We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The steaks are OUTSTANDING!!!!”

Texas Cattle Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Texas Cattle Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 446 Restaurants in Lakeland
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: E Main Street & S Lake Ave
Description: For over 40 years, Texas Cattle Company, a family owned and operated restaurant, has been a local favorite serving only select USDA Prime and Choice, three year old grain-fed beef. We steer clear of fancy cooking methods, flame-broiling our steaks over a natural wood-burning fire made from Florida citrus and oak wood. At Texas Cattle Company, our pledge is to exceed the expectations of our guests by providing highly personalized service, signature steaks and the freshest seafood prepared to perfection. We ensure the most exceptional dining experience, leaving our guests with a desire to return for more!
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The steaks are OUTSTANDING!!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Be prepared for EVERYTHING to be a la carte. If it is your birthday, bring ID and your steak is FREE. You can't go wrong with any steak choice. They are seasoned to perfection, the sauted mushrooms and onions are amazing and the blue cheese topping was just "WOW". Our servier was a sweet as she could be and very helpful. If you want a steak and you are in the area with family or on business, this place is a must!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NativeFloridian64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    153
    83
    60
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
151 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“GREAT Steak and service”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The 32 ounce Porterhouse steak was cooked perfectly! $70 for two people but well worth it. Great salad and cold beer. Great way to finish off a day of travel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed-Suzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Cowboy - Porterhouse Steak is legit!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The last time I went there was around one year ago and I had a good experience. The food was really good - I recommend the Cowboy or the Cowgirl steaks. The staff was friendly and helpful. Country style theme. Food was pretty expensive, but quality was excellent!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to Texas Cattle Co for my wife's birthday last Sunday. We booked a table but need not have bothered as we went early and it wasn't full. We had been before and it was packed so we booked just to be on the safe side. Service was prompt and attentive and the steaks were great. My wife had the 10oz Filet, I had the 22oz New York Strip and my son, the 18oz T Bone. All cooked to perfection. Sides were good and the Salad and Bread were great.
It isn't somewhere we would go on a regular basis but for a special night or a birthday, it fits the bill.
With the free birthday steak, it was actually quite reasonable and I felt it was value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LakelandGunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The old gal is not what she used to be ;-(”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went for daughters birthday dinner. Our two girls love the Blue Cheese Garlic Chips and Choc. Mocha Cake (both were great). Our server, Tommy, was first class and on the ball. The salad and steaks are not up to the quality level that we have seen over the past 20 years.
Filet Mignon 10 oz. $25.95 : ordered as medium / Came out medium, however, the wood smoke flavor was overpowering and the filet was tough not tender. Birthday girl requested a doggie bag and gave neighbors dog about 8 oz. (he was happy).
T-Bone $25.95 : ordered medium / came out closer to medium well and was fatty and tough to cut and chew.
Porterhouse 32 oz. $34.95 : Ordered medium / came out medium as ordered, filet side was tender, other side was tough and had as much fat as meat.
I was happy with the bacon wrapped scallops that I ordered for my entree.
After the birthday discount of $25.95, our bill was $157 which included $35 gratuity for server.
The quality of meat is awful !!! Hope everyone finds a big dog to give their leftover steak to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANGELA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Cattle Company also viewed

 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Texas Cattle Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing