We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Lakeland
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The motel front desk was courteous. The only problem I saw was that the bathroom floor looked a liitle dirty, and the toilet ran quite a bit. I figured out the problem the flapper in the toilet needed to be changed, The staff should look at these kind of things from time to time.
The room was comfy and clean.. Good for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheila f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Shelia F,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the bathroom. We are sorry for any inconvenience that this has caused you. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Executive Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 531 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

On my way back from Tampa it started to rain and I don't drive well in the rain, I found a hotel on hotel coupons.com. they have remodeled and updated here and there but for 40 bucks overnight it was okay

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicagotravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear chicagotravelqueen,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your review. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Executive Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The rooms were clean when we arrived, breakfast was more than the usual hotel bfeakfast fare, and the front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The landscaping was beautiful and was the best I've ever seen on hotel grounds.
However, even after calling the front desk about the problem, no maid service was provided for the entire stay. For want of a maid, this Howard Johnson's would have received five stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from I-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica_B_2874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear Monica_B_2874,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns. We are so very sorry for the maid service, that you did not receive. This is unacceptable. With that we are very sorry. We are sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. Thank you for all of your feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to our hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Executive Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

First and foremost: me and my boyfriends stay for two weeks was amazing. The room (king, smoke-free courtyard) was more then enough. The grounds were maintained and the staff seemed to work hard to get people involved in anything going on: from swimming in the pool to having a drink at the bar. Jennifer, front desk, was very courtesy and well-informed.


For potential travelers, things to be aware of:
- If courtyard, be aware the bar/lounge is often very loud and will be busy until around 2 am.
- If courtyard, the days will be filled with kids screaming in the pool.
- If non-courtyard, make sure to lock your doors for your car. There were some homeless people sleeping off under the trees in the back.
- Possible bug problem? There were a few wandering buggies, but nothing that would detour us from staying again!
- Extended stay is an AWESOME deal. 39 bucks a night with microwave/fridge combo? Excellent deal.
- The laundry room could stand another set of washer/dryers as it took 4 hours to get one load of laundry done, seeing as they were always busy.
- Jennifer in the front is so amazing. She is kind and often has a lot to handle -- but always stopped to help. There was a young spanish girl who was nothing but rude, however.

Overall, Hojo made my 2 week getaway memorable and overly perfect. I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Suggest courtyard on second floor for less people traveling by doors, but club/pool offers noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasmineH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Jasmine H,

Thank you for telling us about your extended stay at our hotel. Thank you for all the great details about our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to our hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to our hotel. Thank you for your comment about Jennifer. We will make sure that we pass that on to her. As for the rude employee that you encountered. We are so very sorry for this. Our staff should never be rude to any guest. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. We are sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Executive Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Came all the way from N.C. had a horrible time at our hotel. Went out to breakfast and found a coupon for Howard Johnson across the street. Moved and didn't regret it! Stephanie at the front desk was great. Ask for poolside. They are newly renovated and all you could ask for in comfort. The breakfast was free and very good. Needs bacon and sausage but those are my only complaints. Staff is willing to go the extra mile. Definitely staying here on the next trip! 2

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyceslominski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Joyceslominski,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could save your vacation. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We would like to tell you thank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast. We are always looking for better ideas to make that service better. Thank you for your thoughts. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Executive Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Howard Johnson is well worth the price. I had a coupon from a coupon book and only had to pay $39 for the days I stayed. The room was clean and the people friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmyers417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Jmyers417,

Thank you for telling us about your visit to our hotel. We are so glad to provide such value to our guests. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Executive Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Howard Johnson. My husband and I came in on the coupon rate and we were informed of the $49 rate on Friday-Saturday which was no problem because that was still affordable but we stayed on a Thursday. I was givin and outside room and I did not feel comfortable the moment I walked in so we turned right around and went to the desk. We explained our situation to the the desk girl and she happily changed us to a WAY BETTER room and gave us free cookies. She was very polite and concerned. I'm not too sure of her name but if you have an encounter with her be prepared to smile. She's young, about 16-17, Spanish, and very sweet. The room was 118 and it was very comfortable and the beds were perfect easy to get up and down in.The property was well maintained and the breakfast was quite fullfilling. I did get a call about 10 pm from the same young lady needing our information again because it did not save in the computer, which again was no problem because my husband went up and did it over. I will be returning with my husband when we visit Florida again.

Room Tip: The inside rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Marg M,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. Our guest safety is our number one priority. It is important for you to feel safe at our hotel. We are glad that we could put you in a room that you were more comfortable with. We appreciate all of your comments about our staff member. We will pass these great comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for stay with us. We hope that you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Howard Johnson Executive Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Lakeland
Ramada Lakeland
#20 of 33 in Lakeland
578 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland East
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn And Suites
#17 of 33 in Lakeland
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland West
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lakeland
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Lakeland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lakeland

Address: 939 W Robson St, I-4 Exit 32, Lakeland, FL 33805-2143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Lakeland
Price Range: $64 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Lakeland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson of Lakeland is under NEW OWNERSHIP as of June 2011. Our main lobby and rooms have been completely remodeled as well as our pool area and our brand new breakfast area. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi threw out the entire property. Have a business meeting? Not only do we have the meeting space to accommodate you we also have a business center equipped with a printer for all your important paperwork. We are in walking distance to the Lakeland Square Mall and a dozen major restaurants. We are also located 30 minutes from all theme parks and special events locations here in Central Florida. The Staff of Howard Johnson of Lakeland are here to help you. So call today and reserve your room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Executive Hotel Lakeland
Howard Johnson Hotel Lakeland
Lakeland Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing