We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Lakeland
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Lakeland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back again!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

After a long week at Disney World, me and my boyfriend booked 2 weeks in the hotel merely because we wanted to have our own privacy on his trip here.

From the start, the staff was helpful and welcoming. Which, in my opinion, was the best part about the whole trip. We did have multiple mishaps such as our keys being deactivated, a bad television, and a credit mishap but each time, the staff of Leandra and Matt were there to help us. Leandra was insanely dedicated in maintaining the satisfaction of customers and went out of her way to assist us with daily routines such as towels, toilet paper, and any troubles we had. Matt went far out of his way to help replace a television for our stay and to assist us with any other concerns. These two are gems in the staff.

The room itself was a non-smoking king located on the first floor and we LOVED IT! The floors were tile which was drastically different than our last stay last summer. The room was recently remodeled and for the most part -- it showed! Spacious and very bright, I actually favored this more than my trip to the Pop Century at Disney World days prior. My only concerns were the dirtiness of the toilet seat in 114 and quite a few wandering bugs. Did not detour us though.

Overall, the trip was memorable and full of NO STRESS minus a few small things. The new staff is amazing and works hard.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms have sound issues, especially if on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasmineH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Jasmine H,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your boyfriend. Thank you for giving us another chance. Thank you for your comments and your feedback regarding the stay. Thank you for telling us about your concerns about the hotel. We hope you were not inconvenienced in anyway. We will pass those comments on to our staff. We sincerely appreciate guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time we hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Lakeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    81
    95
    99
    178
See reviews for
187
84
58
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My family and I had to stop to rest, we loved the hotel and there friendly staff so much we decided to stay the week there instead of going to a condo in Orlando. Great prices, caring personal staff, clean rooms and convenient location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disneymomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear disneymom,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Lakeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel has turned itself around! Used to stay here back in the day and it was gross to be honest. It has been recently renovated, and the price is still super low compared to area. New bar / restaurant on site - called Oasis is very convenient and fun environment. Rooms were clean and in good shape, and staff was overly helpful even when they did not know answers to my questions. Breakfast was good. Overall such a great value for the price!

Room Tip: Pool rooms can hear faint noises from the bar occasionally, but not if the AC in the room is on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Richard W,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Executive Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Lakeland
Ramada Lakeland
#21 of 33 in Lakeland
561 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Lakeland
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lakeland
0.9 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Lakeland
WoodSpring Suites Lakeland
#19 of 33 in Lakeland
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lakeland

Property: Howard Johnson Lakeland
Address: 939 W Robson St, I-4 Exit 32, Lakeland, FL 33805-2143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Lakeland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson of Lakeland is under NEW OWNERSHIP as of June 2011. Our main lobby and rooms have been completely remodeled as well as our pool area and our brand new breakfast area. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi threw out the entire property. Have a business meeting? Not only do we have the meeting space to accommodate you we also have a business center equipped with a printer for all your important paperwork. We are in walking distance to the Lakeland Square Mall and a dozen major restaurants. We are also located 30 minutes from all theme parks and special events locations here in Central Florida. The Staff of Howard Johnson of Lakeland are here to help you. So call today and reserve your room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Executive Hotel Lakeland
Howard Johnson Hotel Lakeland
Lakeland Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing