We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Lakeland Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Lakeland Center
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lakeland
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

There are some great things about this hotel and just a couple of negatives, but one negative is BIG.
The positives are:
* Great beds! So comfortable!
* Quiet hotel
* Comfy furnishings in the rooms and in the common areas
* Very friendly staff
* The breakfast was AWESOME! Many choices and well prepared food
* A small fitness room was great for helping us burn off some of those breakfast calories
* Decently clean rooms

The negatives? Well, it seems there may be some maintenance issues of which the staff seems to be aware. It looks as though they are in the process of remodeling (although the areas being remodeled are sealed off and we were not inconvenienced by that at all), so maybe these issues will be resolved soon, but you should be aware of them.
* The air conditioning in the 2 rooms we were in did not work properly. The weather was unseasonably cool during our stay and yet, we had periods of time wherein in was uncomfortably warm in our rooms. Both a/c units in both rooms had the same problem. They would run for a while and then shut off, but not like the on and off cycle that occurs when you set a temp to auto control. These would just not resume cooling after a period. When the unit WAS running, it was not as cool as you might expect. This problem, for us, created a night of constantly interrupted sleep. I said something in the morning. I was not told this was something occurring regularly when I said it, nor did the gentleman I mentioned it to seem very concerned. In fact, out of the entire staff with whom we had interaction during our stay, this gentleman was the only one I considered not very friendly and yet, I believe he may have been management. Anyway, he said he would send someone up to look at it. As we soon found out, it was not fixed.

This is Florida. We live in this beautiful state. Properly functioning a/c, to me, in a hotel, should be a given. In my mind, if a room doesn't have properly functioning a/c, it negates the good things.

The other maintenance issues were minor such as wallpaper peeling, the exercise machines not being clean, no cleaner or disinfectant with which to wipe down the equipment, those kinds of things.

I chose to give this hotel 4 stars because it really does so much right. Hopefully, we'll see these a/c units fixed and some of the items that need repair being handled and this Hyatt will be 5 star worthy!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    129
    54
    25
    19
See reviews for
155
67
21
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We tried to find a place in the Orlando area to stay at for the Capital One Bowl on New Years but nothing worked out for us so we decided to stay here in Lakeland since it's between Tampa and Orlando and it ended up being a great decision. This Hyatt is very easy to find from the downtown area of Lakeland and is within walking distance of all of the shops and restaurants downtown. It is also close to I-4 which was very useful considering we spent a day in Tampa and a day in Orlando so to get to the Hyatt from the interstate isn't confusing and like I mentioned it is in a very central location. The hotel itself was much nicer than we anticipated. Everyone at the front desk and the other staff were very helpful and polite. We never had any issues with our room other than room service did not clean our room until late one night but every other day except then, we came back to a clean and tidy room. Another downfall was the breakfast each morning was not the absolute best continental breakfast I've had but it was enough to fill up my stomach with little complaints. For the overall value, I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for a hotel in the Lakeland area!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 901Megan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed on December 30 and 31. Location is great...closed to the park and historic downtown. Rooms were nice and breakfast was excellent! Our special thanks to Collin, who goes out of his way to assist the guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandezDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Classic Hyatt Place quality! Great rate. Located right next to the convention center in downtown Lakeland. Hot breakfast. The hotel is less than a 40 minute drive to Legoland. Also want to give a shout out to Leticia who was working the front desk. She was extremely helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one. Thanks Leticia!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JayDave44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

we stayed there on December 24th and 25th to go to Legoland. Rooms were clean and spacious. My toddler loves the mint chocolate the cleaning lady gave! My husband took his morning run around the mirror lake and absolutely loved it. For those who like to run in the morning, make sure you do that! We didn't need to looking for restaurants during holidays, the hotel provided a good selection of food 24/7 with reasonable prices! The breakfast is great too! We will definitely go back next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zhang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

What a great price and superior value! Loved our room and late night staff, Erin, Carlos and Chris, were so good to us. We enjoyed late night drinks and food. They handled the late night crowd easily! Our bed was very comfortable and the room spacious. Ac worked great. We thank you all and we will be back!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LoreeR326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was our first-ever Hyatt Place stay. We chose this hotel since the location is immediately adjacent to the Lakeland Center where we had tickets for a performance. A covered walkway attaches the hotel to the center...very convenient. Free parking in the hotel lot saved the $8 parking fee for the event and the price of our room was the same as other nearby hotels.
Check in was ridiculously fast and easy as compared to our stay at a competing hotel in Lakeland the night before. No "fill out this paper form" with information I'd already entered online. No "enter the license/make/model/color" of your rental car. No request for multiple signatures. In fact, there was no paperwork at all and the desk staff was extremely professional and welcoming. Our 5th floor King room included a large sectional (extra bed) and ottoman, 40"+ LG HDTV with clearly labeled external audio/video hookups, fridge and bar sink, work desk, and generally a high level of fit, finish, cleanliness, and style.
The free breakfast was a big step up from other chain hotels with real glasses/silverware/plates, multiple fresh fruit options, hot steel-cut oatmeal, skillet breakfasts, and attentive staff.
We will seek out Hyatt Place on future trips.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lakeland-South Polk Parkway
0.5 mi away
Lakeland Terrace Hotel
Lakeland Terrace Hotel
#9 of 32 in Lakeland
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lakeland North I-4
4.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Lakeland
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lakeland- North I-4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Lakeland Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Lakeland Center

Property: Hyatt Place Lakeland Center
Address: 525 W Orange St, Lakeland, FL 33815-4521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lakeland
#6 Family Hotel in Lakeland
#6 Business Hotel in Lakeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Lakeland Center 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Lakeland Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Lakeland Hotel Lakeland
Lakeland Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing