We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Botanical Gem -- And It's Free”
Review of Hollis Garden

Hollis Garden
Ranked #2 of 52 things to do in Lakeland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Botanical garden
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Botanical Gem -- And It's Free”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

You might think a public garden of just one acre would not have much to offer -- but you would be wrong in the case of Hollis Garden. It is divided into garden "rooms", lovingly attended to by 3 Lakeland city employees and funded by a substantial endowment from the late Mark Hollis, who was formerly president of Publix Supermarkets. Each room has a theme -- red plants, white plants, herbs, vegetables, etc. I don't know what is their secret, but I have never seen such large and perfect vegetables. There's an area of trees that have historical significance. Clusters of annuals are changed out at least twice each year and they are constantly trying out new plants. I admit a place like this holds particular interest for me as I work in horticulture, but, in each of three visits, I have never spent less than 3 hours there.

The setting is right by a large lake with a pleasant view and plenty of bench seating if you'd like to contemplate life or simply have a nice lunch break. There is also a small cafe adjacent to the garden, and the reasonably-priced food was good.

I would be happy to pay admission to Hollis -- but being free is the icing on the cake.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GainesvilleLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    105
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Lakeland”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A beautiful garden that makes me (lamely) contemplative. I love laying out on the grass and just enjoying the Florida sun!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A place for meditation”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

A beautiful view and layout. Quiet and many hidden treasures to view. Quite small so you can linger or not as you choose.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stetsonville, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wheelchair friendly”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Paved walks and ramps make the park very friendly for wheelchairs, strollers and walkers. Wonderful flowers, lots of green space, benches and a big kid friendly playground. The gardens were closed but we still got a great view over the fence. Don't miss the banana tree in the bed between the garden fence and the street. Duck paddle boats on the weekend too. Very friendly people in the park. Hard to believe it's in the downtown so quiet.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poinciana, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to Hollis Garden with our gardening group. We were treated to a description by one of the workers there. All the plants and flowers are well manicured. This past weekend we attended a jazz concert in the park next door to Hollis. It was nice revisiting the garden on my own with the music playing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rellio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollis Garden also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Hollis Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing