took a "casita" which is merely a euphemism for a single-wide mobile home. Yes, more spacious than a motel room with a bedroom, living room and kitchen. BUT the darn thing was crawling with bugs. Great quantities of little brown ants were coming out of the base of the pocket door in the bathroom, and who knows where else. We had some cookies that we kept in the fridge for fear that the ants would get into them if left on the counter. A bit of inquiry showed that bugs are common in the casitas, likely as they are open underneath (the mobile homes are "skirted" with perforated brickwork). We said something to Housekeeping and they said "oh, there's bug spray under the sink".

I don't want to be too snotty about it as a lot of people reside in their casitas, both Caliente members plus people who are also employed by Caliente. A casita might be okay for a couple if you can get the bugs under control, but the rooms are small and the bed is small to fit in the room. Not much room to "play", ya know what I mean.

As for the rest, it's been widely reported. The pools are beautiful. The disco is hot'n'sexy at from Thursday night thru Saturday night. We have not had the service problems that others have reported. We are an over-50 but attractive couple, husband does NOT have big fat belly, wife wears Size Zero with thin waist, dunno, does that get us better service???

Room Tip: Be careful of the "casitas". Insect infestation is common.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank exceptional999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We just went for our very first time. Yes we are swingers and were very excited about going to Caliente for the first time. When we got there we got a very nice tour of the place and checked into our hotel room, The hotel rooms are ok, but we weren't going to spend much time in the room, It is one the nicest resorts we have ever been seen.The grounds are laid out very well and made easy for walking around. We have been to Hedonism two and three, Desire (both of them) and also have been to Hidden Beach so we know nice resorts.

We arrived on Thursday afternoon and ladies night is the best!!!, It was a great crowd with a good range of ages. The hot tub that night was a blast, we met a couple that were members and they were from Georgia, need we say we had a lot of fun with them. They did warn us that if we weren't part of the "vacation club", to watch out for a couple that Caliente had planted in the pool as a "hook" to join. They said it happened to two of their friends so far and if we were interested at all they have a girl that works for the vacation club and she is very low pressure and would take care of us if we were interested. We just wanted to have fun and didn't want to join or worry about any timeshare presentation. We already own timeshare in St Martin and since we live close to the resort didn't want to buy more, so we told them we weren't interested but would certainly talk to them if we changed our mind.

Friday was great, We got up early and had a great breakfast overlooking the pool, Kelly was our server and she was so sweet that we asked for her every time we had breakfast. We headed to the pool, the weather was perfect. We laid next to the smaller pool, the bigger was supposed to be heated but we were told they don't turn it on until winter. We were satisfied with the smaller pool our server by the pool was Terry and she was very good, making sure we had drinks and made sure our food order was to our liking. We met a nice girl that was there by herself but said her boyfriend would be down shortly. Since we only play with couples that was ok with us. We had heard that a lot of lifestylers were there during the weekend so we were happy to find some fun couples. She asked us where we were from, how long we were staying, what room we where staying in and if we wanted to come back. We "thought" she was just being friendly. Little did we know that she was sitting us up for a "vacation club sales pitch". She said we should meet her boyfriend who was in charge of the vacation club and he could get us a great deal on a "package". Not sure what she meant but we politely said we were ok and just wanted to enjoy the weekend. She was a little upset and stormed off. We just guessed that this was one of the couples that the time share sales people had planted at the pool. We laughed about it and saw the couple we had talked to the night before. We pointed the girl out to them and they just laughed and said oh yes that is the couple we were warning us about. Her name is Val and her boyfriend is Greg and they will chase us all weekend until we listen to the vacation club pitch. We laughed, we thought this was very pathetic and it all added up why she kept asking us questions about how long we were staying and if we wanted to come back. We asked if this was normal and they said that the General Manager Steven knew all about it and if we complained we would get them in trouble. We didn't know who Steven was so we read a couple of other post on here and found out he is the general manager and approves of this behavior. We asked one of the bartenders and they confirmed that this couple worked for the vacation club and their job was to find people to join the timeshare club. Our best bet was to avoid this couple the rest of our stay. Friday night was great at the night club, it was kind of quiet after 10 pm but the hot tub was once again a great place to meet people and other like minded couples.

We got up just in time for breakfast, FYI they quit serving at 10 am lol, so we just made it or Kelly made an exception, either way we got a another great breakfast We went to the main pool on Saturday. There was a lot more people there and we met a couple of fun couples that had rented day beds and let us share with them. Angel at the downstairs bar makes the best Mojitoes we have ever had. We had a nice buzz going and decided to go Karoke in the Tiki Hut. The Tiki Hut is on the back half of the big pool and it is the best place to watch the sunset. Cowboy Bill, (he is the one in the cowboy hat) asked if we wanted to join in, we looked thru the set list (it is over 5000 songs) and found something my husband wanted to sing. We were 9th in line so we ordered a drink and was watching the sun go down. We were just going to sing and then go to the room and get cleaned up for the big night at the night club. Well wouldn't you know it the "timeshare" couple walked in. The girl whispered to her guy and then pointed in our direction and of course you guessed it, they made a bee line towards us. The guy, his name is GREG, wouldn't shut up about how great the place is, how we should come back and how the "vacation club" is the best way to come back. My husband tried to point out we already had timeshare and really weren't interested in anymore, the girl started telling us that she was a vacation club member and it wasn't timeshare and she would never own timeshare and that people that didn't understand that were not very smart. We decided that we it would be better if we just left and got ready the night club. So we didn't even get a chance to sing out song, We made it to the night club around 10pm it was packed, It was like Thursday night but three times as many people and boy were they hot. We had a blast and danced the night away. there was no room at the hot tub, so we went to the after party, it was packed. We both agree this is a great party for people who just want to hang out and watch. We were just in the watching mood Saturday night and got an eyefull. We stayed out until 4 am and slept in, sorry Kelly we missed breakfast lol.

Sunday we got up around 11 am and headed to the sports bar, We were dragging from the night before, but we had heard Skinny dip sundays are the hottest party, Around 2 pm the upstairs pool started filling up and Colleen our new best friend kept our drinks full. Good bye hang over hello skinny dip sunday. We had a very nice buzz when Collen (i hope that is her name) told us about Karoke Sunday, We headed down and YES !!! Cowboy was there, he asked us if we wanted to sing the same song that we walked out on, and we said yes!! We were impressed that he remembered, My husband got to sing his song, but then you guessed it, in walks in the timeshare salescouple. they made a beeline for us. We once again explained that we weren't interested but they wouldn't leave us alone, We explained that already had a week and that it wouldn't work for us, but they wouldn't take no for an answer. The Greg guy just laughed and said don't worry we are going to get your money one way or the other, you might as well talk to me. His girlfriend said that we should listen to him he is in charge of the vacation club and he would make us a good deal on a vacation club package. We asked the bartender later if that is normal and he just laughed and said they are always doing that especially at the pool and tiki hut. We decided to have a late supper and head to the room. We went to the sports bar and had a great meal watching the sun go down. We asked the waitress if this couple Greg and Val work for the resort. she just rolled her eyes and said "Yes they do this all the time, sorry this happened to you". We just laughed, we still had a great time in spite of running from the timeshare couple.

To wrap it all up, the pools are awesome, go when there is a good group coming in for the weekend, if you eat breakfast ask for Kelly for the best service in the world, watch out for Angell when she makes Mojitos and whatever you do run run run if you meet a couple named Greg and Val (although after reading this they will change their names) but if you want a high pressure timeshare sales pitch then this is the best couple to talk to, but be beware they are lurking in the pool looking for visiting couples. We don't understand why the General Manager Steven feels he needs to "plant" couples to "hook" people into joining the vacation club, if it is good shouldn't they just want to join on their own?

We love this resort and will be back, we are done with Hedonism, and can't wait to come back. But yes we will avoid the vacation club couples that are planted at the pool. Thursdays are ladies night, Fridays are OK,, Saturdays are packed and Skinny dip Sundays are great!!! just watch out for the timeshare plant couples and you will be ok.

Room Tip: Next time we will upgrade to a condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank funfloridacple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 526 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

In the Caliente Tampa, you will feel like you are in a true naturist village. You can rent simple motel room, but you can also rent apartments or villas, with all the luxury that you want.

You can wander around some small lake, nude if you want, because all the "village" is clothing optional. In fact, everyone walk around nude.

For those who ask the question, yes they are a lot of swingers in or between the pools. But for those who just want to enjoy the pools in the natural, you will feel no pressure from the other clients and you will be enjoy the pools without pressure.

A place that I can only recommend if you want to be nude in the Tampa area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SWcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We visited Thursday 5th of April wanting to give the resort a chance. We have traveled many similar parks and have always met with more helpful gate/front desk staff. Thursday was understandably a slow day , normally this would allow staff to at least provide some information to visitors. We informed them that this was our first visit , however the only concern seemed to be payment of the entry fee. Questions about tours and general information basically went unanswered by staff.

The main pool is beautiful but apparently not generally used by visitors since the temperature was very cold in comparison to a smaller pool toward the back of the lounge area.

The Ladies Night turned out to be a little more exciting however the party did slow down quickly after the 8-10pm free drinks for the ladies ended.

In general the service and assitance to new guests could be improved.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BandA_GTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We have visited Caliente many times in the past. We have found the Casitas to be the best place to stay. They are small but have a full size kitchen which helps with food costs. We tend to eat at the club once per day, either lunch or dinner. Some of the Casitas have outside decks where we enjoy some quiet sun and a glass of wine, the Condos do not offer this. I suggest you get ask the casita number and google earth it to see if you like the location and whether there is a deck. We try to get #89. Shuttles can run back and forth or you just drive your car. If you are coming locally a bike can be fun.

If you try you will certainlly find something to complain about. The only improvement for us was if there was on the ocean. Our days pass by quickly and we enjoy the mix of the busy weekend along with the quiet Mon-Wed. A typical day is the gym or tennis, suana or steam, lunch followed by pool/sun time, cocktails in the late afternoon (pat attention to happy hour prices) and the back to the Casita. On non-club nights we walk the path that goes all around the community and on club nights relax, eat, then call for a shuttle to what ussually turns out to be a pretty fun night.

The Staff is great, The night club, paino bar, outside Tiki bar and sports bar all offer a nice mix depending on the mood. When we head up for the night we never know where we will end up. We are never bashful and have found most residents and guests more than happy to strike up a conversation about anything.

We will definetly continue going back and may even consider buying something in there in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We visited Caliente on Friday and Saturday. We stayed in the hotel, and our room was close to the club house and within 30 yards of the main pool. But we had to go through the clubhouse to get to it, as other reviewers have mentioned. This seemed a bit of a pain.

The room had a very dark color scheme, but the mirrors on the ceiling added a nice touch. And the patio was screened which was nice, although there were no bugs when we were there.

The main pool was very cool (as other reviewers have mentioned), but I did swim one lap around it. It took quite a while as I'm not a fast swimmer, and the pool is huge. We spent most of our time up at the hot tub level, where everything there is heated.

The crowd on Friday definely had a higher average age than the crowd on Saturday. Makes sense, if you realize working people don't get Friday off.

Their happy hour starts at 4, and we conciously waited for it to start before getting a round of drinks near that time of day.

We were there for the Mardi Gras party (Boobs and Beads), but the disco was so cold, not many people were there, and we left to find a warmer room.

The staff was friendly, but for the price we paid, we'd choose someplace else next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Land O Lakes
0.0 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 8 in Wesley Chapel
84 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa North - Wesley Chapel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Suncoast Parkway
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa-Wesley Chapel
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Club and Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Club and Resorts

Property: Caliente Club and Resorts
Address: 21240 Gran Via Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 34637 (Formerly Caliente Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Land O Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Land O Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caliente Club and Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caliente Tampa is a captivating blend of clothing-optional solitude, exhilaration and sizzle that is ideal for the seasoned clothing-optional traveler and first-timer alike. Inside Caliente Tampa, you will be pampered, wined, dined, and treated with world-class sensitivity you so richly deserve.Beautifully appointed Villas, Condominiums, vacation Casitas and Hotel Suites will become your secluded home away from home for a stay that might last but a week or two, yet the memories will last a lifetime.Just outside your door, turquoise lagoons, a sapphire lake, sports and fitness facilities, tiki bars, decadent cuisine, and sumptuous Spa Sereno are just a few of the many opportunities that beckon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caliente Resort All Inclusive
Caliente Hotel Land o Lakes
Caliente Club And Resorts Florida/Land O Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing