We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun' N Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Lakeland
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Reviewed April 13, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ethel N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 531 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Here are the reasons why:

Rooms smelled like urine and smoke
Half the outlets didn't work
No remote for the TV
No hot water in the bathroom sink
Shower was dirty
Toilet was extremely dirty
A couple had a huge fight outside our rooms arguing for an hour
Our first room's door handle didn't work
For our second room, we couldn't get in at some point so the hotel staff pushed the glass in and opened the handle from the inside
Checking out took at least four minutes (not in the line but at the counter)
Checking took 10 minutes with the staff lady answering personal calls even discussing 'butt-dialing' with a friend
The breakfast is basically the tiniest muffins, day old toast and bagels and juice
Pool water is freezing

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nader B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Nader B,

Thank you for telling us about your stay . We are very sorry that you were not satisfied. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. We value all guest feedback. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We will use your feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better. Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Lakeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Everyone was so great and helpful during our stay at the hotel. Justice she was amazing and helpful when we were checking in, the housekeepers did an excellent job in our room. There was a huge hot breakfast, which was perfect for the very cold days. The rooms were nice, clean and cozy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Nancy P,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your comments. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We will pass your comments on to our staff. We really appreciate your comments about Justice. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Lakeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Lakeland
Ramada Lakeland
#20 of 33 in Lakeland
578 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland East
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn And Suites
#17 of 33 in Lakeland
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland West
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lakeland
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Lakeland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lakeland

Address: 939 W Robson St, I-4 Exit 32, Lakeland, FL 33805-2143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Price Range: $64 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Lakeland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson of Lakeland is under NEW OWNERSHIP as of June 2011. Our main lobby and rooms have been completely remodeled as well as our pool area and our brand new breakfast area. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi threw out the entire property. Have a business meeting? Not only do we have the meeting space to accommodate you we also have a business center equipped with a printer for all your important paperwork. We are in walking distance to the Lakeland Square Mall and a dozen major restaurants. We are also located 30 minutes from all theme parks and special events locations here in Central Florida. The Staff of Howard Johnson of Lakeland are here to help you. So call today and reserve your room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Executive Hotel Lakeland
Howard Johnson Hotel Lakeland
Lakeland Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing