We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWFUL!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramada Lakeland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Lakeland
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AWFUL!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

I don't know how this hotel received any stars - maybe it was better at one time. We booked this with confidence thinking that a Ramada would have a minimum standard that we could live with - we couldn't have been more wrong.

The sheets on one of our beds were either dirty or stained. When we called at 10pm to get them changed we were told there was no one who could do that for us. We slept in the second bed in the room where the sheets appeared to be clean, but the bed was lumpy. Shampoo and conditioner bottles were half full - apparently used. Just disgusting. We were told by the front desk attendant that they use an outside firm for housekeeping so they "can't do anything about it."

Breakfast was advertised from 6 - 9, but most of it wasn't put out until 7 or later. This didn't help us as we were on business and needed to be on our way by 7. Toaster was broken one morning and staff complained that guests broke it.

We would have changed hotels if a room had been available. We will never go back. I don't usually write reviews, but this was truly the worst experience I've had at a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenD510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    111
    161
    104
    105
See reviews for
200
84
47
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We checked in 3-15-12 for 4 nights at $89.95/night seniors rate. The place was not very clean, but most hotels were booked this weekend. We tried 4 hotels with the travelers coupon book and no one would honor them, so we were stuck. The gentleman at the front desk David was very nice, pleasant and professional, after that forget it. The bed was so lumpy, you couldn't move in the bathroom, the carpet was filthy our socks were black, they were understaffed and the place was very routy and noisy. The breakfast was terrible, one morning they had hamburger buns for toast, no fruit. The one night we came back to our room at 6:00 pm and it still was not done. Our door was open the tip was gone and the bed was made. The girl came in and she said is there anything else she should do. I asked her to change the sheets,she put the sheets on the dirty floor to swing them onto the bed she was about to leave and I asked her to clean up the bathroom, she had not not touch it, no clean towels or anything. She used so much bleach we could not breath. We told the maintenance man and then she gave us orange stuff to spray. The maintenance boss comes around to check the rooms after they are done so they leave the doors wide open, he looks from the hall and keeps going, they have a big problem with cleanliness. They said it used to be a Holiday Inn and it has new owners, they better get their act together.They had a few cheap plastic chairs around the pool. After the day that the room was not done we checked out and went across the street to LaQuinta it was paradise compared to this place. LaQuinta had the best breakfest, plentifull, and very clean and nice people, clean rooms. spacious and the same price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirty_Harry31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lakeland hotels

SW Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

My wife and I along with our 14 month old baby recently stayed here for a week. We were visiting family and checking out Tigers Spring Training so we really only slept and had breakfast then left for the day.

After our first impression upon check-in we certainly second guessed staying there for a whole week and spent our first night looking into other hotels. It is right beside the I-4 interstate, it looked old and tired, and there seemed to be a few questionable people hanging around the parking lot. i wasn't quite sure this was the place to bring my young family. The hotel didnt seem very busy the first few nights so it definately seemed kind of creepy.

The hotel is suppossedly renovated but has a long way to go. The exterior has been painted but still looks old.The hallways and stairwells definately did not give off great first impressions. The hallway walls are very warn, tired, scuffed, chipped, and looked kinda dirty. The hallway carpeting looked dirty and stained in numerous places and were kind of nervous about taking the elevator.

As for the room itself, it was HUGE and great area for the baby to crawl around (she did develop rashes on her legs during our trip..from the carpet??). The furniture was updated and as dodgey has the hallways and exterior looked the room was VERY CLEAN ! The bathroom was tiny but was fine. We couldn't complain about the cleanliness of the room, as the cleaining staff did a great job all week. The TV definately needs updating as the tubed TVs were not very clear and had average reception.

The free breakfast was more than enough for us...waffles, scrabled eggs, cereal, muffins, toast, OJ, coffee, somedays grtiz, some days bacon. Maybe a little more fresh fruit would be the only suggestion. But overall the nothing to complain about especially since it's included.

The entire staff was incredible friendly as the cleaning staff was cheerful, the maintenance staff was helpful and very friendly.

We did not go to the pool nor did we check out the restaurant/bar on site (which i am not even sure served food?)

Overall, by the 2nd night our concerns lessened and it tunred out to be a very suitable place to stay. Would I stay here again???...maybe....based on the rate we paid, the breakfast, the size and cleanliness of the room, and considering were really only sleeping there for the week I would certainly consider staying there again, but would also look elsewhere too if we had planned to spend more time there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tragicallyhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

I can't say enough about the staff at this Ramada Inn.
Very friendly, nice, helpful and knowledgable
I even by chance met the owners, great young men who are
doing all then can to make this a first rate hotel.
The rooms are spacious and very clean. Had no issues whatsoever.
The ladies that take care of the rooms will go out of their way to be helpful
with any of your room needs.
The man that handles the breakfast buffet is the most friendly and
knowledgable person I have met in a hotel of late.
The food area is always clean and neat.
He makes some great eggs too!
Even the maintenance staff is very helpful, one fellow helped me out
with my car!
You definitely feel safe here too, very important issue for sure.
The only beef I could say I had was that they as yet have not
put in flat screen TV's. But I understand that is coming in a few months.
So I guess if that is my only negative....what do I have to complain about!
As I look back over what I wrote it looks like I am an employee of the hotel!
I can assure you I am not!

Room Tip: If you have you have your laptop with you make sure you are on the pool side of the building. Better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

My flight at Lakeland airport was 7 am so I decided to spend the night at Ramada lakeland. It was about 17km from the Lakeland airport, the price was great and the rooms very clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Spent a couple of nights here apparently it was recently updated. It seems like the mgmt are doing a great job in maintaining the grounds. Slept really well and was able enjoy the outdoor pool. Very friendly and acommodating staff. Good breakfast selection. Fantastic price I don't think it gets much better than this.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveroco75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Clean, average room, free breakfast, friendly staff. Not bad for an inexpensive night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dctechno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland East
1.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Lakeland
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 33 in Lakeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lakeland
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland West
6.5 mi away
Imperial Swan Lakeland
Imperial Swan Lakeland
#23 of 33 in Lakeland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Lakeland

Property: Ramada Lakeland
Address: 3260 US Highway 98 N, Lakeland, FL 33805-2144 (Formerly Lakeland Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Lakeland 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off I-4, near many restaurants, the mall, and short drive to Lake Myrtle sports complex. All rooms include, high speed internet, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/board and pay movies. Other amenities include guest laundry, onsite restaurant/bar, fitness center and spacious outdoor pool. 3512 sq. ft. of meeting space including 5 meeting rooms, full catering services and full line of AV equipment. Hotel is Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing