We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved every minute”

The Florida Air Museum at Sun 'n Fun
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.99*
and up
Admission to Aerospace Discovery at the Florida Air Museum with Optional Tour
Ranked #10 of 52 things to do in Lakeland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aerospace Discovery at Florida Air Museum is the Official Aviation and Aerospace Education Center of the State of Florida. Our mission is to honor the past while inspiring the future with state of the art technology. Interactive learning stations for part of the exhibits to educate visitors from al lover the world. STEM based station allows visitors to interact and participate in real world environments that immerse them in the subject and enhance an understanding through hands on applications. Unique areas of interest are the Howard Hughes Archives, Air Racing Simulators, Florida Aviation Hall of Fame, Innovations in Propulsion Exhibit, Pilot Briefing Stations, and over 20 historical aircraft on display.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
153 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Loved every minute”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great place, museum is fun, and very interesting. I went for the festival, but would certainly go again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank georgeg844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    54
    26
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
314 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Go during sun n fun”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a great little museum. The volunteers are every knowledgeable and friendly. Sun n fun is a week long fly in every March that is fantastic. There are daytime and night air shows with mike Gulian , crazy horse, the black diamonds and aero shell to name a few, some years the thunderbirds or blue angels. If you are interested in flying or just a great show this is something to plan for and attend. My son is a plane enthusiast and just to watch his face is great plus pilots are the friendliest people- they sign autographs and will answer any questions.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 63Kathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow! Night Flying - No Way!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

You guys don't realise just what an amazing event this is - or maybe you do. I would have expected more excellent ratngs though.

I didn't manage to get to the museum because I spent the whole of yesterday on the airfield looking at amazing flying machines. Luckily I was with two pilots (very lucky indeed) who could give me the inside on the planes. Amazing homebuilt and vintatage - some incredible stuff.

Then in the evening, after a spectacular aerobatic air display we were treated to night flying! Aerobatic night flying. Do you have any idea how mad that is? It just wouldn't be allowed in the UK. We can imagine the conversation with the CAA!

The highlight for me was the night flight of the glider with white fireworks on its wing tips to (I think) Air on a G string. Added to by the presence of some clouds. Not sure about the music but it was surely beautiful. Thank you America for being the land of the free where this kind of thing can still happen. It was one of the most moving experiences of my life. Truly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaBritChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EARLY, TX
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best thing to do is make this part of your overall trip to Sun-n-fun.org Great airplane drive in fly in camp and convention”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The best thing to do is make this part of your overall trip to Sun-n-fun.org
Great airplane drive in fly in camp and convention.
Forums, air shows, exhibitors, vendors, you name it.

Volunteer to do a little work, which are all fun jobs and you can spend the week here for FREE!
What could be better?
A week in Lakeland FL surrounded by airplanes and airplane people for free.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich66Early_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Oh, go there.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

You will like this place, and if you go during Sun & Fun in April you will love the air show. The precision air team, Black Diamonds, I think, put on an excellent show. Wing tips almost to the ground.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank corkyg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Florida Air Museum at Sun 'n Fun also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to The Florida Air Museum at Sun 'n Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing