We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit especially for a botanist”
Review of Hollis Garden

Hollis Garden
Ranked #2 of 52 things to do in Lakeland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Botanical garden
Southampton, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit especially for a botanist”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We don't always travel with a botanist, but we just got lucky this time. Our son and his friend were visiting and we wanted to show them downtown Lakeland's Excellent Saturday morning Farmer's Market. We did that and then finished up with a walk around Lake Mirror. If you take the walk you can't miss Hollis Garden. It's a tranquil haven that's easy to miss if you only travel up and down route 98. Take the time for a visit. You won't be disappointed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    106
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Picturesque park”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We walked around Mirror Lake...nice garden adjacent to the lake...lots of folks taking professional photos...worth a look!.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelrat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Beautiful garden overlooking Lake Mirror. Great place for pictures! We go at least every other month.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ymexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Attack of the Photographers!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Don’t be fooled, this little garden is probably the size of an acre but there’s many flowers, bushes, and scenery to make it feel much bigger than that. To add to that a-maze-ing feeling are stone pathways, steps, and columns. For real just sit on a bench, stare out into the nearby Lake Mirror (or any of the surrounding flowers) and just zen out.
I’m no Botanist but I definitely appreciate natural beauty and this place is definitely beautiful. It’s no surprise then to run into hordes of people with long, lensed cameras or wedding parties posing for pictures. Unfortunately, they don’t close down the gardens for this (it’s totally open. Anyone can wander in here for free) so it’s very possible for you in your jeans to be caught in the background of these crazed photogs.
It’s a small garden crammed with many natural décor. Luckily after an hour of wandering it’s very easy to waltz over to the nearby lake and walk to the rest of the Lake’s sights as well as nearby Downtown Lakeland.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pyra-Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Amazing gardens so lovely for weddings home comming photos.
Views across the lake wonderful. I recommend you vist here if you are in Florida
Flowers are amazing. So colourful

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daph422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollis Garden also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Hollis Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing